Author Topic: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install  (Read 7945 times)

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #75 on: June 04, 2010, 03:35:41 am »
ok no matter what cable i try, a direct connection from lappy to core i can only ping and not browse
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #76 on: June 04, 2010, 03:38:06 am »
all i remember about cross over cables was about 6 years ago when i had to make one to like to computers without a hub
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #77 on: June 04, 2010, 04:23:58 am »
Ok i took away all cables that say patched on them
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #78 on: June 04, 2010, 05:17:00 am »
I have been searching the web for ages now and i cant find a way to fix this problem
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #79 on: June 04, 2010, 05:31:35 am »
Is there any log files or tools i can use to diagnose the fault
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #80 on: June 04, 2010, 06:29:10 am »
what is the output of

sudo iptables -t nat -L
 
?

-Thom

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3009
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #81 on: June 04, 2010, 07:47:12 am »
ok no matter what cable i try, a direct connection from lappy to core i can only ping and not browse

Are you able to ping 8.8.8.8 from your laptop?

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #82 on: June 04, 2010, 02:33:08 pm »
sudo iptables -t nat -L

Chain PREROUTING (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

Chain POSTROUTING (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination
MASQUERADE  all  --  192.168.80.0/24     !192.168.80.0/24

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target     prot opt source               destination

And yes i can ping 8.8.8.8
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

posde

  • Administrator
  • LinuxMCE God
  • *****
  • Posts: 3009
  • Wastes Life On LinuxMCE Since 2007
    • View Profile
    • My Home
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #83 on: June 04, 2010, 02:42:20 pm »
If you can ping 8.8.8.8 from the laptop, check the DNS Server you have defined on your laptop.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #84 on: June 04, 2010, 02:45:59 pm »
its set through DHCP from the core it seems to resolve names ok as i can ping google.com or any address, I could set it to google dns and test i guess
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #85 on: June 04, 2010, 02:48:14 pm »
Google DNS is just the same no change
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #86 on: June 04, 2010, 02:54:55 pm »
This is so weird I have setup a gateway, even a PDC and a website server before using the same cables and router, I could use the server for the core but its a 1U half depth so it like a jet taking off.
If i could use the server as a core i could store it in the outside store room, but how would i get TV I cant put PCI in it, the HDHomerun wont work because Time Warner is still analog in Kansas.
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5501
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #87 on: June 04, 2010, 02:59:41 pm »
TV Tuners can be placed anywhere in the house, MythTV will distribute them appropriately, so you can place them in a media director.

-Thom

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #88 on: June 04, 2010, 03:05:35 pm »
So if i was to give on the Dell as a hybrid and use it as a MD then the Jet as the core outside, yes it would be very powerful but it will bug me why the Dell never made it and i would have net cables every where for the wife to moan about.
Just a though could it be one of the net-cards that are faulty in some weird way
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #89 on: June 04, 2010, 03:25:05 pm »
OK your are not gonna be leave this i just logged into webadmin and clicked swap interfaces, the core rebooted i swapped the cable around now the internet works but its very slow.
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.