Author Topic: Orbiter Problem during Load?  (Read 499 times)

Corycdj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Orbiter Problem during Load?
« on: December 02, 2010, 11:06:53 pm »
Guys,
This is my first post on here.  I know there are alot of people that say they are newbies, but i have only been attempting to get linux working for 3 days now.  After reading all of the posts i could find i finally got a version of LMCE to the AV Wizard.  That only took 3 days.  Now after i reboot i am getting a screen with large letters that says "starting device 21 OnScreen Orbiter"  I've been staring at it now for the last 20 minutes wondering how Patient i needed to be.  suggestions.  I am running an ATI graphics card and i haven't changed the driver as of yet.  Is that what is holding me up?  If so how do i get back to a terminal to change the driver.  I have found several posts on how to change it, so i think i might be able to manage that without much help.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated


Confused Cory


P.S.  Patience is a virtue that i severely lack and waiting for the MCE to install about drove me crazy.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter Problem during Load?
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2010, 02:56:40 pm »
Hi Cory,

ATI cards are not supported out of the box, until somebody does the required plumbing work to make them work out of the box. Nobody has taken this responsibility in quite some time.

The immediate solution would be to use an NVIDIA graphics card (GeForce 9xxx or newer recommended for HD playback.)

-Thom

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1374
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter Problem during Load?
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2010, 05:29:23 pm »
Guys,
This is my first post on here.  I know there are alot of people that say they are newbies, but i have only been attempting to get linux working for 3 days now.  After reading all of the posts i could find i finally got a version of LMCE to the AV Wizard.  That only took 3 days.  Now after i reboot i am getting a screen with large letters that says "starting device 21 OnScreen Orbiter"  I've been staring at it now for the last 20 minutes wondering how Patient i needed to be.  suggestions.  I am running an ATI graphics card and i haven't changed the driver as of yet.  Is that what is holding me up?  If so how do i get back to a terminal to change the driver.  I have found several posts on how to change it, so i think i might be able to manage that without much help.  Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated


Confused Cory


P.S.  Patience is a virtue that i severely lack and waiting for the MCE to install about drove me crazy.

Did you choose UI1 (static images, no overlay)? It's the lowest graphics option and will give you a better chance of the ATI card working for now http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/AV_Wizard_Step_by_Step#Select_Graphical_User_Interface
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

Corycdj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter Problem during Load?
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2010, 06:26:47 pm »
I reloaded and finally got past the grey screen.  I had some issues with the UI jumping around until i switched to the overlay.  Medium version.  Now i am wondering if i need to load media director as described in the wiki.(http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Installing_0810)  This is the only box that i am setting up for now and would like to play around with it before expanding to multiple boxes.   Right now i don't see the tv tuner. card or any inputs for that matter.  I also have a slingbox on the network that it isn't picking up.  I am going through the MD steps right now to see if that is what i need. 

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Orbiter Problem during Load?
« Reply #4 on: December 03, 2010, 06:28:07 pm »
We do not have support for SlingBox, either device template, or support software. Would love someone to hack in support for it though.

-Thom