Author Topic: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start  (Read 1713 times)

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« on: August 30, 2010, 09:01:41 pm »
Hi All,

If I start a movie thats stored on my core/hybrid, their is about a 45sec delay before the movie starts.
Example, I choose the movie to start, the tv connected to the core/hybrid goes black for about 45sec and then the movie starts.
But on my MD the movie starts to play immediately.

Karel

LmceCape

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2010, 08:45:20 pm »
Hi Karel

Did you manage to figure this out?

I have the same problem, when starting anything on the core (video/audio) it takes between 9 & 13 seconds to start.

Regards
LMCECAPE

l3mce

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1081
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #2 on: October 17, 2010, 05:41:02 pm »
I believe this is an NVIDIA alpha layering issue. Are you:
On the 8300 Chipset?
Running UI2 alpha?
If you drop to tty2 and back to 7, does it play immediately?
I never quit... I just ping out.

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #3 on: October 17, 2010, 11:22:26 pm »
HI,

I've got an 8600 chipset. If i set the hardware acceleration to opengl it has the delay on the core.

Karel

LmceCape

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #4 on: October 18, 2010, 01:00:02 pm »
Thanks

That was the problem.

UI1 works.

Any workaround?

Lmcecape

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2011, 11:58:23 pm »
i am also getting this strange behaviour.

i did shutdown my core/hybrid for maintenance a few days back, today i started it up again.
My MD seems to be ok, when i press play it instantly starts to play.
But on my core/hybrid when i hit play i have to wait for about 30-45 sec before the movie starts.

the only thing that has changed is my modem on the external side (i have no outside access configured)

i tried to set hardware acceleration for my core (GT220) to vpdau but that didn't do it.

does anybody have a idea where to start looking.

For some reason it used to work perfectly, but now it has this delay?

thanks in advance,
br,
Raymond
When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #6 on: November 30, 2011, 08:22:10 am »
Hi Raymond,

One of the things that I noticed that if the core doesnt have internet access, then the movies have a delayed start.
I have limited bandwith, so my core is seldomly connected to the internet.

Karel

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #7 on: November 30, 2011, 08:41:42 am »
Karel, thanks for the reply,

My core has a internet-connection because i am surfing through my core writing this ;)
but maybe i have to open a port on the new modem, could that be it and if so which ports do have to be open?
thanks again

br,
Raymond
When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #8 on: November 30, 2011, 09:06:11 am »
One other thing that i noticed:

http://imagebin.org/186300

Thats a portion of my Advanced | Network settings screen.
I asume that the external network card section also has to be filled in.
Although it isn't filled in, i can surf on the internet.
I have no idea on howto get the external network card section filled in.

br,
Raymond

When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #9 on: November 30, 2011, 09:44:50 am »
Because your core is getting an DHCP ip from your router? If you assign a static ip to your external nic you can fill it in there.

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #10 on: November 30, 2011, 10:11:31 am »
Karel thanks,

Thats where i get confused, my new modem/router has DHCP enabled so the external network section should get filled in automatically.  ???
Look at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Internal_and_External_networks_swapped/not_working under the section "What to do", in there they state that if dhcp is enabled the external network section should get filled in automatically.

A static ip adress is also a thing to try, thanks.
Will swapping the NIC's help too?
Also i must go over the settings in me new modem/router (once again :) ) maybe i missed something.

Now i have a direction to search in, thanks,

If you have any more suggestions, please let me know.

br,
Raymond
« Last Edit: November 30, 2011, 10:17:31 am by RayBe »
When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2011, 10:27:50 am »
ok now i see i got a EXTERNAL_IP under section  Advanced | Network settings -> Current settings
but i don't know if its the right one?
_but_ the DNS1 is still from the old modem/router, the DNS2 is from the new, how can i delete the old DNS1 ip-adress?

br,
Raymond
When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #12 on: November 30, 2011, 11:14:51 am »
I use Static ip for my external nic and disabled dhcp on my router.
Then I know exactly what ip's im using.

Just a thought.....

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #13 on: November 30, 2011, 11:43:20 am »
That is a good idea :) will try it too.
What i also wanna try is to put back my old modem/router to see if that realy is the problem.
Will post the results here.
Thanks so far.
Br,
Raymond
When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 271
    • View Profile
Re: Core/Hybrid delayed movie start
« Reply #14 on: December 01, 2011, 12:52:30 pm »
ok, i swapped my new modem for my old one, voila, problem solved!

_but_ i have to use my new modem, because it has build in voip (hardcoded secret password, so i can't use lmce :(  >:( really,... don't ask)
so i have to figure out what exactly it is thats different between the 2 modems thats causing this problem.

if anybody has any ideas, please share, as i am grasping in the dark on this one.

if i find anything new i will post.

br,
Raymond
When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.