Author Topic: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected  (Read 2980 times)

JoakimL

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 149
    • View Profile
DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« on: May 17, 2010, 09:26:51 am »
I have a funny observation: LMCE detect an IP camera. That's nice, considering I have no camera... ;-)
It have happened 2-3 times, also after the last reinstall with the new HW.
It's not any problem per se, I just tell LMCE to ignore it, but there obviously is an error in the Plug'n Play system detecting a device that's not there.

I can provide system information (lspci etc) if someone want's to take a closer look at it.

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2010, 09:36:24 am »
I had the same
No cam, and no solution for you
If you post your lspci, I can look what we have in common.

nite_man

  • NEEDS to work for LinuxMCE
  • ***
  • Posts: 1019
  • Want to work with LinuxMCE
    • View Profile
    • Smart Home Blog
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2010, 11:16:17 am »
Looks like there is some problem in the 0810 PnP. As I understand the PnP credentials are defined in the template in the section PnP. I tried to investigate my problem with wrong detection of USB HDD as CM15A. But vendor codes in the CM15A template and USB HDD are different. So, I suspect something wrong with PnP credentials matching in the PnP script.
Michael Stepanov,
My setup: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Nite_man#New_setup
Russian LinuxMCE community: http://linuxmce.ru

wierdbeard65

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
    • My Quest
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #3 on: May 17, 2010, 01:28:52 pm »
I get this too.

I have a D-Link 8-port switch on my network as well as a D-Link WAP. I *THINK* it's the WAP that is being detected as a camera....
Paul
If you have the time to help, please see where I have got to at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Wierdbeard65

gadget

  • Veteran
  • ***
  • Posts: 136
    • View Profile
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #4 on: May 17, 2010, 02:43:21 pm »
I am also getting this device detected and don't have any cameras yet.

gadget

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4459
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #5 on: May 17, 2010, 04:34:58 pm »
I have a funny observation: LinuxMCE detect an IP camera. That's nice, considering I have no camera... ;-)
It have happened 2-3 times, also after the last reinstall with the new HW.
It's not any problem per se, I just tell LinuxMCE to ignore it, but there obviously is an error in the Plug'n Play system detecting a device that's not there.

I can provide system information (lspci etc) if someone want's to take a closer look at it.

Its a PnP bug thats been around for ages. Something on your LAN is getting mis-detected as a DCS-5300G IP Camera.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

klovell

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #6 on: May 17, 2010, 06:59:15 pm »
wow, I get this also.  For a micro second i thought there was a hidden camera in my house lol.  wierdbeard and I both have a d-link 8 port switch, any one else who's getting this have a d-link switch on their network?  I wouldn't think this kind of switch would be detectable but stranger things have happened.

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4459
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #7 on: May 17, 2010, 07:22:20 pm »
wow, I get this also.  For a micro second i thought there was a hidden camera in my house lol.  wierdbeard and I both have a d-link 8 port switch, any one else who's getting this have a d-link switch on their network?  I wouldn't think this kind of switch would be detectable but stranger things have happened.


I dont think its in anyway your switch...its something else that is being detected incorrectly.

Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

wierdbeard65

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
    • My Quest
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #8 on: May 17, 2010, 07:30:59 pm »
I dont think its in anyway your switch...its something else that is being detected incorrectly.
I can't check at the moment as I'm away for a couple of weeks with work, however I'm fairly sure that last time I investigated, it turned out to be my D-Link WAP that was being mis-detected. (I seem to remember it happening before I added this particular switch, but as soon as I plugged in the wifi - might be wrong though!)
Paul
If you have the time to help, please see where I have got to at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Wierdbeard65

klovell

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2010, 07:49:59 pm »
What devices were the first to connect to the wifi? 

On that note before i told it to ignore the device permanently, I'm remembering it only detecting it when my Dell inspiron 1525 was turned on.  It has a built in web camera.  I didn't think it was that because i also have a Dell latitude e4300 with a built in web cam that i use a hell of a lot more.  Not to say that windows didn't, but i never installed the drivers for the web cam on the 1525 but i did install it for the e4300.  There's no link between this detection and the e4300.

Techstyle

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 674
    • View Profile
    • Techstyle UK Ltd.
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #10 on: May 17, 2010, 08:01:38 pm »
I get it also.

I don't have a D-link WAP but do have 2 x 5 port D-Link switches.

wierdbeard65

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 449
    • View Profile
    • My Quest
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #11 on: May 17, 2010, 08:03:39 pm »
That's an interesting point, and one I will check out.

I don't think that's the issue though - the name of the camera is the same as the WAP (!) and the only devices that (should have) connected initially were a Wii and a PS3.

I'm not sure how the network PnP works. Isn't it initially on MAC address? If so, perhaps the fault is with D-link not assigning their MACs properly? (I.E. my WAP having a MAC address in the range that MCE thinks is a camera).

The main difference between the WAP and the Switch is that the former is mangeable (so obtains an IP address via DHCP, anouncing its existence to MCE) whilst the latter is not. For this reason, I tend to agree with Andrew an thinking it isn't the Switch (in my case).

klovell - is your switch managed? Perhaps MCE is thinking that ANY D-Link device that it detects is a camera? (Just a guess).
Paul
If you have the time to help, please see where I have got to at: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Wierdbeard65

totallymaxed

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 4459
  • Smart Home Consulting
    • View Profile
    • Dianemo - at home with technology
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #12 on: May 17, 2010, 08:29:00 pm »
I dont think its in anyway your switch...its something else that is being detected incorrectly.
I can't check at the moment as I'm away for a couple of weeks with work, however I'm fairly sure that last time I investigated, it turned out to be my D-Link WAP that was being mis-detected. (I seem to remember it happening before I added this particular switch, but as soon as I plugged in the wifi - might be wrong though!)

We have seen sporadic occurrences of this device getting detected but we never use D-Link devices at all. Apart from the annoyance factor there are no lasting affects caused by this... tracking the device down and fixing the problem would be nice though.

All the best


Andrew
Andy Herron,
Convergent Home Technologies Ltd

Read My Blog; http://ellipticalcurve.com

Contact me for Smart Home consulting advice here;
@herron on Twitter, inquiries@ellipticalcurve.com via email or PM me here.

Get a Dianemo License: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8880.msg100221#msg100221
Follow us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Dianemo-Home-Automation/226019387454465

Sales & Info:
http://www.dianemo.co.uk

bongowongo

  • wants to work for LinuxMCE
  • **
  • Posts: 826
    • View Profile
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #13 on: May 17, 2010, 10:14:46 pm »
well post your lspci
I think it has to be a very populair device that is causing this, probably an audio or usb chip?

klovell

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 205
    • View Profile
Re: DCS-5300G(D-link / IP Camera) detected
« Reply #14 on: May 17, 2010, 10:15:20 pm »
My switch is un-managed, that's why i wouldn't think it would be detectable.  It doesn't get an ip and for the sake of argument it's simply a pass through.  I mentioned my computer for a reason, Any one using a Dell or a computer with a camera?  Is LMCE sophisticated enough to detect and use a camera installed on a windows machine out the box?  I couldn't imagine this phantom device causing problems but Andrew is right, it would be nice to figure out what's triggering this.