Author Topic: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?  (Read 28104 times)

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4513
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« on: July 09, 2010, 02:49:54 pm »
Hi all,

If your looking at Web Orbiter 2.0 on your system we'd love to hear what devices your using it with and what experiences you have with these devices. Please post here or even better add your experiences/new devices to the bottom of the Wiki page below;

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Web_Orbiter_2.0

We'd love to see the widest possible list of devices on the Wiki so please let us know what your using Web Orbiter 2.0 on!

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

fastie81

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
  • SSDD
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2010, 11:25:33 pm »
Hi Andrew

I am playing with this now but for some reason my page does not want to load.
I am have got my old one working and that looks ok. but on my iphone it is not happy..
for some reason it keeps loading. I can see on the top next to my wireless the loading circle keeps coming up.
from what I understand of you post it will only look for changes? Is this what it does?
I am not sure I got this setup correctly but I am sure you tell me if I am wrong..
Chris

davegravy

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 532
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2010, 02:42:04 am »
Very happy so far. One thing I am finding on my iPhone 3GS that occassionally certain sections of the page do not load (and are left black). Most often it is the "Play" button in the bottom left after selecting a movie or audio file. It seems to be completely sporadic.

Looking forward to the persistent login feature that chrisbirkinshaw volunteered to code. That would be the icing on the cake! 

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4513
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2010, 07:51:18 am »
Hi Andrew

I am playing with this now but for some reason my page does not want to load.
I am have got my old one working and that looks ok. but on my iphone it is not happy..
for some reason it keeps loading. I can see on the top next to my wireless the loading circle keeps coming up.
from what I understand of you post it will only look for changes? Is this what it does?
I am not sure I got this setup correctly but I am sure you tell me if I am wrong..
Chris


Check that each of your Web Orbiters has a different 'Listen Port' set in its Device Data. Then do a 'Full Regen' from Wizard-Orbiters (use the 'Full Regen' for the specific Orbiter your working on)...then a reload router.

See if that fixes things for you.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

gonesurfing

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2010, 10:11:36 am »
HI
i have just set it up to run on a eken m003 (iped which cost me just over $100) the os is android 1.6 and it seems to be working very well , it still however refreshes the page is there any way to slow the page refresh down ?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4513
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #5 on: July 10, 2010, 10:54:10 am »
HI
i have just set it up to run on a eken m003 (iped which cost me just over $100) the os is android 1.6 and it seems to be working very well , it still however refreshes the page is there any way to slow the page refresh down ?

If you have 5 sec refreshes then your not running Web Orbiter 2.0 I'm afraid. Make sure you have the latest updates for 810.

The only situations where the screen will update is if something needs to be displayed in the current Orbiter menu screen or if you click/touch on a menu button The following menu's will typically generate some updates - camera views (as the cameras refresh), Floor Plan views (if a device or piece of media is being controlled by someone else in the house), Watching DVD and the DVD on screen menu is being displayed or at any time when a system alert is momentarily displayed in the top left hand corner of the Orbiter window. In all other situations the Orbiter will not refresh the display at all

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

gonesurfing

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2010, 04:01:15 am »
hi
thanks Andrew for the tip,okay i have deleted the weborbiter then run apt-get update and apt-get upgrade reinstalled the weborbiter 2.0 as per the wikl and have it running on the eken m003 (iped) and its excellent
screen resolution is set at 480p
many thanks steve

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2010, 08:01:17 am »
Totallymaxed,

I tried it on my XDAIIi but the buttons don't work, like nothing is selectable. you tap on the screen with the stylus and nothing happens.  The exit button (grey one) works.

It would be good if it worked well on the XDAIIi as you could run SJphone (sip Phone client)in the background and switch between the two.  With the Win CE orbiter when the phone rings the orbiter closes and you have to re start it.

Gonesurfing,

does the M003 have a microphone or mic socket?  I would be interested to see if the sipdroid 'app' could be setup, a 'Generic SIP Phone' added to LMCE and the unit used as a phone as well as an orbiter

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4513
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #8 on: July 11, 2010, 09:23:30 am »
Totallymaxed,

I tried it on my XDAIIi but the buttons don't work, like nothing is selectable. you tap on the screen with the stylus and nothing happens.  The exit button (grey one) works.

It would be good if it worked well on the XDAIIi as you could run SJphone (sip Phone client)in the background and switch between the two.  With the Win CE orbiter when the phone rings the orbiter closes and you have to re start it.

Gonesurfing,

does the M003 have a microphone or mic socket?  I would be interested to see if the sipdroid 'app' could be setup, a 'Generic SIP Phone' added to LinuxMCE and the unit used as a phone as well as an orbiter

So the problem is only affecting the control buttons at the bottom left of the Orbiter screen?

With many WinCE devices we have found that the javascript browser support is weak - that may be the problem. What version of WinCE are you running?

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2010, 05:43:21 pm »
No, the buttons at the bottom, outside the orbiter - home, back refresh and exit - all work.  None of the orbiter buttons work - so I cannot select TV or Video or Audio etc.

Windows Mobile 2003 SE is the software version

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4513
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #10 on: July 11, 2010, 07:23:10 pm »
No, the buttons at the bottom, outside the orbiter - home, back refresh and exit - all work.  None of the orbiter buttons work - so I cannot select TV or Video or Audio etc.

Windows Mobile 2003 SE is the software version

Well its almost certainly lack of support for some of the Javascript features we need for Web Orbiter 2.0. We'll see what we can do to work around this with the browser based version. We also have a non browser based 'Un-Web Orbiter' app in development. This is being developed on a WinCE based in-wall panel so this might be a possible solution for you. Essentially in Web Orbiter 2.0 we are using the browser to host a Javascript app... the browser is really not being used for much at all. The WinCE app implements a socket interface to proxy_orbiter, displays the png screen images and manages the user interaction with the touch screen. So give me a few days to see what can be done.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2010, 02:14:01 pm »
Hi Andrew,
I have just done an update & upgrade to 810 and was previously using the web orbiter, do I need to delete that device and recreate it to be able to use web orbiter 2.0. Also how do I tell that I do have 2.0 as I followed the wiki instructions for the iphone and have done a full regen and reload and both web devices one being a laptop and the other a iphone 3GS still refresh every 5 sec's.

The orbiter on the iphone is a postage stamp on the screen even though I set the size as 320 x 480

Any help is much appreciated

Cheers
Bruce

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4513
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #12 on: July 13, 2010, 02:48:01 pm »
Hi Andrew,
I have just done an update & upgrade to 810 and was previously using the web orbiter, do I need to delete that device and recreate it to be able to use web orbiter 2.0. Also how do I tell that I do have 2.0 as I followed the wiki instructions for the iphone and have done a full regen and reload and both web devices one being a laptop and the other a iphone 3GS still refresh every 5 sec's.

The orbiter on the iphone is a postage stamp on the screen even though I set the size as 320 x 480

Any help is much appreciated

Cheers
Bruce

I would recommend deleting your existing Web Orbiters and re-create them following the instructions on the new Wiki page here; http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Web_Orbiter_2.0#Devices_that_have_been_tested_with_Web_orbiter_2.0

If your system has updated correctly then you should see the iPhone screen resolution in Wizard-Orbiters ie '480x320 (iPhone)'.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Get RaspSqueeze-CEC or Raspbmc-CEC Wifi enabled for Dianemo/LinuxMCE: http://wp.me/P4KgIc-5P

For Smart Home consulting advice;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #13 on: July 13, 2010, 03:00:52 pm »
Hi Andrew,
I will delete both devices again and do a apt-get update and apt-get upgrade and try re creating the devices again, I did originally use the wiki instructions that you mentioned and I have checked the /var/www/lmce-admin and I am only seeing weborbiter.php and a lot of other files not what is listed as per below in the wiki.

So I assume that because all the files that are listed in the wiki are not in the /var/www/lmce-admin/ folder then web orbiter 2.0 has not been installed yet. This is really strange as when I did the update it was over 300mb so I will try again unless you think I should try something else



Thanks and regards
Bruce


/var/www/lmce-admin/

You will see the following Web Orbiter related files (there are many other unrelated files in this directory too);

weborbiter_command.php
weborbiter_image.php
weborbiter.php

Look in;

/var/www/lmce-admin/weborbiter

You should see the following files;

IT.php         
jquery.min.js 
jquery.timers.js
login.html
waiting.gif
weborbiter.css
weborbiter.html
weborbiter.js
weborbiter_select.html

Beeker

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
Re: What devices are you running Web orbiter 2.0 on?
« Reply #14 on: July 13, 2010, 03:06:18 pm »
Hi Andrew,
Not sure if this is relevant I installed iOrbiter last week so I am not sure if this is causing an issue with web orbiter 2.0

Regards
Bruce