Author Topic: anybody using 1-Wire devices?  (Read 1042 times)

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
anybody using 1-Wire devices?
« on: July 28, 2010, 02:07:53 pm »
Are there some of you who are using any kind of 1-Wire [1] devices?

On IRC chat I saw that 1-Wire used to be supported but it isn't any more:
"possy: valentt, there used to be a 1-wire device template. Unfortunately it got lost somehow. Maybe totallymaxed / Uplink_ still have that device template in their sqlCVS"

So does anybody still have 1-Wire device template?

Do you use 1-Wire devices? Which one?

I added new WIKI pages for 1-Wire, feel free to expand them:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/1-Wire
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Category:1-Wire
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/TAI8515_1-Wire_Wind_kit
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: anybody using 1-Wire devices?
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2010, 12:06:47 am »
What devices do you use? Are you satisfied with LinuxMCE support?
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

trentend

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 117
    • View Profile
Re: anybody using 1-Wire devices?
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2010, 01:30:21 am »
I have some 1-wire devices (though not yet connected - although I have a weatherstation mounted on my roof, and some pressure/temperature/brightness sensors).  It is my intention to wire them to a NSLU2 to record data in a database on a connected usb stick, and then to query the database when I need information.

A long term project - i.e. don't expect me to actually do it any time soon.

lemming86_au

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 85
    • View Profile
    • Josh Hagger
Re: anybody using 1-Wire devices?
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2010, 03:17:49 am »
I currently have several 1 wire temperature sensors connected to an arduino.
Currently it uploads the data to pachube.com, but I would be interested to know if someone gets it working with LMCE, maybe LMCE could use some of the pachube services.

pw_ktp

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: anybody using 1-Wire devices?
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2010, 03:29:06 pm »
Are there some of you who are using any kind of 1-Wire [1] devices?

On IRC chat I saw that 1-Wire used to be supported but it isn't any more:
"possy: valentt, there used to be a 1-wire device template. Unfortunately it got lost somehow. Maybe totallymaxed / Uplink_ still have that device template in their sqlCVS"

So does anybody still have 1-Wire device template?

Do you use 1-Wire devices? Which one?

I added new WIKI pages for 1-Wire, feel free to expand them:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/1-Wire
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Category:1-Wire
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/TAI8515_1-Wire_Wind_kit

Yup - I monitor energy / power using 1-Wire and have set up around 30 temperature sensors using an EDS 1-Wire Hub and the amazingly useful One Wire File System (OWFS).

1-Wire Rocks!

Would be interesting to have energy monitoring integrated into LinuxMCE using 1-wire methinks.

I'm waiting for a 1-wire solar sensor- so would like to somehow be able to control the light brightness this way as well. At the moment my 1-Wire server is separate from the LinuxMCE system - if I could tap into LinuxMCE using perl (ala MH) my life would be complete. - I cant get derailed-rhouse to work for ruby

by the way how else can control devices from a scripts -please can someone point me in the right direction
« Last Edit: August 16, 2010, 03:33:37 pm by pw_ktp »