Author Topic: Logitech MX Air  (Read 2422 times)

LmceCape

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Logitech MX Air
« on: July 23, 2010, 09:28:01 pm »
Hi there

I bought a Logitech MX Air mouse a few days ago. LMCE 810 detects and installs it but the Back button "F7" does not work. I have tested with xev and its the correct button but nothing happens when you press it.

Any ideas??

Lmcecape

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 443
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2010, 11:03:14 pm »
Hi,

I use the MX Air often, and have not seen this problem.
The back button should take you to the main menu whenever you are in a different screen.

What mouse button does xev say that your back button is?

best regards,
sambuca

LmceCape

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2010, 11:08:14 am »
Hi

In xev the back button shows as "Button 8", which as far as I can see is correct. I have tried this on different MDs' on different installations of LMCE 810.


Regards
LMCECape

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 443
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #3 on: July 26, 2010, 11:42:30 am »
Button 8 should be correct, yes.
You also need to be running at least update 2010-03-14 22853 , as this contains an update to orbiter that enables the mapping of mouse buttons.

br,
sambuca

LmceCape

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #4 on: July 26, 2010, 01:34:07 pm »
I am running snapshot install "LinuxMCE-8.10-23154-i386" with all the latest updates applied.


LMCECape

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #5 on: July 26, 2010, 02:25:45 pm »
Hi Sambuca,

The Logitech MX Air mouse, is it fully working?
The motion sense? Volume? Skip forward and Backward in Movies?
I'm looking for a Compatible remote control for my Core/Hybrid.
This looks like a very good option for me.

Thanx in Advance

Karel

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 443
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2010, 08:59:30 pm »
LmceCape: Sorry, I don't know what else to suggest, it works flawless for me...

DragonK: It is working fully, yes. The functions/buttons are mapped as described in the wiki article. And the motion sense also works. The buttons could be mapped in another way also, but I felt the current way follows the button labels pretty good.

best regards,
sambuca

LmceCape

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #7 on: July 27, 2010, 07:32:40 am »
Thanks anyway, will keep checking.

The back button is the only problem, all the other buttons and the motion sense work perfectly.

Regards
LMCECape

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #8 on: July 27, 2010, 07:56:44 am »
Im off to go get my MX Air mouse now....... Cant wait.....I've searching for weeks in the forums for a compatible "Remote" with motion sense. Now I got confirmation.

Thnx Sambuca...

Will keep you guys posted.

LmceCape

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #9 on: July 29, 2010, 04:09:19 pm »
Just an update on my problem, I tried remapping F7 to buttons 4 and 5 but with the same result. It seems that it only know buttons 1and 3.

As far as the F6 and F8 buttons are concerned, they are mapped to events 160 and 162 and not to buttons.

Regards
LMCECape

LmceCape

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #10 on: August 12, 2010, 08:22:03 am »
Hi Sambuca

My apologies, I reinstalled with the snapshot Dated 2 August and all the buttons work perfectly.

I did however find a fantastic little Air Keyboard by Cideko http://www.cideko.com/pro_con.php?id=3. It’s cheap and works almost perfectly. There are no Function buttons but the multimedia buttons all work. The only thing missing once again my personal nightmare, the F7 function. It has a few extra buttons (www, mail, pc, magnify, calc windows key) which are events 178, 236, 26, 41, 161 and 115.

I created a new template following the "Creating a Device Template for a Remote that uses the kernel input subsystem" wiki and the MX Air Template and mapped the keys codes accordingly.

But it doesn't work, is there anything else I need to do it check?

Regards
LMCECape

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #11 on: August 12, 2010, 05:49:21 pm »
LmceCape,

That looks excellent where did you buy it?

Thanks

LmceCape

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #12 on: August 12, 2010, 06:22:56 pm »
I'm in South Africa, so I don't know if it will help but its from Pinnacle.


But the big issue is the F7 function, its useless without it.

Regards
LmceCape

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #13 on: August 12, 2010, 06:49:31 pm »
take a look at this post (if you haven't already)

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=10464.msg72021#msg72021

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: Logitech MX Air
« Reply #14 on: August 14, 2010, 08:32:58 pm »
HI LmceCAPE,

What did the Keyboard cost you?