Author Topic: About Metadata  (Read 23991 times)

golgoj4

• NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • Mah Website
About Metadata
« on: October 30, 2010, 04:33:09 pm »
Hello All,

If your interested in compiling or just checking out the code (warning - im very new to c++) it can be found @ http://gitorious.org/linuxmce-autotagger. Whenever i push it to the server, it should be able to compile and run. There is also a binary called 'autotagger' that should be ready to go stand alone.

Beta version 1.1
-Takes 2 different command line arguments:
    -The path in quotes "/home/public/data/videos/test/"
    -The file number of the directory. This can be located in mediaFilesSync in the webadmin. Whenever you mouse over a link to a file, it shows you the file number (as its part of the link)

Test if you have a chance on a smaller media set (or large if your brave). In my testing the biggest impact is sustained db activity over %50 while running over larger lists of files. And this is the reason its specifically NOT recursive. So wherever you direct it, files should be there and not in a subdir.

Thanks for taking the time to read and test. Hopefully this can be integrated in the near future so our media will get tagged automagically.
-golgoj4
« Last Edit: November 08, 2010, 08:03:00 pm by golgoj4 »
Linuxmce - Where everyone is never wrong, but we are always behind xbmc in the media / ui department.

golgoj4

• hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • Mah Website
Re: About Metadata
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2010, 05:29:23 am »
Metadata can be stored either internally, in the same file as the data, or externally, in a separate file. Metadata that is embedded with content is called embedded metadata. A data repository typically stores the metadata detached from the data.

?
Linuxmce - Where everyone is never wrong, but we are always behind xbmc in the media / ui department.

Marie.O

• Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007