Author Topic: Everspring door/window sensor not behaving - event problem?  (Read 6729 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Everspring door/window sensor not behaving - event problem?
« on: November 23, 2010, 12:14:18 pm »
Having a bit of a problem getting this sensor working, any thoughts/pointers would be welcome.

I tried to add it with the wizard in the normal manner to begin with (as I did with my dimmer switch), but I got some very strange behaviour. It allowed to say what it was and where it was, but when it came to naming it, there was no "next" button! No matter, I cancelled the wizard, and had a look in web admin, which was where I got more confused...

It seemed to have added TWO "Generic Sensors" to CORE -> ZWave -> ZWave Embedded Security Interface, using the device template "Xine Plug-in #6". Now I'm no expert, but that doesn't seem right.

Is my controller to blame? I've got the Aeon Labs stick. I realise that the Seluxit is usually recommended over this device, but it's what I've got, and was all I could afford at the time. I could probably stretch to the Seluxit now if NOT having it is a complete show-stopper, but obviously I would like to try and get it all working with what I've got if it's possible.

Is there a procedure I can follow to add it manually? I tried to follow this http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ACT_Homepro_Motion_Detector and this http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9606.0, but to be honest I am struggling to understand some of the terms being used.

Cheers,
Matt.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2011, 02:22:59 pm by purps »
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

mythtified

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2010, 01:29:32 pm »
I ran into a similar problem with a Hawking Door/window sensor that appears to be a version of the everspring.  The post for the fix is here.  http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=10810.0  You will smack yourself in the forehead when you see how easy it is to fix. ;D

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2010, 02:46:05 pm »
Thanks man, sorry, I didn't see that post during my searches. I'll give it a go when I get home tonight.

Am I right in saying that when one wants to add any new Z-wave device, all of the pre-existing Z-wave devices have to removed and added again along with the new one?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

mythtified

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2010, 08:58:59 pm »
While I don't know exactly how it works I do not believe that to be a true statement.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4527
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2010, 11:11:55 pm »
Thanks man, sorry, I didn't see that post during my searches. I'll give it a go when I get home tonight.

Am I right in saying that when one wants to add any new Z-wave device, all of the pre-existing Z-wave devices have to removed and added again along with the new one?

Cheers,
Matt.

Hi Matt,

Yes thats was true if you used the lighting Wizard to add ZWave lights for example. However if you have ZWave devices that are compatible with the new SIS Mode then you can add/remove devices with complete flexibility without this limitation.

See the wiki for more information on ZWave; http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ZWave

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2010, 12:13:31 am »
OK thanks, that's good to know.

Every time I plug in the dongle it adds 2 lights and about 6 generic sensors (I have one dimmer and one door/window sensor at the moment). I have completely removed the Z-wave component from "My devices" (along with everything else that is Z-wave related of course) in order to start afresh, but when I plug the dongle back in, there are the 2 lights and 6-odd sensors waiting for me again!!

Does anybody know of a way to restore the Aeon Labs Z stick back to factory settings? The manual states that this must be done through the host software whilst the stick is in SerialAPI-mode. Can LMCE do it?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2010, 12:44:33 am »
OK, so I found the itsby bitsy teeny weeny reset button on the Z-stick... held it down for a pretty long time... and still the various lights/sensors pop up when I plug it back into the core  :(
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

mythtified

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2010, 02:05:10 am »
I did reset my micasverde dongle once by accident removed everything from the dongle.  I believe I went to the advanced page of the interface and selected send a command to device.  Clicked the drop down and selected reset.  Then clicked the send button.  I believe that removed all the devices from the dongle.  I could be remembering wrong because it has been a while since I did it

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #8 on: November 24, 2010, 11:51:48 pm »
purps: send a "reset" from the web admin (not a dce reset but a reset command to the z-wave dongle itself)

It will erase all network information stored in the dongle and you can re-create your z-wave network.

br Hari

btw, I never use the wizard, it is broken.
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #9 on: November 25, 2010, 12:33:55 am »
Thanks chaps, with your advices I've managed to factory reset the Z-stick, and have added the generic sensor, assigned a room, icon, etc.

The sensor works perfectly when I pick it up off the table (i.e. the tamper switch), but I am getting no response from it when I move the magnet away. Have any of you guys seen this before?

In case it's relevant...


1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #10 on: November 25, 2010, 11:53:35 am »
 what do you mean with no response? When you are referring to the led, that is normal behavior to save power.

I have the same unit installed here, works fine, you just need to make sure that the dongle is associated to group 1.

br Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #11 on: November 25, 2010, 02:36:01 pm »
What I mean is that when I set the alarm from an orbiter, if I pick up the sensor from the table, the alarm sounds (due to the tamper switch), so that's fine and working as it should.

However, if I set the alarm, but separate the two parts of the sensor (simulating the opening of a door), the alarm does NOT sound.

For the dongle, the "Port/Channel number" is set to "1", is this what you are referring to? Or is the group thing different?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

mythtified

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #12 on: November 25, 2010, 03:08:03 pm »
if you leave the tamper switch enabled you can treat the led as a walk/test indicator.  With the sensor in your hand bringing the magnet close and away should cause the led to light.  I also found that the magnet supplied with the sensor is almost worthless.  I am using a larger bar magnet in order to make it work.  You could also adjust the pluto.conf file to increase the loglevel and see if it is operating in the zwave interface log.  One other thing I noticed when initially playing with it is there seemed to be some delay between activations.  This is probably due to device polling but I am not sure.

hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2421
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #13 on: November 25, 2010, 03:33:23 pm »
no polling involved, it sends a report to the associated node in group 1 (that should be your dongle)..

br Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Z-wave woes - Everspring door/window sensor not behaving
« Reply #14 on: November 25, 2010, 04:17:42 pm »
if you leave the tamper switch enabled you can treat the led as a walk/test indicator.  With the sensor in your hand bringing the magnet close and away should cause the led to light.  I also found that the magnet supplied with the sensor is almost worthless.  I am using a larger bar magnet in order to make it work.  You could also adjust the pluto.conf file to increase the loglevel and see if it is operating in the zwave interface log.  One other thing I noticed when initially playing with it is there seemed to be some delay between activations.  This is probably due to device polling but I am not sure.

Talking about the tamper switch, by "enabled", do you mean "popped out"?

Logically, I would have thought that if the tamper switch activates the alarm, then all of the Z-wave/LinuxMCE setup is complete, and does not require any further tinkering. Is that a fair comment?

Maybe it is the strength of the magnet as you say, I will have a play tonight. I can definitely hear a faint *click* when I move the magnet close and then move it away again, so something is happening. The sensor could just be shagged for all I know.

Thanks for the info guys.

Cheers,
Matt.
« Last Edit: November 25, 2010, 04:20:54 pm by purps »
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps