Author Topic: Acer Revo 3610 diskless MD  (Read 1400 times)

dspano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Acer Revo 3610 diskless MD
« on: September 06, 2010, 05:24:01 am »
hallo all.

I'm tring to install my revo 3610 as a md in my master bedroom.

My core is a dell 4600 with intel 4 2.4Mhz single core processor, 1.5g ram, duel nic (1 onboard and a pci 3com), and a gforce 6200 agp
I used the dvd install of linuxmce 810, I followed the directions to the t from the linuxmce wiki. I have eth0 as external and eth1 as internal networks

When I pxe boot the revo, it starts going through all the motions and stops at could not open /usr/tmp-eth0 or something like that
I removed the internal wifi card out of the revo...no change
I have been researching and found people saying to edit the kernal module at usr/pluto/diskless with the proper driver. I dont have that folder
I have also read that i can blacklist the nic
or update the diskless image with the driver for the nic
I need direction on what I need to do...PLEASE I dont know what to do next




DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: Acer Revo 3610 diskless MD
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2010, 05:54:17 am »
Hi,

And Welcome to Linuxmce,

I had a similar problem with a MD, Zotac Ion. I read up and down through the forums about blacklisting the nic driver and other solutions.
I a desperate attempt I deleted the MD from the WebAdmin, rebooted the core and then booted the MD.

Now this was where I messed up the first time...... The MD gets to a point in the boot process where it looks like its doing nothing. Got stuck. I rebooted the MD and got more or less the same problem as you.
But the second time around I just left it...... and about 30min later it was booting to AV-wizard.

The think about LInuxMCE is, you need to have patience.

This is what worked for me.

Karel

tkmedia

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 937
    • View Profile
    • LMCECompatible
Re: Acer Revo 3610 diskless MD
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2010, 06:21:30 am »
hallo all.

I'm tring to install my revo 3610 as a md in my master bedroom.

My core is a dell 4600 with intel 4 2.4Mhz single core processor, 1.5g ram, duel nic (1 onboard and a pci 3com), and a gforce 6200 agp
I used the dvd install of linuxmce 810, I followed the directions to the t from the linuxmce wiki. I have eth0 as external and eth1 as internal networks

When I pxe boot the revo, it starts going through all the motions and stops at could not open /usr/tmp-eth0 or something like that
I removed the internal wifi card out of the revo...no change
I have been researching and found people saying to edit the kernal module at usr/pluto/diskless with the proper driver. I dont have that folder
I have also read that i can blacklist the nic
or update the diskless image with the driver for the nic
I need direction on what I need to do...PLEASE I dont know what to do next





More than likely if its newer hardware use
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC

to add your updated driver

HTH


Tim
My Setup http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Tkmedia

For LinuxMce compatible  systems and accessories
http://lmcecompatible.com/

b4rney

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 454
    • View Profile
Re: Acer Revo 3610 diskless MD
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2010, 10:03:27 pm »
I have the revo 3610 and I have blacklisted the driver as described in the wiki:

If you have the wifi adapter version of the revo you will need to add 'blacklist ath_pci' to the moons blacklist file. Be sure to modify according to your setup: /usr/pluto/diskless/##/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist

Without this step my md will freeze during the boot process.
Barney

dspano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Acer Revo 3610 diskless MD
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2010, 01:12:24 am »
"If you have the wifi adapter version of the revo you will need to add 'blacklist ath_pci' to the moons blacklist file. Be sure to modify according to your setup: /usr/pluto/diskless/##/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist"

I do not have the wifi card in my revo, I took it out.
the reason I took it out is because I could not find /usr/pluto/diskless/##/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist to blacklist ath_pci
the folder (diskless) is not in the (pluto) folder on the core and my revo has not been assigned a moon number yet by the core

I tried to use http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC wiki... I found the kernel module (forcedeth) for nVidia MCP79 ethernet, but I'm not sure if that is the right one. I also found (e1000e) for intel 10/100/100 ethernet, not sure wich one to use or both.
for now I used (forcedeth) when I went to /etc/initramfs-tools-interactor/modules and put in forcedeth in the modules file
then I went to the terminal and put in:

                             sudo /usr/pluto/bin/Diskless_buildDefaultImage.sh ... didn't seem like anything happend
so I Put in:               mkinitramfs -d /etc/initramfs-tools-interactor/ -o /tftpboot/default/initrd...still seem nothing happens

the directions say they are for lmce704, are they also for 810?

dspano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Acer Revo 3610 diskless MD
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2010, 04:15:55 am »
ok... I got a little ferther this time pxe went all the way through and anounced to the router then rebooted
started again and stopped at:

ip-config: eth0 hardware address 90:fb:a6:2e:29:0a mtu 1500 DHCP RARP
ip-config: no response after 60 secs - giving up
/init: .: line 1: cant open /tmp/net-eth0.config
[  573.059455] Kernel panic - not syncing: attempting to kill init!

any ideas anyone?

dspano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Acer Revo 3610 diskless MD
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2010, 04:57:31 am »
now I have the diskless folder in pluto so I went in:

/usr/pluto/diskless/32/etc/modprobe.d/blacklist

and blacklist ath_pci

then rebooted the core, now i will try again to pxe boot the revo


dspano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Acer Revo 3610 diskless MD
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2010, 03:28:08 am »
Ok. I pxe booted the revo and it seems to have stopped at:

* mounting local filesystem...
mount: sysfs already mounted or /sys busy
mount: according to mtab, none is already mounted on /sys               [fail]

* Activating swapfile swap...

I'm going to try to disable acpi to see what will happens

dspano

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Acer Revo 3610 diskless MD
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2010, 06:06:54 am »
ok I went into /tftpboot/pxelinux.cfg and edited the default boot script to remove acpi=off

now I will try to do another pxe booy on the revo