Author Topic: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install  (Read 7597 times)

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #45 on: June 03, 2010, 07:55:18 pm »
Modem is time Warner cable, connected to on board eth0.

Eth1 is a pci, connected to port 1 on a Linksys wrt54gl running dd-wrt setup how it says on the wiki wan port is empty
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #46 on: June 03, 2010, 07:56:57 pm »
did you turn off its DHCP on the LAN ports? you should probably set the router's wan port into static IP mode.

-Thom

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #47 on: June 03, 2010, 08:04:44 pm »
the DHCP is turned off on the router, i have set the ip address as 192.168.80.130, i have left the wan port as dhcp and tried static, i have tried setting the router to router mode i basically looked though all the wikis and forums and tried everything. i even tried installing the stock linksys firmware, and tomato. I then you connected the laptop direct to eth1 in windows vista and ubuntu and it still didn't work
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #48 on: June 03, 2010, 08:06:28 pm »
Should i just give up and install with only one ethernet card, if i did would i loose any functions
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #49 on: June 03, 2010, 08:07:17 pm »
none of the network based pnp functions work with one network card. If you do, you'll also need to disable the dhcp server in the web admin.

-Thom

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #50 on: June 03, 2010, 08:09:16 pm »
So stripped down to the min:

Cable modem --> eth0 - eth1 --> Vista or Ubuntu laptop

Gives:
1.  No internet on laptop
2.  Internet is OK on the core
3.  you can ping externally and skype reports online

is that a fair assessment?

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #51 on: June 03, 2010, 08:10:15 pm »
those symptoms literally say that the MTU is mismatched somehow.

-Thom

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #52 on: June 03, 2010, 08:13:19 pm »
Ok so i need to get this working, is there any logs i can look through that might tell me what is going on.
I dont understand why i can ping out side and have windows tell me i have internet, if i open up a browser it will say website found waiting for a reply.
Its like there is something blocking it, i did check the firewall, im am now just running the install script for a fresh install it should be done in a few minutes if you want i can post the script out put, I did see some errors there
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #53 on: June 03, 2010, 08:14:12 pm »
yes that is correct 100%
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #54 on: June 03, 2010, 08:16:21 pm »
as soon as this install is done I will not touch anything untill you say if you want, or ill go through the wizard and then reply when done
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #55 on: June 03, 2010, 08:22:02 pm »
the script is nearly done here is the outpu of ifconfig

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:12:3f:6b:9c:72
          inet addr:76.92.235.11  Bcast:255.255.255.255  Mask:255.255.224.0
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:576  Metric:1
          RX packets:761627 errors:4968 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:4968
          TX packets:188633 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:222056457 (222.0 MB)  TX bytes:13847553 (13.8 MB)
          Interrupt:17

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 94:0c:6d:f0:78:22
          inet addr:192.168.80.1  Bcast:192.168.80.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::960c:6dff:fef0:7822/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:896 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:26 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:294796 (294.7 KB)  TX bytes:5466 (5.4 KB)
          Interrupt:16 Base address:0xcc00

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:670 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:670 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:56331 (56.3 KB)  TX bytes:56331 (56.3 KB)
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #56 on: June 03, 2010, 08:39:20 pm »
the install script is finished i have saved the out put if you want to see it
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #57 on: June 03, 2010, 08:40:42 pm »
sure.

Riggs

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Kotonix LLC
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #58 on: June 03, 2010, 08:43:07 pm »
its too big to attach
Dell XPS Gen5 P4 3.2Ghz 64 x2, 3Gbs Ram, GeForce 8600GT 1Gb VRam, Creative Audigy 2 ZS, LinuxMCE 10.04 32bit,, 2 Eth Cards, Comcast business 25Mbs/5Mbs. Zwave, X10, Vera 3.

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5495
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: will not install correctly at all, now doing my 17th install
« Reply #59 on: June 03, 2010, 08:43:58 pm »
how about pasting it to pastebin.com ?

-Thom