Author Topic: Videos being replicated  (Read 953 times)

rchamp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Videos being replicated
« on: November 29, 2010, 08:29:11 pm »
Hey there,

I have an issue and I don't even know where to start. I added my movies that I had previously ripped to movie folders (like movie/ video_ts/audio_ts etc) into the proper folder and added the directory through the media sync wizard like i read in this topic, http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=1232.0 and all was good.

I was out for the thanksgiving holiday, and when I returned yesterday and turned on the TV and went to my videos section through the MD, every video has been duplicated about 15 times!!

What's even stranger is that it seems like the paths that it created are to non playable files for those replicated links in the videos section.

Has anyone else had this issue?
Anyone have any ideas on how to fix this?

rchamp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: Videos being replicated
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2010, 09:10:53 pm »
I don't know if this helps at all, but I tried logging into the web-admin, and deleting this path

 /home/public/data/other/SAMSUNG_HD753LJ

which is where all of the non-existent information was being displayed.

I then resyncronized the videos directory, and all seems to be good again.

Does anyone know why this somehow resyncronized itself?

rchamp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: Videos being replicated
« Reply #2 on: November 29, 2010, 09:21:55 pm »
just noticed that all my music won't play though. it is stored in /home/ryan/music

I went into the web-admin, and then to the media files and sync and clicked on the home link on the left, and for some reason, 'ryan' is missing entirely.

Really strange.

Anyone know how to add this directory back?

I tried to start the kde desktop from the advanced screen and now I have a 'cannot start kstartupconfig. please check your installation.' and KDE wont start either. Once that message appears, I am just stuck at a grey screen until I restart the hybrid PC. It was all working fine before I left on friday...

Did my installation take a dump?? I don't want to reinstall and re-rip all of this AGAIN, if I don't have to. (dont have a NAS yet...)

Any recommendations?
« Last Edit: November 29, 2010, 09:31:40 pm by dubchamp26 »

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1074
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • La Smarthomes - SoCal smarthome site
Re: Videos being replicated
« Reply #3 on: November 29, 2010, 09:40:38 pm »
I believe private data is actually stored in /home/user_xx/ as opposed to the name. So if you are trying to store this music under your particular user, its in the wrong place.

How is you directory structure setup? Did you choose to just 'make it public' or 'use linuxmce's filestructure'?

Also, what type of device is SAMSUNG_HD753LJ? Is that a hard drive?

Generally it goes

home/public/data/
                        audio/
                        video/
and
home/user_xx/data/
                          audio/
                          video/

If the samsung device is an internal hard drive, then i would say files are being copied to the wrong place. But i cant be completely sure from your post

-golgoj4
Those people who tell you not to take chances, they are all missing what life's all about.

Wiki Hardware Page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Langstonius

rchamp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: Videos being replicated
« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2010, 11:15:10 pm »
When I setup the initial install I setup LMCE to install to a 160GB WD harddrive (/ installed here)
then on my Samsung 750GB hard drive, I had that setup to have /home installed to it.

After LMCE installed, it detected the 750GB hard drive fine. I said to "use LMCEs file structure". When I did that, I realized I couldn't access the /public/data/videos directory to copy my videos to, so I copied them to /home/MY_USERNAME/data/videos instead. I then went into the web-admin and added that folder to the database. and all my files were detected, and everything played, but now, it looks as if the database is corrupt, KDE won't start and everything is not running like it was before.

Is there something that I can check?

rchamp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: Videos being replicated
« Reply #5 on: November 30, 2010, 06:47:50 pm »
any ideas on this?

Does anyone think that I should just start from scratch?
Anyone have a recommended way of setting up my hybrid box based on my components below?

I don't mind redoing the whole thing (since it is a project) and I will only learn more as  I go, but it would be great to get some guidance as to the "best"/most recommended way of setting up my core/hybrid box.

I have...

Abit AB9 Pro motherboard (has 9 SATA ports capable of RAID 0,1,5,10. WOuld like to use 5 in the future. also has 7.1 audio optical out and dual gigabit NICs)
Intel Quad-core 2.44Ghz processor
Nvidia 8800 GTS 512MB video from EVGA
(1) WD 160GB HDD
(1) Samsung 750GB HDD (will eventually remove this for an internal RAID 5 array if possible)
Cooler master Mystique case

Other components:
USB-UIRT  (on the way)
Logitech DiNovo bluetooth keyboard
40" sony bravia 5100
(no receiver yet)

Possible media director?:
I have a HP2133 mininote that I was thinking of doing PXE boot for a bedroom MD. any thoughts here?

I am very patient and just want to get the best install setup possible so I can get to tweaking and (hopefully) start contributing in the automation side of the community!

regards,

Ryan

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1074
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • La Smarthomes - SoCal smarthome site
Re: Videos being replicated
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2010, 08:06:13 pm »
any ideas on this?

Does anyone think that I should just start from scratch?
Anyone have a recommended way of setting up my hybrid box based on my components below?

I don't mind redoing the whole thing (since it is a project) and I will only learn more as  I go, but it would be great to get some guidance as to the "best"/most recommended way of setting up my core/hybrid box.

I have...

Abit AB9 Pro motherboard (has 9 SATA ports capable of RAID 0,1,5,10. WOuld like to use 5 in the future. also has 7.1 audio optical out and dual gigabit NICs)
Intel Quad-core 2.44Ghz processor
Nvidia 8800 GTS 512MB video from EVGA
(1) WD 160GB HDD
(1) Samsung 750GB HDD (will eventually remove this for an internal RAID 5 array if possible)
Cooler master Mystique case

Other components:
USB-UIRT  (on the way)
Logitech DiNovo bluetooth keyboard
40" sony bravia 5100
(no receiver yet)

Possible media director?:
I have a HP2133 mininote that I was thinking of doing PXE boot for a bedroom MD. any thoughts here?

I am very patient and just want to get the best install setup possible so I can get to tweaking and (hopefully) start contributing in the automation side of the community!

regards,

Ryan

Sorry ive not responded, dont have an answer yet as this confuses me too. If you have time, IRC might be a good option to get some ideas on whats going on.
-golgoj4
Those people who tell you not to take chances, they are all missing what life's all about.

Wiki Hardware Page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Langstonius

rchamp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: Videos being replicated
« Reply #7 on: December 03, 2010, 12:10:01 am »
I spoke to the guys on the chat. I ended up just reinstalling from scratch, and formatted my 750GB drive. I also noticed that I didn't have all the repos in my sources.list, so I fixed that this time around. everything is gravy now. NOW, I just need to start ripping all of my movies again... ::bleh::

THanks