Author Topic: Problem with New Weborbiter  (Read 3290 times)

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #15 on: July 07, 2010, 04:48:55 pm »
Hi Andrew,

I assume the weborbiter picture you show above is a Dinamo edition ;)

Viking

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #16 on: July 07, 2010, 04:54:11 pm »
According to the documentation one can have several web orbiters you just have to change the port.
But what then, how can one access them ?

Lets say one for a PC, one for a phone, one for an ipad, ...
I assume thats the idea.

Viking

davegravy

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 517
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #17 on: July 07, 2010, 05:12:56 pm »
According to the documentation one can have several web orbiters you just have to change the port.
But what then, how can one access them ?

Lets say one for a PC, one for a phone, one for an ipad, ...
I assume thats the idea.

Viking

When you log in, you select which orbiter you want to access. Indeed, a bit of a pain to do each time, which is why chrisbirkinshaw has offered to make logins 'permanent' in this post: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg71469#msg71469

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #18 on: July 07, 2010, 05:33:08 pm »
OK, that explains it, thanks :)

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #19 on: July 07, 2010, 06:05:35 pm »
Will i followed the new Wiki, on the latest snapshot, it loaded perfect, thanks for the documentation

However if i click on any of may cams there is no picture at all

Are you using motion cams? ie are you using the motion package to do motion detection on your cams?

Andrew

USB webcams through motion wrapper
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #20 on: July 07, 2010, 09:43:39 pm »
Hi Andrew,

I assume the weborbiter picture you show above is a Dinamo edition ;)

Viking

Yep it is :-)

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

Viking

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 521
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #21 on: July 07, 2010, 09:46:56 pm »
Hi Andrew,

And I assume you are not releasing that for public use ;)

Viking

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #22 on: July 07, 2010, 09:50:41 pm »
According to the documentation one can have several web orbiters you just have to change the port.
But what then, how can one access them ?

Lets say one for a PC, one for a phone, one for an ipad, ...
I assume thats the idea.

Viking

Hi Viking,

Yes thats exactly the idea. When you access your Web orbiters from http://192.168.80.1/lmce-admin/weborbiter.php you will be asked to login as a valid User and then you will see displayed a dropdown listing all the Web orbiters you have added to your system... simply choose the one that you want to use and click (or touch) the 'Open' button. Once your using the Web Orbiter you can click the 'Logout' button that is displayed underneath the Orbiters screen area in your browser and this will log you out and display the 'Login' screen again.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #23 on: July 07, 2010, 09:53:06 pm »
Will i followed the new Wiki, on the latest snapshot, it loaded perfect, thanks for the documentation

However if i click on any of may cams there is no picture at all

Are you using motion cams? ie are you using the motion package to do motion detection on your cams?

Andrew

USB webcams through motion wrapper

Hmmm... thats interesting. Ok we dont have any USB motion cams here on our test systems (just IP Cams and they work fine). but one of the team here has a USB Cam on his home system...I'll ask him to see if he can reproduce the problem. Thanks.

Andrew
« Last Edit: July 07, 2010, 09:58:14 pm by totallymaxed »
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #24 on: July 07, 2010, 09:56:11 pm »
Hi Andrew,

And I assume you are not releasing that for public use ;)

Viking

Sorry we have no plans to release our Dianemo UI1 skin. If we do a refresh of the design at some point we may make the older design available then ;-)

All the best

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #25 on: July 08, 2010, 10:05:15 pm »
Andrew,
The Dianemo skin really looks stunning, do u have any pointers (guidance) to how to make such a skin on your own?
or do u simply use HA designer?
All help is much appreciated

Super work u guys did,
Greets,
Raymond
« Last Edit: July 08, 2010, 10:08:03 pm by RayBe »
When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.

davegravy

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 517
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #26 on: July 08, 2010, 10:36:44 pm »
.
Andrew,
The Dianemo skin really looks stunning, do u have any pointers (guidance) to how to make such a skin on your own?
or do u simply use HA designer?
All help is much appreciated

Super work u guys did,
Greets,
Raymond

I agree. Would you sell this UI by any chance? Or would I need to buy a complete system from you to get this?

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #27 on: July 08, 2010, 10:46:30 pm »
Andrew,
The Dianemo skin really looks stunning, do u have any pointers (guidance) to how to make such a skin on your own?
or do u simply use HA designer?
All help is much appreciated

Super work u guys did,
Greets,
Raymond

Hi Raymond,

Thanks glad you like the design.

Yes we use a combination of HA Designer and Gimp or Photoshop to create our UI's. If you search the Forum you will find numerous threads and Video tutorials by Thom who is the acknowledged master of creating UI's for LinuxMCE - we learnt what we know from him to a large extent. The rest was just a lot of trial and error... the tools currently are really not very friendly and really do demand that you have a very good understanding of the technical structure of the system. The hope is that we can change this over time - the objective is to make the process much more about design so that designers can directly get involved.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4426
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #28 on: July 08, 2010, 10:50:53 pm »
.
Andrew,
The Dianemo skin really looks stunning, do u have any pointers (guidance) to how to make such a skin on your own?
or do u simply use HA designer?
All help is much appreciated

Super work u guys did,
Greets,
Raymond

I agree. Would you sell this UI by any chance? Or would I need to buy a complete system from you to get this?

We currently do not have any plans to make our UI's available separately to Cascade or Dianemo systems. In fact separating the UI from either Dianemo or Cascade would not work as the UI's are tighly coupled to features & changes we have in our builds.

So currently you would need to purchase a NerveCentre or a complete system to get access to these UI's.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

RayBe

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 272
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with New Weborbiter
« Reply #29 on: July 10, 2010, 12:55:03 am »
Thanks Andrew for your responce,
when i got my new core/hybrid in place i am going to take a shot at making my own skin,
thanks also for your development of lmce

greets
Raymond
When you were born, you were crying and everybody else was laughing.
Live your life so when you die, you are laughing and everybody else is crying.