Author Topic: [SOLVED] How to send advanced ZWave commands?  (Read 1313 times)

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
[SOLVED] How to send advanced ZWave commands?
« on: June 28, 2010, 12:05:02 am »
I'm interested how to send some specific commands to tune and setup zwave devices.

I have HomePro ZDW232 [1] dimmable wall switch that has some interesting features I would like to play with.

First I would like to use it's Night Light feature that turns on LED light on when switch is OFF. By default LED is ON when light is also ON.

I read in ZDW232 installation manual [2] that I can turn on Night Light set it like this:

      Night Light
         • Parameter No: 3
         • Length: 1 Byte
         • Valid Values = 0 or 1 (default value is 0)
The LED on the ZDW232 will by default, turn ON when the load attached is turned ON. To make the LED turn ON
when the load attached is turned OFF instead, set parameter 3 to a value of 1.

I looked via LinuxMCE webhttp://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ACT_Homepro_ZDW232ui and in Lighting and Advanced options for this device in Send Command there are only commands for ON, OFF and LEVEL.

Can I send these specific commands via Linux CLI? Is there a way to send these specific commands via webUI? How?

I have looked on WIKI pages, programming guide, ZWave API and other pages but didn't see the needed info. If I missed it please point me in the right direction.

Thank you in advance!

[1] http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ACT_Homepro_ZDW232
[2] http://www.act-solutions.com/HomePro/pdfs/HomePro/Inst/ZDW232_instr.pdf
« Last Edit: June 29, 2010, 11:10:38 am by valent »
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: How to send advanced ZWave commands?
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2010, 07:44:29 am »
Thom in IRC told me to look at source code in http://svn.linuxmce.org/svn/branches/LinuxMCE-0810/src/ZWave

From IRC:
"(00:16:48) merkur2k: valentt1: i would dig around in the template for the zwave devices. probably need to create a new template for this switch
(00:18:50) ***possy thinks, programming is needed
(00:27:26) TSCHAKeee: valentt1: DCE is an abstracted messaging system. As such, we try to provide commands common to more than one interface.. Off, On, Set Level, etc..
(00:28:12) TSCHAKeee: valentt1: digging down and providing commands to set individual bytes would only solve problems in the short term...
(00:28:31) TSCHAKeee: valentt1: we try to think of commands in terms of what needs to be accomplished from a user perspective.
(00:29:51) TSCHAKeee: so all the low level bit banging happens inside the ZWave code, and is abstracted from the outside
TSCHAK TSCHAKeee
(00:33:34) valentt1: TSCHAKeee: so I need to edit existing device template and add these commands?
(00:33:46) TSCHAKeee: as a start
(00:33:54) TSCHAKeee: then add code in the ZWave device to deal with those commands
"

Has anybody edited zwave device profiles so that you can give me some pointers how to do this?

So I first need to add commands like "Invert switch" and "Night Light" into device templates (probably easier part) and then add code to zwave device driver so that it knows what to do with those commands (harder part), right?
« Last Edit: June 28, 2010, 07:49:10 am by valent »
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

sambuca

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 447
    • View Profile
Re: How to send advanced ZWave commands?
« Reply #2 on: June 28, 2010, 08:47:03 am »
From what you write, it seems that this is a configuration option you can set on your device. In that case, you can use the "Set configuration" command from the web admin. You can send this command to the ZWave controller; open the advanced page of the controller and click "send command", iirc.

best regards,
sambuca

apagg

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: How to send advanced ZWave commands?
« Reply #3 on: June 28, 2010, 08:52:38 am »
You can do this from the web-admin. Go to wizard->interfaces->Zwave->Advanced->send command to device
and select "Set Config Param".

# 48 Value (int)     : is the value in your case 1
# 239 NodeID (int) : this is the zwave node id not the device number.
# 248 Parameter ID (int) : the parameter number in your case 3

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: How to send advanced ZWave commands?
« Reply #4 on: June 28, 2010, 09:56:41 am »
Thanks, I'll test sending these parameters and then update the WIKI with instructions for other to follow if anybody else needs to tweak his/hers zwave gear.
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4450
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: How to send advanced ZWave commands?
« Reply #5 on: June 28, 2010, 03:06:57 pm »
You can do this from the web-admin. Go to wizard->interfaces->Zwave->Advanced->send command to device
and select "Set Config Param".

# 48 Value (int)     : is the value in your case 1
# 239 NodeID (int) : this is the zwave node id not the device number.
# 248 Parameter ID (int) : the parameter number in your case 3

Apagg watch the Pluto ZWave device log to get the ZWave Node id for the "# 239 NodeID (int)" parameter.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd
United Kingdom

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, totallymaxed+consulting@gmail.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo S License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.0
iOS Orbiter: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Dianemo_iOS_Orbiter
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

apagg

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Re: How to send advanced ZWave commands?
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2010, 03:37:45 pm »
It is also available from the web-admin. Its the "Port/Channel Number"

regards
apagg

valent

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 380
    • View Profile
    • /kernel_reloaded/
Re: How to send advanced ZWave commands?
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2010, 09:56:01 pm »
Hey guys we have a nice team work going here, you provided me with some really great info and I have created WIKI page:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Tweak_advanced_ZWave_settings

and also for this ZWave wall switch - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/ACT_Homepro_ZDW232

Please feel free to add any missing info and fix anything I have missed or you feel haven't been clear enough on.

Cheers!
LinuxMCE - If it was easy, everybody would be doing it!!
My setup - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Valent