Author Topic: When calling LinuxMCE The loading stops after login  (Read 2979 times)

Darksider

• View Profile
When calling LinuxMCE The loading stops after login
« on: August 06, 2010, 03:56:26 pm »
First of all let me advise you that I'm a complete newbie with a very small knowledge of Linux itself having only dabled in Ubuntu.

My problem is that when I'm in Kubuntu and click on the LinuxMCE icon I go to a black screen where I'm requested for login details.

When I've entered these I then get the message that I'm into LinuxMCE and get the message:

robert@mediacentre:~$

and then it stalls.

Can anyone advise as to how I should proceed from here

Thanks in aadvance
Always try to learn something new each day

purps

• NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: When calling LinuxMCE The loading stops after login
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2010, 04:49:52 pm »
Is this an installation issue? If so, it's probably in the wrong category, but no matter.

So you've booted from the DVD, selected the bottom option, installed KDE, updated, and then you've clicked on the LinuxMCE icon on the desktop? Have I got that right, and have you done all of these things I've just mentioned?

The black screen you're talking about, do you mean a terminal window?

What I suspect is happening is that you don't have permission to run the installation (I believe the icon on the desktop is essentially a script for carrying out the installation) - try typing "sudo su -" into a terminal before clicking the LinuxMCE icon. And make sure that you follow the wiki instructions very carefully http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Installing_0810
« Last Edit: August 06, 2010, 05:04:42 pm by purps »
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

Darksider

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2010, 06:14:32 pm »
Thanks for your reply but I have still got a problem.