Author Topic: Repeated mounting of internal HDs  (Read 618 times)

d0t

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Repeated mounting of internal HDs
« on: April 29, 2010, 03:12:06 am »
Running dmesg on my core shows this countless times:

[108910.682591] kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
[108910.683374] EXT3 FS on sdb1, internal journal
[108910.683387] EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
[108948.865457] kjournald starting.  Commit interval 5 seconds
[108948.866206] EXT3 FS on sdb1, internal journal
[108948.866220] EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.

Seems the volume is being mounted/unmounted repeatedly.  I followed these instructions here for adding a second internal HD to the core:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/How_should_I_format_additional_hard_drives%3F

I then allowed it to be auto-discovered by LMCE, and used an orbiter to add the drive to the system.  Doesn't it seem this is wear 'n tearing the drive, with constant mounts/remounts?  Ideally I think the drive should spin down and not be accessed until its needed, as its only used for media.  After leaving the system up overnight, dmesg returns only the above log entries again and again.

Best regards,
.


tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Repeated mounting of internal HDs
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2010, 07:33:37 am »
It is not, and is considered normal operation of the system.

-Thom

janka

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Repeated mounting of internal HDs
« Reply #2 on: April 29, 2010, 07:57:31 pm »
It is not, and is considered normal operation of the system.

Is it possible to spin down the disks then, and/or can this behavior be changed?

Wouldn't like the thought of my disks running 24/7 for no apparent reason...

jan

tschak909

  • LinuxMCE God
  • ****
  • Posts: 5476
  • DOES work for LinuxMCE.
    • View Profile
Re: Repeated mounting of internal HDs
« Reply #3 on: April 29, 2010, 08:17:47 pm »
No, because UpdateMedia needs to run to update its media databases periodically.

-Thom