Author Topic: Android Touch Orbiter  (Read 90432 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #90 on: April 03, 2011, 02:07:48 pm »
Hi Matt,

If you go back through this thread there is details on ways to get the logcat from the device.

Ideally, restart your phone, start the app, rotate (for the crash) and then send me the log at that point.

When the phone is rotated it re-initialises the whole app effectively - probably a bit overkill but it seemed to work more reliably than not.

Might explain why you are getting crashes on startup sometimes.

The log should give me enough to fix it...

btw; Started looking at the feedback stuff - just trying to find a little bit of time to do the coding.

regards
Darren

Sorry for the delay http://pastebin.com/mwTJ63cT
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

bulek

  • Administrator
  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • *****
  • Posts: 909
  • Living with LMCE
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #91 on: April 04, 2011, 11:03:00 pm »
Click on refresh and see if that helps
Refresh always helps. Even if I rotate screen, then it's redrawn again and then sensor is refreshed into proper color...

Regards,

Bulek.
Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #92 on: April 05, 2011, 11:15:45 am »
Refresh always helps. Even if I rotate screen, then it's redrawn again and then sensor is refreshed into proper color...

Regards,

Bulek.


I often find that when I flick between live TV and recordings or guide or whatever, the orbiter doesn't change to the correct screen, but of course a refresh always sorts it - is there a way to make this refresh automatic? Minor gripe I know.

My only comparison is the Nokia N800 orbiter, which always changed to the correct screen.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

darrenmason

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #93 on: April 05, 2011, 03:55:15 pm »
Sorry for the delay http://pastebin.com/mwTJ63cT
Not much to go on in there...

Do you have live wallpaper? If so, could you disable it and see if the problem persists or not.

Thanks
Darren

Marie.O

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3675
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #94 on: April 05, 2011, 05:30:17 pm »
The problem is inherit with every proxy_orbiter 2.0 device I have used. iPod Touch, Android and Web Browser. There seem to be a condition where ANYNEWS does not return correct information.

darrenmason

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #95 on: April 06, 2011, 12:37:44 am »
The problem is inherit with every proxy_orbiter 2.0 device I have used. iPod Touch, Android and Web Browser. There seem to be a condition where ANYNEWS does not return correct information.

Yeah I had a quick look at this issue as well last night. It seems that the image returned has not been updated yet and it also does not flag anynews properly - suggesting that it is a proxy_orbiter device problem and not the touch orbiter (any variant). When I get a moment might look to see if there is anything obvious that can be done in the proxy orbiter.

Also done a couple of updates to the Android Orbiter. Just need to do a few more tests tonight and should have a new version....

Marie.O

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3675
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #96 on: April 06, 2011, 08:13:37 am »
darrenmason,

is there a deeper reason why you are not working off the svn repo? I see that you haven't done a commit to people/ for 5 month.

Another thing: Could you add a readme file detailing what is needed to get the android touch orbiter build on our builder? That way we could incorporate the output into our repo, and people would have it available from the web admin login page.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #97 on: April 06, 2011, 12:18:24 pm »
Not much to go on in there...

Do you have live wallpaper? If so, could you disable it and see if the problem persists or not.

Thanks
Darren

I do have live wallpaper, yes, but disabling it didn't make any difference unfortunately. Should I do the log again without the live wallpaper?

Do I remember correctly you saying that a feature would be included to lock the orbiter to landscape?

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

darrenmason

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #98 on: April 06, 2011, 12:59:49 pm »
darrenmason,

is there a deeper reason why you are not working off the svn repo? I see that you haven't done a commit to people/ for 5 month.

Another thing: Could you add a readme file detailing what is needed to get the android touch orbiter build on our builder? That way we could incorporate the output into our repo, and people would have it available from the web admin login page.

No reason - I havn't done any changes to the orbiter in 5 months. Only started doing some changes just the last couple of days.

At the time someone on the irc channel said put the stuff in people so that's where I stuck it.

wrt. building - shouldn't be too hard I guess. It will need the android SDK and probably has a few other dependencies but I will look into it.

darrenmason

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #99 on: April 06, 2011, 01:03:26 pm »
I do have live wallpaper, yes, but disabling it didn't make any difference unfortunately. Should I do the log again without the live wallpaper?

Do I remember correctly you saying that a feature would be included to lock the orbiter to landscape?

Cheers,
Matt.

Might as well do the log again - it was the only thing present that seemed to be going on at the same time.

Yeah the lock landscape feature is done - just testing some more. You might find that your issue goes away as well as it will no longer reload on rotation.
Try and get the new app uploaded as soon as possible.

darrenmason

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 529
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #100 on: April 06, 2011, 02:00:48 pm »
New version uploaded.

See http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/browser/people/darrenmason/AndroidTouchOrbiter/bin/AndroidTouchOrbiter.apk for the latest apk.

Change log:
Added configuration and related code to allow locking the screen orientation in either landscape or portrait. Still allows default behavior as well
Added a couple of lines of code to give some feedback on touch. This is more playing around at the moment as I don't think it will meet the needs of the people that requested this. But see how it goes and feel free to give some more feedback. It should click and also give haptic feedback (if haptic feedback is on in config)

Anyway - please try and give me some feedback.

Regards
Darren

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #101 on: April 07, 2011, 10:48:57 am »
New version uploaded.

See http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/browser/people/darrenmason/AndroidTouchOrbiter/bin/AndroidTouchOrbiter.apk for the latest apk.

Change log:
Added configuration and related code to allow locking the screen orientation in either landscape or portrait. Still allows default behavior as well
Added a couple of lines of code to give some feedback on touch. This is more playing around at the moment as I don't think it will meet the needs of the people that requested this. But see how it goes and feel free to give some more feedback. It should click and also give haptic feedback (if haptic feedback is on in config)

Anyway - please try and give me some feedback.

Regards
Darren

Have tried on both my HTC Desire HD and a cheapo Internet tablet, and both work well - thank you very much.

I haven't been getting the crashes that I had before on the HTC, but that might be because I have locked it to landscape. Tonight I will try rotating and see if the same things happens. The haptic feedback also works well; very nice touch.

Works well on the tablet as always (never crashed in the first place). The tablet doesn't have a vibrate function, and I must say I didn't hear the *click*, but it could well be on silent (I only had a quick look last night), so will give it a more thorough examination this evening.

Thank you again for sharing this!

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #102 on: April 09, 2011, 12:37:57 pm »
HTC Desire HD - no longer crashes upon rotation, but this is somewhat academic with the new "lock to landscape" feature.

I can confirm that I do not hear any clicks on neither the Desire or the cheapo Internet.

My suggestion (without having any knowledge of how easy or hard this would be) would be to have an on/off option for haptic feedback and clicks in settings, allowing you to choose one or the other, or indeed both.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1402
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #103 on: April 11, 2011, 03:12:19 pm »
Out of interest (this is a question for Thom I guess), why is the N800 orbiter so responsive (in terms of volume control, skipping forward/back, any repetitive button presses) in comparison to the touch orbiters? Also the N800 ALWAYS displays the correct screen, in that it never needs to be refreshed - is there some fundamental reason for this?

I assure you this isn't a dig at your work darrenmason, I am just curious.

Cheers,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: Android Touch Orbiter
« Reply #104 on: April 11, 2011, 03:22:51 pm »
Out of interest (this is a question for Thom I guess), why is the N800 orbiter so responsive (in terms of volume control, skipping forward/back, any repetitive button presses) in comparison to the touch orbiters? Also the N800 ALWAYS displays the correct screen, in that it never needs to be refreshed - is there some fundamental reason for this?

I assure you this isn't a dig at your work darrenmason, I am just curious.

Cheers,
Matt.

N800 Orbiter is a port of SDL onscreen Orbiter. And it doesn't have any relations with Touch Orbiter. That's why you can see some different between them.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru