Author Topic: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?  (Read 26330 times)

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1381
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #135 on: October 12, 2010, 04:33:28 pm »
Changed my AV device template (Denon amp ruby codes) to increment 4x with a 0.2s sleep in between each step. This means my amp now increases/decreases volume by 2db per single click rather than 0.5db per click.

I can recommend this change for users with similar problems with repeated key presses.
Barney

You have edited the template for your amp to achieve this right? How do I go about changing this for the web orbiter itself, so that it works for all MDs (I don't have any amps)? Am I supposed to be looking in /var/www/lmce-admin/weborbiter?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

phenigma

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 945
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #136 on: October 12, 2010, 10:00:34 pm »
You have edited the template for your amp to achieve this right? How do I go about changing this for the web orbiter itself, so that it works for all MDs (I don't have any amps)? Am I supposed to be looking in /var/www/LinuxMCE-admin/weborbiter?

This can only be changed in DeviceTemplates for individual AV devices.  There is no possible change to weborbiter to implement this.  Once implemented in the DeviceTemplate it does not matter what orbiter you use they will all function the same... for that device.  I don't know if there is a way to implement this functionality if you are not using an external AV device (like an amp), but orbiter would still not be the correct location to do it.

J.

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1381
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #137 on: October 12, 2010, 10:46:56 pm »
I concur. I have just been poking around in /var/www/LinuxMCE-admin/weborbiter, and I didn't see any obvious way of doing it - anybody have any suggestions?

I did get my login details into login.html though, something I'd been meaning to try out!  :) Wiki updated.
« Last Edit: October 12, 2010, 11:22:11 pm by purps »
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #138 on: October 13, 2010, 12:06:11 am »
hmm,

Guys, if you actually pay attention, you'll see that media directors which do not have dedicated AV device templates have their volume commands redirected to the App Server, which changes the mixer values. If you want to alter this behaviour, modify the App Server code.

-Thom

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1381
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #139 on: October 13, 2010, 10:57:31 am »
Give me a break, I am trying.

If somebody with manners could possibly tell me where I can find the App Server code, I would very much appreciate it. In fact, if you'll excuse the rookie question, is there a way I can search in the terminal for "App Server" or whatever so that I can find it myself?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #140 on: October 13, 2010, 02:08:36 pm »
the app server is in src/App_Server of the SVN tree. You'll need to install subversion to check out the code.

-Thom

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1381
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #141 on: October 13, 2010, 09:25:48 pm »
Thanks for the reply.

Right, I have installed subversion on my core, but I don't understand how to use it, would you mind pointing me in the right direction please?

Also I couldn't find App_Server, /src does not exist on the core. I also went to look in /pluto/trunk/src/ (having seen something on the wiki about it), but this doesn't exist either, so I assume I'm going about this the wrong way!

1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #142 on: October 13, 2010, 09:51:35 pm »
Purps,

Create a folder called source.
Mine is  /home/karel/source
cd into it then run
 svn co http://svn.linuxmce.org/svn/branches/LinuxMCE-0810/src/

This will download it.

Karel
« Last Edit: October 13, 2010, 09:53:49 pm by DragonK »

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1381
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #143 on: October 14, 2010, 05:50:08 pm »
OK, that makes sense.

So what am I downloading exactly? An up-to-date snapshot as it were? How does that relate to my system, i.e. how are the changes I make going to "go into" my installation of LMCE?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #144 on: October 14, 2010, 05:59:08 pm »
You're downloading the raw source code, that we develop on.

-Thom

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1381
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #145 on: October 15, 2010, 05:30:14 pm »
OK, I found this part in App_Server.cpp...
Code: [Select]
//<-dceag-c89-b->

/** @brief COMMAND: #89 - Vol Up */
/** Increase the volume 1% */
/** @param #72 Repeat Command */
/** If specified, repeat the volume up this many times */

void App_Server::CMD_Vol_Up(int iRepeat_Command,string &sCMD_Result,Message *pMessage)
//<-dceag-c89-e->

Could I just repeat the "//<-dceag-c89-e->" part a few times to achieve the desired effect? So it would look like...

Code: [Select]
//<-dceag-c89-b->

/** @brief COMMAND: #89 - Vol Up */
/** Increase the volume 1% */
/** @param #72 Repeat Command */
/** If specified, repeat the volume up this many times */

void App_Server::CMD_Vol_Up(int iRepeat_Command,string &sCMD_Result,Message *pMessage)
//<-dceag-c89-e->
//<-dceag-c89-e->
//<-dceag-c89-e->
//<-dceag-c89-e->

I take it any changes made would be global, and not specific to the web orbiter?
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5497
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #146 on: October 15, 2010, 06:11:41 pm »
Nope, because that is a comment.

-Thom

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1381
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #147 on: October 15, 2010, 08:23:36 pm »
Poo. OK I'll have another look. This is quite off topic anyway (sorry Andrew).
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

rchamp

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #148 on: November 24, 2010, 03:18:13 am »
I'm using the web orbiter with the android touch orbiter app and it works great on my HTC Hero.

(tested it on 2.1 firmware, and I just updated to 2.3) Works great! I am going to update the wiki soon.

I do need to adjust the font size though. the resolution looks very... meh, compared to my GF's HTC EVO, which looks AWESOME running on that.

Is there a way to boost the quality or adjust the font size? The resolution is perfect (fits the screen like a glove), but the fonts are not clear and very small.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4412
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #149 on: November 24, 2010, 09:12:44 pm »
Just a general comment... please try to keep this thread on-topic...read the subject line of this thread. If you need to discuss a topic that is not related or drift away from the topic too much please start a new thread and post a pointer if necessary here so that people can get to it easily from here.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk