Author Topic: LinuxMCE and 1-wire  (Read 6605 times)

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 445
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #15 on: December 01, 2010, 08:24:44 pm »
You need to do some programming, probably C++, as I think GSD don't allow reading files.

The basic process is: create device template, generate c++ skeleton, fill in code to do what you want and commit it to svn once tested and verified.

best regards,
sambuca

Kooma

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #16 on: December 01, 2010, 09:40:43 pm »
I know nothing, but, could we integrate the data logger here. I'm thinking that at some point the data logger could log any selected events/data/etc to a database. This database could serve as a more versatile means for each case, like 1-wire data.

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #17 on: December 01, 2010, 10:22:24 pm »
puh, this sounds really challenging!
Does anybody have an idea who created the template for the Link45i interface? Maybe we can get that working instead?

greetz
IF

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #18 on: December 07, 2010, 04:57:24 pm »
OK I guess there is nobody working on this anymore, right?
Should we maybe try to put some money together and ask one of the devs to do the job?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #19 on: December 07, 2010, 05:10:05 pm »
If I can get a 1-wire interface, some cabling, and a few sensors, I will write a functional driver.

-Thom

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #20 on: December 07, 2010, 05:47:53 pm »
hey cool! You can have my interface, cable and 3 sensors (just one is soldered onto the cable right now). Would you pm me your shipping address?

big thanks to nice nice nice Thom!  ;D

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #21 on: December 17, 2010, 03:13:30 pm »
Hi _IF_,

What are the model numbers of your 1-wire inferface and sensors?
I want to see if I can get some locally. I want to use 1-wire to, once Thom gets it working.

Karel

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #22 on: December 17, 2010, 03:20:22 pm »
Hi,

I have this interface: http://www.ibuttonlink.com/linkusb.aspx
and the dallas DS18B20+ sensors.
But I did not get any response from Thom so far, he is propably very busy at the moment...

IF

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #23 on: December 17, 2010, 03:29:56 pm »
Thom,

Would the Link45i interface template be the best place to start, or should it be done from scratch?

Karel

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #24 on: December 17, 2010, 03:47:11 pm »
Hi IF,

As allways cant get it locally  >:( That sux about SA. Whenever I want something I cant get it SA!!! The same happened with Z-wave  >:(

Karel

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #25 on: December 17, 2010, 11:38:39 pm »
Hey Karel,

don't they ship to SA? What is their problem? In case we get it running, I could try to get the stuff and send it to your place if that helps you...

greetz
IF

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #26 on: January 19, 2011, 08:23:51 pm »
IF,

How did you get OWFS working?

Karel

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #27 on: January 19, 2011, 08:55:21 pm »
try this guide: http://automation.binarysage.net/?p=1244&cpage=1

I´m sorry I can´t remember exactly what I did but this guide helped and I believe I did not install php5 and not shure about the python thing...


hari

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2420
    • View Profile
    • ago control
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #28 on: January 19, 2011, 10:00:13 pm »
just ./configure && make && make install

that should be sufficient for the new driver..

br Hari
rock your home - http://www.agocontrol.com home automation