Author Topic: Pegatron Cape 7  (Read 3040 times)

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Pegatron Cape 7
« on: August 17, 2010, 06:22:26 pm »
Hi folks,
I've been hunting around for a beefy MD that can handle full HD.
Has anyone experience with this? http://www.custompc.ie/cape-7-nvidia-ion-atom-230-2gb-160gb-white-24645-p.asp
I can't seem to find details on power consumption or its NIC although I have only been looking on and off this afternoon.

Do people think it will fit the bill, looks like it will, and work with lmce?

thx,
-Coley.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4458
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Pegatron Cape 7
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2010, 09:24:06 pm »
Hi folks,
I've been hunting around for a beefy MD that can handle full HD.
Has anyone experience with this? http://www.custompc.ie/cape-7-nvidia-ion-atom-230-2gb-160gb-white-24645-p.asp
I can't seem to find details on power consumption or its NIC although I have only been looking on and off this afternoon.

Do people think it will fit the bill, looks like it will, and work with LinuxMCE?

thx,
-Coley.

We sell a Media Manager that is based on an OEM version of that product. The OEM version has no internal hard drive and a somewhat different motherboard that amongst other differences uses the atl1 NIC driver. Our units run at about 20-22W at peak and after seevral hours watching TV/DVD's you can hear a little fan noise but its pretty unobtrusive.

We like these units...but bare in mind they are not identical hardware.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: Pegatron Cape 7
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2010, 10:32:52 pm »
thanks Andrew.
am assuming they are fine with fullHD material, and UI2 ok.

thx,
-Coley.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4458
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Pegatron Cape 7
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2010, 10:41:54 pm »
thanks Andrew.
am assuming they are fine with fullHD material, and UI2 ok.

thx,
-Coley.

They are Ion units so they have the same overall performance as others - 1080p with vdpau is fine. UI2 is fine.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

bp5

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Other machines that work well as MDs? (was Re: Pegatron Cape 7)
« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2010, 12:13:47 pm »
If you buy this and it works could you update the wiki (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Category:Media_Directors) please?

If anyone else knows of currently available thin-ish client box that works well as an MD could you post it here?  Most of the entries in the wiki in the above category and in the MD Newbie categories are two years old and now seem hard to find.

cheers,
Blaine

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1393
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: Other machines that work well as MDs? (was Re: Pegatron Cape 7)
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2010, 03:47:53 pm »
If you buy this and it works could you update the wiki (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Category:Media_Directors) please?

If anyone else knows of currently available thin-ish client box that works well as an MD could you post it here?  Most of the entries in the wiki in the above category and in the MD Newbie categories are two years old and now seem hard to find.

cheers,
Blaine

As Andrew said, Ion (i.e. nVidia) miniITX boards shouldn't cause you any problems. There are plenty of these about, and thin cases designed specifically for miniITX boards are also available. Alternatively you could make/fabricate a case (if you're a cheapskate like me).
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: Pegatron Cape 7
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2010, 04:19:31 pm »
Ordered one this am so will let you know how it goes.

-Coley.

chrisbirkinshaw

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 431
    • View Profile
Re: Pegatron Cape 7
« Reply #7 on: October 26, 2010, 02:34:11 pm »
A few words of warning... I bought one of these and the HDMI is via a DVI to HDMI adapter and there is no SPDIF connector.... so no digital sound output options!

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: Pegatron Cape 7
« Reply #8 on: October 26, 2010, 04:57:22 pm »
I thought the nvidia DVI-HDMI adapter included in the box routes the sound over HDMI?
I haven't tried audio over hdmi yet so cannot comment from experience, but I recall reading something to that effect.

-Coley.

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: Pegatron Cape 7
« Reply #9 on: March 28, 2011, 05:46:37 pm »
Just to update here
The DVI-HDMI adapter supplied in the box does indeed feed sound over hdmi.
The digital audio side of the onboard hd audio chip doesn't seem to be recognised by alsa in 0810, will need to figure out why.
I have verified though that the hardware is good and that it is recognised in > kubuntu 10.04 and digital audio does work.

-Coley.

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: Pegatron Cape 7
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2011, 12:13:30 pm »
and finally got back to this last night, audio over hdmi operational :)
I thought it may have been to do with incorrect version of alsa-modules but they turned out not to be installed in the first place, although alsamixer was.
An apt-get install alsa-modules-`uname -r` later and viola audio lifted me out of it!!

-Coley.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3013
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: Pegatron Cape 7
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2011, 01:42:04 pm »
We have removed the auto install of the latest version of alsa due to some cards working better with the original ones.

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: Pegatron Cape 7
« Reply #12 on: March 31, 2011, 03:41:40 pm »
Ok, thx explains that away - don't need to figure out why they weren't installed :)

-Coley.