Author Topic: LinuxMCE and 1-wire  (Read 6535 times)

AndersSandell

  • First post!
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« on: November 01, 2010, 04:05:54 pm »
Hi all,

I am currently using Misterhouse for home automation purposes using a log of 1-wire sensors and actuators. I am planning to start using zwave for lights etc bt since Misterhouse dont suport z-wave very good i am looking for alternatives.

LinuxMCE seems to have pretty good z-wave support using the Viasens 100 from seluxit but i cannot find much support for 1-wire. Since i dont want to scrath my 1-wire installation i am looking for a way to get that working with LinuxMCE.

I know that there has been a few threads abot LinuxMCE and 1-wire but i have not been able to find a solution.

Is 1-wire support in the current roadmap of LinuxMCE?

Cheers,

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #1 on: November 13, 2010, 05:02:51 pm »
Hey,

I'd love to have 1-wire support as well, that would be a very inexpensive solution for measurement of temperature and heatcontrol. As I read somewhere here, there used to be a script for 1-wire but got lost somewhere or so...any ideas?

I just tried to get OWFS running on my core some days ago, but got stuck as it needs python2.4 and Linuxmce has a newer version running. A downgrade of python would propably kill a lot other things I guess?

IF


nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #2 on: November 15, 2010, 02:28:12 pm »
I tried to use OWFS and OWW with Plutohome. OWW worked fine as standalone solution for the weather station. But I couldn't integrate it with Plutohome. One idea was to run OWW GUI client as computing application. In any case even now LinuxMCE doesn't have weather screen.

Also note that there is a draft template for the 1-wire interface Linki45 in the device templates.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2010, 02:33:16 pm »
Yes, I found the device template as well, but do you have any idea how to use it?
« Last Edit: November 19, 2010, 02:49:01 pm by _if_ »

optimus

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2010, 08:37:47 am »
could you please share that site over here so we all can use it and download the templates and anyone who know how to use them please help us thanks....

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2010, 10:00:56 am »
it's in webadmin advanced-configuration-device templates.

by the way, I have now owfs running and can read the temperature file but how can I feed that to the system?

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2010, 10:08:29 am »
_if_,

From the wii it might be posible, but not enough infirmation.
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/1-Wire

Post the files that has the information. From there we can see if we can get a template going. This way i dont need the devices to test, just the files that contains the data. The template will read the files.

Pls correct me if Im wrong.

Karel

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #7 on: November 20, 2010, 10:17:19 am »
hi,

yes its not a lot info on the page...
owfs works this way: for each sensor connected to the interface it adds a directory and in that directory it adds a file called "temperature" which has nothing but the measured value in it.

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #8 on: November 20, 2010, 06:21:13 pm »
little info to add: the values look is 23.625

Karel, do you think you can do a template for that? just let me know if you need more info!

thanks
IF

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2010, 12:51:34 pm »
Hey IF,

To be honest I havent created any templates before, but this would be a start.
Is that the only content in the files? I have a look at it during the week and let u know how im doing.

Karel

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #10 on: November 21, 2010, 01:39:32 pm »
hi,

yes the measured value is the only content in that file.
Thank you so much for your help Karel, I'm completely lost on creating templates...

In case we get this working, I will put a wikipage together as this seems to be interesting for others as well.

thanks
IF

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2010, 12:06:33 pm »
Hey,

any news on that template, did you find time to play a little with it?

greetz
IF

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #12 on: November 27, 2010, 12:50:25 pm »
Hi IF,

I have to apologise.......
Was a very busy week this week. I'll have a look at it later today or tomorrow and give you some feedback

Im really sorry.

Karel

_if_

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 239
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #13 on: November 27, 2010, 12:54:22 pm »
absolutely no problem!
just let me know if you got any progress.

thanks!
IF

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: LinuxMCE and 1-wire
« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2010, 08:04:19 pm »
If,

Not as easy as I thought...... or I dont know enough about creating templates just yet....

For the more experienced users......
Is it posible to create a device template to read info from a text file?

Karel