Author Topic: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?  (Read 24732 times)

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #60 on: July 21, 2010, 04:00:41 pm »
hi Wombiroller,

use the n770 size as Andrew sugested ;) It is 800x480

If you find a good skin, please speak up which one. I have now tested a lot of them,  but green background and black text as most of them have in video/audio section is not good :(

Viking

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #61 on: July 21, 2010, 04:10:53 pm »
Changed the wiki

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #62 on: July 21, 2010, 07:19:49 pm »
You must do a 'Full Regen' of the Web Orbiter as described in the Wiki page - a reload router alone is not enough. It was the regen on re-boot that corrected the problem...not the reboot itself.
As I wrote "I did several full regens of the orbiter." - so that did not help - I have no idea why not. But what the heck ;) now it works :)


Aah, and the N770 size helped a lot - now the screen is filled and things look better. Still the scroll buttons in video/audio list is a little small - that is not so nice. I will try and find a good skin.

What skin is used on the N770/800/810 ?

And if I should find time (in a couple of moths) I might have a look at how complicated it is to build a new skin. or rearrange one of the existing.
Is it possible to have a bigger font that is better readable in the video/audio list ? How complicated is it to change that ?

Viking


Any visual layout changes need to be made in HAS Designer or in the bitmaps (png's etc) that make up the UI - Orbiter's (including Web Orbiter) have not say in what the UI lookslike or how it might display on a screen at a given resolution. The N770/800/810/900 all work well with Basic and that is what most people use as far as i know.

HA Designer is not a particularly friendly application and it does require that you understand a lot of the underlying system to achieve any results in it. Having said that - once you have familiarised yourself with HAD then its like anything else...it seems less threatening than it did!

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #63 on: July 22, 2010, 01:53:02 pm »
On Chrome - I noticed the "Exit" button, below the Orbiter, doesn't work.
On further digging the javascript self.close() method behind the button seems to be broken in chrome.
I'm on stock chrome so don't know if the dev branch has this fixed.

will I pop this info on the wiki too?
-Coley.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #64 on: July 22, 2010, 03:34:39 pm »
On Chrome - I noticed the "Exit" button, below the Orbiter, doesn't work.
On further digging the javascript self.close() method behind the button seems to be broken in chrome.
I'm on stock chrome so don't know if the dev branch has this fixed.

will I pop this info on the wiki too?
-Coley.

Sure the Wiki is there so that everyone can contribute if they feel they can... so go ahead. If you find a work around in Javascript that fixes the problem in Chrome lets hear about that too :-)

As an aside I would love to see forum members dig into the Jaavscript and extend & improve it...the cool thing is you can apply your expertise in Javascript to Web Orbiter without needing to study all the source code for for the whole systeme for '6 months' first ;-)

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

coley

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 465
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #65 on: July 22, 2010, 07:38:42 pm »
On Chrome - I noticed the "Exit" button, below the Orbiter, doesn't work.
On further digging the javascript self.close() method behind the button seems to be broken in chrome.
I'm on stock chrome so don't know if the dev branch has this fixed.

will I pop this info on the wiki too?
-Coley.

Sure the Wiki is there so that everyone can contribute if they feel they can... so go ahead. If you find a work around in Javascript that fixes the problem in Chrome lets hear about that too :-)

As an aside I would love to see forum members dig into the Jaavscript and extend & improve it...the cool thing is you can apply your expertise in Javascript to Web Orbiter without needing to study all the source code for for the whole systeme for '6 months' first ;-)

All the best


Andrew
I had tried a few of the so-called workarounds google threw up before I posted here, but had no success.
-Coley.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #66 on: July 22, 2010, 11:14:17 pm »
On Chrome - I noticed the "Exit" button, below the Orbiter, doesn't work.
On further digging the javascript self.close() method behind the button seems to be broken in chrome.
I'm on stock chrome so don't know if the dev branch has this fixed.

will I pop this info on the wiki too?
-Coley.

Sure the Wiki is there so that everyone can contribute if they feel they can... so go ahead. If you find a work around in Javascript that fixes the problem in Chrome lets hear about that too :-)

As an aside I would love to see forum members dig into the Jaavscript and extend & improve it...the cool thing is you can apply your expertise in Javascript to Web Orbiter without needing to study all the source code for for the whole systeme for '6 months' first ;-)

All the best


Andrew
I had tried a few of the so-called workarounds google threw up before I posted here, but had no success.
-Coley.

Well thanks for trying them...keep digging you might still find a work around ;-)

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

purps

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1371
  • If it ain't broke, tweak it
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #67 on: July 23, 2010, 11:14:27 am »
Hi Andrew,

Am running the Web Orbiter 2.0 on a Nokia 5800 Xpress Music, and it's great, a big thank you to you and your team.

Have tried it with both the "S60 Browser" (the default browser) and "Opera Mobile"; both work well, and whilst I think Opera is the only choice for general web browsing on this phone, I shall probably be using the S60 Browser for the Web Orbiter, for the following reasons...

1. Opera leaves big empty white spaces around the main orbiter screen, regardless of resolutions and zoom level.
2. "Full screen" on the S60 browser is more "full screen" than "full screen" on Opera..... if that makes any sense at all! :)
3. Using the S60 browser means that you can place a bookmark to the Web Orbiter in the shortcuts panel on the main screen. Haven't worked out how to change the icon yet, but that's no biggie.

A few other questions/comments if you don't mind...

a) Resolution - My mobile uses the rather random resolution of 640x360, and using the standard TV resolution (640x480?) I've always had to scroll down a little bit to see everything. I've just tried for the first time the iPhone resolution (can't remember the resolution, but it was smaller than 640x360) and it's better in that everything is on the screen, but obviously all the buttons are a bit smaller. Are there any others that I could try that might better? Or is there a way to manually set 640x360?

b) Login - With the old web orbiter, I could login etc, bookmark the page, and then when I returned to that bookmark I wouldn't have to type in my login information again. I have noticed with the Web Orbiter 2.0 that I have to type this information in each time - is there any way round this? Again, not really a huge issue, but one I thought I would mention.

Will update the wiki in due course.

Thanks again,
Matt.
1004 RC :: looking good :: upgraded 01/04/2013
my setup :: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Purps

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #68 on: July 23, 2010, 11:39:59 am »
Hi Andrew,

Am running the Web Orbiter 2.0 on a Nokia 5800 Xpress Music, and it's great, a big thank you to you and your team.

Have tried it with both the "S60 Browser" (the default browser) and "Opera Mobile"; both work well, and whilst I think Opera is the only choice for general web browsing on this phone, I shall probably be using the S60 Browser for the Web Orbiter, for the following reasons...

1. Opera leaves big empty white spaces around the main orbiter screen, regardless of resolutions and zoom level.
2. "Full screen" on the S60 browser is more "full screen" than "full screen" on Opera..... if that makes any sense at all! :)
3. Using the S60 browser means that you can place a bookmark to the Web Orbiter in the shortcuts panel on the main screen. Haven't worked out how to change the icon yet, but that's no biggie.

A few other questions/comments if you don't mind...

a) Resolution - My mobile uses the rather random resolution of 640x360, and using the standard TV resolution (640x480?) I've always had to scroll down a little bit to see everything. I've just tried for the first time the iPhone resolution (can't remember the resolution, but it was smaller than 640x360) and it's better in that everything is on the screen, but obviously all the buttons are a bit smaller. Are there any others that I could try that might better? Or is there a way to manually set 640x360?
The process of adding resolutions is not straighforward as they need to be added to the DB and then pushed out in an update. Make a request in the Dev channel for the resolution you need.
Quote

b) Login - With the old web orbiter, I could login etc, bookmark the page, and then when I returned to that bookmark I wouldn't have to type in my login information again. I have noticed with the Web Orbiter 2.0 that I have to type this information in each time - is there any way round this? Again, not really a huge issue, but one I thought I would mention.
Why dont you look at the php/javascript source and come up with a change to fix that - after all its just plain old php/javascript... not LinuxMCE knowledge required ;-)
Quote
Will update the wiki in due course.

Thanks again,
Matt.

Your welcome!

Andrew
« Last Edit: July 24, 2010, 04:08:37 pm by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 2848
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #69 on: July 23, 2010, 05:10:59 pm »
If you don't want to wait for an official update to all the sizes needed for the gazillion phones out there, look at http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Custom_Display_Resolutions#Orbiter_size. It details what needs to be done.

huh

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #70 on: July 28, 2010, 01:30:44 am »

Hmmm...well something is not right in you installation. Can you take a quick picture of you iPhone's screen and post it here for me so i can see its size/layout of your Orbiter?

All the best

Andrew

Sorry for the delay- attached is a screenshot from my iphone.  This is what is displayed when I load the page.  As you can see, none of the buttons below the telephone line are displayed.

I reinstalled using the latest snapshot at the time (July 17, 2010, #23165) and have all of the latest packages including the sqlCVS updates.  I have reloaded and regenerated the orbiters and reboot the core.

Any suggestions?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #71 on: July 28, 2010, 01:50:03 am »

Hmmm...well something is not right in you installation. Can you take a quick picture of you iPhone's screen and post it here for me so i can see its size/layout of your Orbiter?

All the best

Andrew

Sorry for the delay- attached is a screenshot from my iphone.  This is what is displayed when I load the page.  As you can see, none of the buttons below the telephone line are displayed.

I reinstalled using the latest snapshot at the time (July 17, 2010, #23165) and have all of the latest packages including the sqlCVS updates.  I have reloaded and regenerated the orbiters and reboot the core.

Any suggestions?

Well the main problem is that you are not running Web Orbiter full screen on your iPhone. Do the following;

- Launch Safari
- Login to Web Orbiter etc.
- Now with your Home screen on screen use Safari's '+' tool at the bottom of the screen and then select 'Add to home screen' from the pop-up.
- Now give your new Home screen Icon a name... 'Orbiter' maybe and then touch 'Add' and locate the Icon where you like it on your Home screen.

Now use your new Home Screen Icon to launch the Web Orbiter 2.0 and this time when your Main menu appears you should see that the Orbiter is running full screen and is not displaying the URL entry box or any of the other UI elements that are normally displayed above the Web page you are viewing.

Hopefully this will sort your problem out!

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

tekoholic

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #72 on: July 28, 2010, 06:12:30 am »
I have been moderately successful with WO2.0, running on the displays of 2 Android-based phones, one being the T-Mo G1 / HTC Dream (CM6 - Froyo), the other being the T-Mo Vibrant / (almost) Samsung Galaxy S (Rooted Stock 2.1).

Each work quite well via wifi, using default web browser, and I believe that my only troubles have been the result of the fact that my wrt310n (v1) router has recently begun to freak out.  I'll be replacing it in the next coupla' days, I hope.

The WO2 has hung up on me a time or two, and I've had to killall -9 the darn thing, but again, coulda' been the router's fault.

DragonK

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 429
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #73 on: July 31, 2010, 01:09:09 pm »
Code: [Select]
Andrew,,

I finally got around toupdate my box so that I can get the web orbiter 2 running.
Now I deleted and recreated the web orbiter.
Full Regen
Quick Reload and rebooted ( All of these several times )
But if I click on the a button, I get the Flying Penguin.

netstat -natp | grep 3461
dcerouter_1011060:/home/karel# netstat -natp | grep 3461
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:3461            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      25290/Proxy_Orbiter
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44456      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44515      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44451      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44518      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44487      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44505      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44510      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44496      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44465      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44523      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44478      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44473      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44469      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44459      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44501      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44482      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44492      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
dcerouter_1011060:/home/karel#

Any sugestions?



totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4351
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #74 on: July 31, 2010, 09:19:19 pm »
Code: [Select]
Andrew,,

I finally got around toupdate my box so that I can get the web orbiter 2 running.
Now I deleted and recreated the web orbiter.
Full Regen
Quick Reload and rebooted ( All of these several times )
But if I click on the a button, I get the Flying Penguin.

netstat -natp | grep 3461
dcerouter_1011060:/home/karel# netstat -natp | grep 3461
tcp        0      0 0.0.0.0:3461            0.0.0.0:*               LISTEN      25290/Proxy_Orbiter
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44456      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44515      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44451      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44518      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44487      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44505      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44510      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44496      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44465      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44523      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44478      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44473      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44469      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44459      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44501      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44482      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
tcp        0      0 192.168.80.1:44492      192.168.80.1:3461       TIME_WAIT   -
dcerouter_1011060:/home/karel#

Any sugestions?




Did you us the pkg ? It looks like you may not have the updated proxy_orbiter.

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom
@herron

Dianemo S Now Shipping on Ubuntu 12.04LTS
Build your system on the latest Ubuntu LTS OS Release!

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk