Author Topic: need help after latest upgrade  (Read 1573 times)

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
need help after latest upgrade
« on: May 01, 2010, 09:23:05 pm »
This morning I did apt-get update ; apt-get upgrade on my 2 MDs and my core.  All seemed to go smoothly, but after rebooting them all I ran into these problems:

*smb issues - I thought I had edited the right stuff based on another thread ( http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9873.0 ), but even after trying a couple things I had to downgrade back to an older version.  I guess it's not a huge deal, but I'd really like to be able to upgrade without going back to an older version of samba every time. 

*Core no longer boots to LinuxMCE, just a regular Kubuntu login. 

*My gyration remote no longer completely works in Myth.  No clue if it's specific to the remote or not, but at a minimum the back arrow no longer takes me back a menu.  Pretty much makes it impossible to do things like back out from recorded media and get to live TV or even just back out of what is playing without completely exiting Myth.  It does still make the linuxmce menu go away so it appears to be Myth specific.

pw44

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 653
    • View Profile
Re: need help after latest upgrade
« Reply #1 on: May 01, 2010, 10:37:51 pm »
This morning I did apt-get update ; apt-get upgrade on my 2 MDs and my core.  All seemed to go smoothly, but after rebooting them all I ran into these problems:

*smb issues - I thought I had edited the right stuff based on another thread ( http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9873.0 ), but even after trying a couple things I had to downgrade back to an older version.  I guess it's not a huge deal, but I'd really like to be able to upgrade without going back to an older version of samba every time.  
fix -> /etc/samba/smb.conf - change unix extensions from yes to no, on core/hybrid and md's

Quote
*Core no longer boots to LinuxMCE, just a regular Kubuntu login.  
fix -> http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9996.0

Quote
*My gyration remote no longer completely works in Myth.  No clue if it's specific to the remote or not, but at a minimum the back arrow no longer takes me back a menu.  Pretty much makes it impossible to do things like back out from recorded media and get to live TV or even just back out of what is playing without completely exiting Myth.  It does still make the linuxmce menu go away so it appears to be Myth specific.
sorry, i do not have a gyration remote to verify this.
« Last Edit: May 02, 2010, 04:42:46 pm by pw44 »

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: need help after latest upgrade
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2010, 07:25:55 pm »
This morning I did apt-get update ; apt-get upgrade on my 2 MDs and my core.  All seemed to go smoothly, but after rebooting them all I ran into these problems:

*smb issues - I thought I had edited the right stuff based on another thread ( http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9873.0 ), but even after trying a couple things I had to downgrade back to an older version.  I guess it's not a huge deal, but I'd really like to be able to upgrade without going back to an older version of samba every time. 
fix -> /etc/samba/smb.conf - change unix extensions from yes to no, on core/hybrid and md's
It was set to no, but the MD wouldn't even boot.  I changed it to yes and the md booted but no access to the media shares from the MD or my desktop.  Downgrading to a previous samba fixed everything.  I guess I'll give it a shot next time I upgrade everything.  If it's working for others simply by changing unix extensions to no I should be able to get it to work for me.
Quote

Quote
*Core no longer boots to LinuxMCE, just a regular Kubuntu login. 
fix -> http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9996.0
Great, thanks, I'll give that a try.  Not sure how I missed it??  I think I was searching for everything other than "Orbiter" not starting, ie Linuxmce not starting, lmce not starting...  *slaps self on forehead*
Quote

Quote
*My gyration remote no longer completely works in Myth.  No clue if it's specific to the remote or not, but at a minimum the back arrow no longer takes me back a menu.  Pretty much makes it impossible to do things like back out from recorded media and get to live TV or even just back out of what is playing without completely exiting Myth.  It does still make the linuxmce menu go away so it appears to be Myth specific.
sorry, i do not have a gyration remote to verify this.
More weirdness.  Last night after I posted my initial message I noticed other things not working with the gyration remote - pg up/down in when browsing media, inability to skep forward/back while playing a movie (ff/rw worked but no skip).  This morning I started a movie for my kid and pg up/down is working again so maybe the rest is?  I do know when I initially plug it in to a MD it downloads software for it, maybe it just had trouble but eventually was able to?

One other thing I just remembered - I got a pop-up yesterday that it was unable to download/install nvidia glx.  Everything seems to be playing fine and the logs show glx is loaded.  Maybe there was some temp issue where it couldn't download/install the additional software packages it needed?

pw44

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 653
    • View Profile
Re: need help after latest upgrade
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2010, 10:28:39 pm »
This morning I did apt-get update ; apt-get upgrade on my 2 MDs and my core.  All seemed to go smoothly, but after rebooting them all I ran into these problems:

*smb issues - I thought I had edited the right stuff based on another thread ( http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=9873.0 ), but even after trying a couple things I had to downgrade back to an older version.  I guess it's not a huge deal, but I'd really like to be able to upgrade without going back to an older version of samba every time.  

fix -> /etc/samba/smb.conf - change unix extensions from yes to no, on core/hybrid and md's
It was set to no, but the MD wouldn't even boot.  I changed it to yes and the md booted but no access to the media shares from the MD or my desktop.  Downgrading to a previous samba fixed everything.  I guess I'll give it a shot next time I upgrade everything.  If it's working for others simply by changing unix extensions to no I should be able to get it to work for me.
I did have the same problem after the samba update, the MD booted and had no access to media. After changing yes to no in unix extensions in smb.conf on MD, it booted fine and was able to access media.
Would you consider changing this from the core (/usr/pluto/diskless/#/etc/samba/smb.conf) and give another try?
I don't think that changing this would prevent the MD to boot.


« Last Edit: May 02, 2010, 10:31:39 pm by pw44 »

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: need help after latest upgrade
« Reply #4 on: May 03, 2010, 12:16:19 am »
Sure - I'll give it a try when I get a chance and post the results.  I changed the config to no, but the wife is catching up on recorded TV shows at the moment so I don't really want to restart samba.  I want to reboot the core after hopefully fixing the boot to kubuntu login issue anyway.

BTW, my gyration remote appeared to be working then back to limited use.  Pre-upgrade, no issues.  Post upgrade, not all keys reliably function.  Indicator lights come on, and it's only specific buttons, so I'm pretty confident it's not the remote itself or low batteries or something like that.  It's not a case of some presses work and some don't, it's a case of working for a while then not working at all.  Not really sure where to look for this one.

wombiroller

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 340
    • View Profile
Re: need help after latest upgrade
« Reply #5 on: May 03, 2010, 05:41:10 am »
BTW, my gyration remote appeared to be working then back to limited use.  Pre-upgrade, no issues.  Post upgrade, not all keys reliably function.  Indicator lights come on, and it's only specific buttons, so I'm pretty confident it's not the remote itself or low batteries or something like that.  It's not a case of some presses work and some don't, it's a case of working for a while then not working at all.  Not really sure where to look for this one.
Hmm - my down arrow stopped working in Myth. I thought it was just my remote, but maybe not?

ccoudsi

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
Re: need help after latest upgrade
« Reply #6 on: May 04, 2010, 04:38:10 am »
skeptic & pw44,
Do you guys use NAS for media storage??
Because I updated my core & Mds,  did  both workarounds  "/etc/samba/smb.conf " and "update-rc.d -f kdm remove" after the core comes up 2 MDs get stuck at "+/usr/pluto/nin/StorageDevices_Setup.sh" and the other 2 MDs get stuck at "* Restarting OpenBSD Secure shell Server SSHD, ... done"

I shut down the whole system including the NAS and repower the core and MDs only, got the same situation then I power up the NAS then the MDs continue with the startup process and complete the bootup !!! But now I can not see the media on the NAS !!!

update:
one more step, if I restart the NAS then I see my media !!! something screwed up the NAS
« Last Edit: May 04, 2010, 04:58:51 am by ccoudsi »
Cheers |[BEER]
Charlie,

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: need help after latest upgrade
« Reply #7 on: May 04, 2010, 05:24:03 pm »
No - I use external USB drives attached to my core.  Following the advice mentioned above, my core now boots to the orbiter again.  I set unix extensions to no and I'm still able to work normally (MDs boot and shares are accessible), but I have not yet tried upgrading samba.  It works so I'm probably not going to update anything for a week or two, but next time update I'll try to get it going with the new samba instead of immediately going back to an old version.  I still had the issue with the remote after doing these things a couple days ago, but I haven't tried it since.

ccoudsi

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
Re: need help after latest upgrade
« Reply #8 on: May 04, 2010, 05:30:48 pm »
Ok that's why you don't have a problem booting the MDs, because I'm using the latest version, with the two workarounds that I mentioned before and a Dlink NAS.
Cheers |[BEER]
Charlie,

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: need help after latest upgrade
« Reply #9 on: May 04, 2010, 05:52:26 pm »
Just to be clear, I had set unix extensions to "no" a while back based on previous posts regarding samba issues (after I had downgraded to a working version).  When I did the latest upgrade, including samba, my MD would not boot.  I changed unix extensions to "yes" and was able to boot but no access to media and could not get to samba shares from my desktop.  Then I dropped back to an older version of samba (unix extensions still "yes") and everything worked.  After that I changed unix extensions back to "no" and rebooted, everything still works.

For me (based on very limited testing):
old version of samba everything works with unix extensions either "yes" or "no"
new version with unix extensions "no" MD will not boot
new version with unix extensions "yes" MD boots but no access to samba shares

I'm sure there is more to it, others are running current samba.

ccoudsi

  • Guru
  • ****
  • Posts: 244
    • View Profile
Re: need help after latest upgrade
« Reply #10 on: May 04, 2010, 06:03:09 pm »
Ok, got it, I'm using now:
Quote
new version with unix extensions "no" MD will not boot
And the way I made it work is to start everything with the NAS power off then the core will boot up and the MDs will pause in the boot process, then I power up the NAS then the MDs will finish the boot up and the final step after all the system is up is to restart the NAS to get the media back (Audio,video,pictures)
Cheers |[BEER]
Charlie,

skeptic

  • Addicted
  • *
  • Posts: 615
    • View Profile
Re: need help after latest upgrade
« Reply #11 on: May 05, 2010, 05:13:02 pm »
update:  When I first go into Myth it works fine.  If I watch a recorded show, at some point during the playback I lose functionality for those same keys.  Exit (escape in Myth) is the worst, can't back out to previous menus.  Also, with no "info" key (i in Myth) I cannot remove files.  These may be a settings though, previous versions of Myth I could just back out with left arrow or get to the info pop-up by right arrow, this version just cycles between the show list and the episode box.  Hitting the corresponding keys on the keyboard still work fine.  If I exit Myth with the stop button and immediately go back in, everything works fine again.

Also, during playback of recorded video (and live TV) it occasionally pauses for anywhere from a few seconds to over a minute.  During this time I cannot hit escape to back out, hit stop and get completely out of Myth, nothing.  Just a momentary complete freeze of the MD.  3 (or was it 4?) times during the playback of a 1 hour show last night.  It's very possible that the loss of functionality of certain keys on the remote starts when I get this pause, but I haven't tested this.  This freeze does not happen during normal video playback, only in Myth.