Author Topic: Strange network problem  (Read 1189 times)

zim

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Strange network problem
« on: October 06, 2010, 08:33:56 am »
Hello All,

I'm very new to LinuxMCE but very impressed by its possibility.

I build my core/md on Dell Optiflex 755 whit 2 NIC cards,

One is connected to my routed D-link and second one (internal) to giga-swith.

I have internet in core (YouTube etc.) after disable firewall I can access admin page from external lan.

When im connecting from internal side i'm getting IP (192.168.80.129) I can ping to core (192.168.80.1) but I don't have internet(in DHCP settings there is no gate) ant I cant access admin page or shares (\\192.168.80.1\)


I don't think there is lan card issue, it looks like core doesn't allow me to access any thing from internal network,


Pleas help....


Ziemek
DELL OptiFlex 755/DC/4GB/1TB/8400GS/2NIC
MD:HPTablet1100
MD2: ASROCK ION330

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Strange network problem
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2010, 10:54:59 am »
Maybe try removing the D-Link and plug the internet into the core directly? Give it all a reset and see if that works.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

zim

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Strange network problem
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2010, 01:24:04 pm »
Hi,

Thanks for answer,

I tried that, external address was static (192.168.13.200) but without change.


Regards,

DELL OptiFlex 755/DC/4GB/1TB/8400GS/2NIC
MD:HPTablet1100
MD2: ASROCK ION330

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Strange network problem
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2010, 02:12:52 pm »
On the core's orbiter, click on the "Advanced" button (I think I've got that right, the one with all the reset buttons at the bottom) and find "Network Settings" (again, I think I've got this right). If you're in the right place, you should see two buttons saying something along the lines of "Use Static" and "Use DHCP". Try clicking on the DHCP one, and see if that gives you any joy.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

zim

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Strange network problem
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2010, 02:24:00 pm »
Unfortunetly no,

I have tried many ways including changing default subnet on mce.

Im almost sure that mce is no allowing me to access from internal interface.

DELL OptiFlex 755/DC/4GB/1TB/8400GS/2NIC
MD:HPTablet1100
MD2: ASROCK ION330

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Strange network problem
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2010, 05:15:01 pm »
I'm out of ideas. If it were me I would probably reinstall!

Hopefully somebody else will come along with a better idea than that.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

theteju

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 134
    • View Profile
Re: Strange network problem
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2010, 05:28:21 pm »
sorry but need more information.

How are you connecting from internal ?

I am guessing your setup is   Modem-------> D link --------------> core ------------- switch -----------> you.

is it? if yes, are you wired or wireless for  internal?

zim

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Strange network problem
« Reply #7 on: October 06, 2010, 07:44:30 pm »
THANKS FOR YOUR HELP!

There was some problem during install (DVD) i made new one (internet) and every thing works fine.


Thanks a lot, now starting to play whit orbiters :-)

Bye
DELL OptiFlex 755/DC/4GB/1TB/8400GS/2NIC
MD:HPTablet1100
MD2: ASROCK ION330

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1396
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Strange network problem
« Reply #8 on: October 06, 2010, 09:13:08 pm »
Glad you got it working!

Best of luck.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps