Author Topic: First-Time Install - Lots of questions  (Read 21970 times)

archived

• Hello, I'm new here
    • View Profile
First-Time Install - Lots of questions
« on: December 17, 2006, 03:44:07 am »
Pardon my ignorance, but this is my first time installing Pluto, and I'm not much of a linux user.  Anyway, here are my questions in no particular order:

System:
Hybrid Install
AMD Athlon XP 2800+
Nforce 2 chipset (and SoundStorm audio)
ATI Radeon 9550

(1)  When it boots up, it never loads the Media Director interface.  Just presents this text-based menu http://plutohome.com/wiki/index.php/Image:Console.jpg with the Pluto Homes logo above it.  When it first started I went through the AV Wizard which asked about audio/video settings, so I've done that.  How can I get it to go into the Media Director?

(2)  Might be related to (1)... I have two displays connected to the 9550.  The VGA connection is an ancient 800x600 Elo touchscreen.  The DVI is a Sony VPL-HS10 projector with a native resolution of 1366x768.  Throughout the install and right up until the AV Wizard started, the only display I was seeing was the DVI.  However, when the AV Wizard started it switched to the VGA.  Because of this I selected 800x600x60 and VGA as the default resolution.  However, probably because the Media Director isn't loading, the VGA display is blank and the menu mentioned above is showing on the DVI.  Ideally, what I'd like is to have the primary interface on the DVI projector at 1366x768 and a secondary interface on the touchscreen at 800x600.  How would I go about doing that?  And is this configuration somehow causing the problem I'm experiencing in (1)?

[EDIT] So I did some more testing here and it turns out that even with only one display connected (800x600x60) through VGA, I still can't get the Media Director to load.  When I log in and run X I get the following error:

Code: [Select]
X: unable to open wrapper config file /etc/X11/Xwrapper.config

X Window System Version 7.1.1