Author Topic: WinCE 5" as orbiter?  (Read 1147 times)

bp5

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
WinCE 5" as orbiter?
« on: August 11, 2010, 04:21:57 pm »
Does anyone know if something like this WinCE 5" touchscreen:
http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=286831&source=1

is likely to work well as an orbiter using the lmce WinCE installer?

thanks,
Blaine

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: WinCE 5" as orbiter?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2010, 06:05:27 pm »
I don't know for definite but I would say it should based on the fact it works on the XDA IIi (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/XDAIIi) which has similar spec. but uses an older operating system.  The WinCE 5.0 version should work.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4459
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: WinCE 5" as orbiter?
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2010, 06:16:00 pm »
Does anyone know if something like this WinCE 5" touchscreen:
http://www.maplin.co.uk/Module.aspx?ModuleNo=286831&source=1

is likely to work well as an orbiter using the LinuxMCE WinCE installer?

thanks,
Blaine

The screen resolution looks very low to me on this device and it has a pretty meagre amount of memory too (but at £49.95 why complain?)...based on Thom's feedback I would be doubtful that this will run the WinCE Orbiter.

However with the exception of the screen resolution it should be possible to build the Touch Orbiter for it - see here http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Touch_Orbiter_-_for_the_CUWIN3500_in-wall_Touch_Panel and give it a go.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

golgoj4

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1083
  • hrumpf!
    • View Profile
    • Mah Website
Re: WinCE 5" as orbiter?
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2010, 07:06:01 pm »
I have an hp Ipaq that runs on windows ce 5. Still using it with the windows CE orbiter even though its specs are worse. Just thought I would throw in my 2cents
Official Releases
http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiter-release.apk latest Qt4 android apk  http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiterQt5-release.apk for the Qt5 Android version http://deb.linuxmce.org/QOrbiter-release.dmg for the MacOSX version

Unstable Nightlies
http://langstonball.com/downloads

bp5

  • Regular Poster
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Re: WinCE 5" as orbiter?
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2010, 01:49:08 pm »
I just realized that I had an old O2 XDA lying in a drawer running Windows Mobile 5. My core is 0810 so the orbiter download links don't work and only after much searching have did I find a link to someone hosting a download for Windows orbiter as well as a Windows CE orbiter here:
 http://langstonball.com/linuxmce 

(since the 0810 lmce doesn't have working download links, could someone edit the wiki to point to some official links to the Windows MSI and Windows CE CAB files please?  I also found this one which seems to be just the Windows version: http://www.kbs.org.nz/downloads.html).

Having installed the Orbiter_CeNet4_XScale.CAB from langstonball.com on my XDA running Windows Mobile 5, when I run the Pluto Orbiter I can see a screen showing a log window of the XDA trying to conenct to the router and I can see an empty slot for device ID and IP address, but nothing else happens and after a short time the XDA says it is out of storage memory (there's loads of space on the internal memory and the 2GB card I installed it on).

Am I using the wrong installer or is there something more to getting an orbiter working on a WinCE device?  I have an old tablet PC that I could re-purpose if this was more likely to yield a result, but not sure which OS to put on it, Windows XP Tablet edition or some version of Windows CE?

Any suggestions?

Blaine

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1393
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: WinCE 5" as orbiter?
« Reply #5 on: August 13, 2010, 02:22:29 pm »
Regarding the empty slots you mentioned, I think you need to fill that information in! I believe that the device ID is the number associated with the orbiter in question, in this case your XDA (you can find this out from the orbiters page in web admin, assuming the orbiter has been added!). For IP, I think it's the IP address for the core, so 192.168.80.1 if using the defaults.

Feel free to edit the wiki yourself with any information that you feel may be relevant/useful to others.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: WinCE 5" as orbiter?
« Reply #6 on: August 13, 2010, 04:37:05 pm »
I am sure the device and IP address should be added automatically, mine was

bp5:

Make sure that a device has been added on the orbiter page of Webadmin under 'standard roaming orbiters' using device template 'Windows CE PDA (Vert Display)' and that the core isn't waiting for you to reload router.

On my orbiter page the mac address is filled in but the ip address is not.

You are trying to connect via WIFI and not via bluetooth aren't you?

give us some more info as well:
1.  is your XDA is connected to the network?
2.  is it connected to the internal network?
3.  is the core is setup to be in charge of DHCP (standard install)?