Author Topic: Android Touch Orbiter  (Read 32327 times)

MDH1966

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #75 on: January 30, 2011, 12:52:19 am »
Have you guys seen this?

http://www.gmote.org/

It seems that is uses a server/client setup to make it work.  The server obviously lives on the computer that the phone is controlling.  There is a linux version of the server.

It is a free app for android phones and it is also open source.  The code lives here --> http://code.google.com/p/gmote

It also seems that it is recently became unsupported.  I don't know why...it was just a quick glance at their forum.

I don't know if this helps but you may be able to incorporate it into LMCE or at least see how they did stuff for ideas.

<M>
« Last Edit: January 30, 2011, 12:55:40 am by MDH »

rchamp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #76 on: February 03, 2011, 08:45:46 pm »
I used that on my WMCE. Box before I switched to LMCE. It worked awesomely then. :-)

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3049
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #77 on: February 11, 2011, 12:05:04 am »
Darren,

even if los93sol's Orbiters is supposedly much more powerful in terms of automatic device creation, remote access and what not, I got your Orbiter to run on my small 7" android tablet.

One thing that I *really* love on the weborbiter is the instant feedback. When I touch anything, the whirlwind or flying tux comes up, and I know, I've hit the touch screen the way it likes to be touched. The web browser on the android even does a little click sound.

This is *really* missing from your Android Orbiter. Any idea, on how to implement it? imho it is the main thing missing, even though I still use it.

Thank you for your work with the Orbiter. It is greatly appreciated.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #78 on: February 11, 2011, 03:44:59 pm »
Darren,

I am currently running your orbiter on a cheap and nasty 7" Android tablet and it is fantastic, thank you.

Have also been playing with los93sol's orbiter; I can see that it has a lot more features, making it useful for mobile (cell) phones, but yours is the one I am currently using due to its simplicity/reliability. Perfect for a wifi-only "armchair" device.

My only comment is that when watching TV, you click on "recordings", it doesn't always automatically change to keyboard. Same when you select something to watch - it doesn't always automatically change back to the remote screen. Obviously the orbiter can just be reloaded via the menu system so no biggie, but thought I'd mention it anyway.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

pdanders

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #79 on: March 13, 2011, 03:48:15 am »
anyone have a valid link?

Thanks!

darrenmason

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #80 on: March 14, 2011, 03:14:26 am »
http://svn.linuxmce.org/svn/people/darrenmason/AndroidTouchOrbiter/bin/AndroidTouchOrbiter.apk should work I think.

Also, didn't realise that this thread had a few updates - will try and do a few of the suggestions and build another version as soon as I can

Regards
Darren

pdanders

  • Making baby steps
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #81 on: March 18, 2011, 12:39:35 am »
Yes, that link worked.  Thank you!

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 891
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #82 on: March 18, 2011, 10:11:09 pm »
Hi,

I'm new one to Android field. Have managed to install Orbiter and it works quite ok. Thanks to author for great effort.

Have two quick questions :
- can I get some feedback on touch event (I'm on cheap, resistive touch tablet) - click, beep, ...?
- do floorplans work ? I've tried with desktop and Android Orbiters side by side and motion sensor doesn't update on Android Orbiter.... Is it suppose to work or is this not working yet ?


Thanks in advance,

Bulek.

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

darrenmason

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #83 on: March 21, 2011, 12:27:59 am »
Hi,

A couple of requests now for the feedback on touch. Shouldn't be too hard so will try and look at it this week.

I think there was a couple of other requests that I will look at as well.

wrt. floorplans; what exactly isn't working? The display of floorplans? Just the motion sensor being triggered?

Basically - all touch orbiters are just standard orbiters that run on the core and render to an image file (rather than native libraries). So all orbiter functionality should work AFAIK.

Regards
Darren




kvelland

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #84 on: March 25, 2011, 01:27:47 pm »
Great work. I just installed it on my Galaxy Tab and my HTC desire.

Will post back as soon as tested

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #85 on: March 29, 2011, 10:32:04 pm »
Just thought I'd mention.... installed on a stock HTC Desire HD, worked great.

I have however since installed a custom ROM (LeeDr0iD http://leedroid.com/), and now the orbiter crashes occasionally when started (but usually starts second time), and it ALWAYS crashes upon screen rotation. I can't find any other applications that are doing this.

Is there anything else I can do to diagnose the problem/test? I disabled as many phone effects as I could.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

darrenmason

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #86 on: March 30, 2011, 04:33:42 am »
Hi Matt,

If you go back through this thread there is details on ways to get the logcat from the device.

Ideally, restart your phone, start the app, rotate (for the crash) and then send me the log at that point.

When the phone is rotated it re-initialises the whole app effectively - probably a bit overkill but it seemed to work more reliably than not.

Might explain why you are getting crashes on startup sometimes.

The log should give me enough to fix it...

btw; Started looking at the feedback stuff - just trying to find a little bit of time to do the coding.

regards
Darren

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 891
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #87 on: March 30, 2011, 08:09:34 pm »
Hi,

A couple of requests now for the feedback on touch. Shouldn't be too hard so will try and look at it this week.

I think there was a couple of other requests that I will look at as well.

wrt. floorplans; what exactly isn't working? The display of floorplans? Just the motion sensor being triggered?

Basically - all touch orbiters are just standard orbiters that run on the core and render to an image file (rather than native libraries). So all orbiter functionality should work AFAIK.

Regards
Darren

Hi,
 
I meant situation when for instance motion sensor is triggered it's painted red on floorplan. Side by side, same floorplan, same sensor - works on Winxp Orbiter, but doesn't change colour on Android one...

Thanks for efforts,

regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4527
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #88 on: March 30, 2011, 08:36:01 pm »
Hi,
 
I meant situation when for instance motion sensor is triggered it's painted red on floorplan. Side by side, same floorplan, same sensor - works on Winxp Orbiter, but doesn't change colour on Android one...

Thanks for efforts,

regards,

Bulek.


There was a bug in the Orbiter code awhile back that caused floor plan icons to be rendered incorrectly...you might be experiencing that as proxy_orbiter is based on the same code. Its unlikely to be the Android Orbiter itself causing this as it plays no part in the rendering of the screens themselves - it just displays the screens its given.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3049
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #89 on: March 30, 2011, 08:56:01 pm »
I meant situation when for instance motion sensor is triggered it's painted red on floorplan. Side by side, same floorplan, same sensor - works on Winxp Orbiter, but doesn't change colour on Android one...

Click on refresh and see if that helps