AgoControl > Developers

LinuxMCE / KNX hardware requirement for lighting solution.

(1/4) > >>

ggraja:
I am new to LinuxMCE

I have been exploring Home automation and in due coarse with Hari's encouragement and a google video on LinuxMCE I decided that I would use LinuxMCE for my project.

I was considering a Z-Wave Vera based solution with ACT Dimmers to kick off my HA project, I was going to later add a Global Cache GC-100 for interacting with my AV equipment. A NAS device for storing media. I would later expand the project scope by including network media players for each room, IP cameras Schlage Z-Wave deadbolt locks.

In the course of my exploration I happened to write an email to Hari and that changed things forever. He was kind to reply and suggested I use KNX/Instabus for my HA project.

I did not know anything about LinuxMCE or KNX, sleepless nights and google kind of helped me scratch the surface.

So here I am looking for links documents on KNX implementation and Hardware. Can someone using KNX help me the the Hardware they use for lighting solution. I have read on multiple forums about Z-Wave status polling either delayed or at times inaccurate. I am looking for a solution that can use KNX and Z-Wave together. As well as exploring solutions to eliminate Z-Wave completely and depend only on KNX.

Looking for all the help I can get. I am in India and on 220V.

Marie.O:
I don't know about products available in the Indian market place. I am using KNX stuff from MDT Automation. Good price and quality imho.

You need
* a KNX PSU
* a gateway to access KNX from the computer (I am using an IP/KNX gate, but there are others available)
* KNX actuators to control the lights
* KNX sensors to give input (the switches the user presses, or the motion sensors that send telegrams to the actors to switch lights)

The actuators are centrally installed in the switch panel. The sensors are locally installed. All actuators and sensors are connected with a KNX cable.

ggraja: