Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Messages - colinjones

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 201
76
Developers / Re: HADesigner - ODBC Connector - Connection Help
« on: October 16, 2009, 02:29:48 pm »
I didn't "know" either, but I was "aware" there was a syntax issue (from memory) so.... I searched on the forum for "grant all privileges" and lo... it was there in post from Zaerc among several others! Moral: searching the forum for basic key words is just as valuable as searching the wiki :) And yes, if you see an obvious error on the wiki... correct it immediately before you forget.... then the wiki will become more useful ;)

77
Developers / Re: HADesigner - ODBC Connector - Connection Help
« on: October 15, 2009, 10:10:26 pm »
try

GRANT ALL PRIVILEGES ON pluto_main.* TO 'charles'@'192.168.80.247' IDENTIFIED BY 'charles';

and don't forget the ; at the end of each line

78
Users / Re: Update media daemon
« on: October 15, 2009, 10:01:09 pm »
No, I don't think there is an easy way to change the inode number manually. Seems strange that it maintains the inode number across multiple disks.... no idea how/why it does that. Here are a couple of other options.

It isn't a Single Instance Store even at the inode level, so if you make a copy of the file on the same disk, the copy should have a completely different inode number. If so, then you can delete the first file and let UpdateMedia rescan the copy. Failing that, if you have a Windows machine somewhere on your network, move the file there and then back again.... there is no way I can think of that Linux would be able to maintain the inode number in this scenario (unless it is somehow generating the inode number by hashing the filename or contents, but that is just ridiculous!)

Col.

79
Users / Re: need help
« on: October 15, 2009, 09:57:05 pm »
Not sure about the first part of all that, but I tried adding a second reco to my system yesterday after going to .37 alpha and I got the same diskless setup failed, but I thought it was because the device registered as an amd64 (hadn't been a problem before) but thought that a web admin change to i386 and rebuilt would fix the problem- hadn't had the time

Not 100% sure what issue you are describing here... but just in case it helps - just changing the MD architecture field to i386 will not change the architecture, you must use the rebuild image button. It selects AMD64 because your CPU is capable of it and so builds all the boot files in that mode. Once done, if for some reason you need i386 (preferable), you need to change that field then rebuild the image. Note: any changes you made to the configuration of that MD will be lost by rebuilding the image, so you will need to make those changes again after the rebuild (such as adding/removing/reconfiguring modules, drivers, scripts, etc). So the sequence should be: boot new MD to create AMD64 image, modify the architecture field to i386, rebuild the MD image, make all configuration changes to the image.

Another note: the MD images are decompressed from a purpose built bzip'd archive file, they are NOT generated from the core's own files and configuration, so do not assume that any config changes, driver updates, etc you perform on the core will pass to the MD.

80
Users / Re: Certain MKVs not working
« on: October 15, 2009, 01:28:48 pm »
slampt - if you run top on the machine whilst it is playing you might see mplayer or xine player popup long enough to identify which it is....


andrew - I think the file type associations in pluto_main mediatype only relate to whether Updatemedia scans them in and if so as which media type. When they actually get played, I think it is the media type that selects the player (a guess). The fact that you have to manually select the media type as LMCE Blu-ray Disc (as well as change the file type to m2ts) selects mplayer, you choose m2ts as this is still an accepted ile type for UM, albeit that it would ordinarily be classified as LMCE Vide File, but mplayer knows how to deal with it anyway when it is sent to it. So you are kind of fooling the system into using mplayer, and then it knows how to do m2ts (kind of like the old M$ MIME execution vulnerabilities!)

just a guess tho....

but m2ts is definitely in the list for 0710

81
There's no reason why you cannot set up 1 core and 15 MDs, and just replay the same video file to each of the MDs. You would want to watch your network bandwidth if the video files are high bit rate, but a gig network could easily handle 15 x SD video streams at the same time. Probably even HD.

Install a core on compatible hardware using the correct networking setup and 2 NICs
Boot each compatible MD hardware on the "internal" network, one by one, and allow each to set itself up
Copy over the video file you want to playback to a location somewhere on the internal network
Tell each MD to start playing back that video file
You are done.

82
Users / Re: iPhone/iPod Touch Orbiter?
« on: October 13, 2009, 11:08:49 pm »
Using the DCE approach on the iPhone would be nice.... and make for a very nice, fast UI, that's retargetable, etc. However, it isn't just a matter of a few DCE messages, we are talking about a _lot_ ... there are thousands of different messages you can send or receive (commands and events), many of which would be needed to implement the Orbiter on iPhone... and in addition you would need to implement the entire Orbiter UI engine so that all the screens can be generated for it and then it can read these and display them on the device.

None of this is a small undertaking, and really does an iPhone specific Orbiter need to be _that_ retargetable?! By all means, I would like to see such an Orbiter, but compared with the "standard" method of building a Mobile Orbiter which is just a small piece of code responsible for receiving PNG images over RFCOMM/BT and sending back button presses/screen touches, the standard method would be a much shorter learning curve for you and very much quicker to implement! Perhaps start with that, and once you've learned DCE and the screen generation functionality a bit more, move on and implement the "smart" version?

Its also worth noting, that although building a "full" Orbiter for iPhone (or any other device) dealing with DCE messages is a big ask... there is nothing stopping someone using DCE messages over WiFi on such a device to trigger simple tasks... that would be very easy. In other words some simple, preconfigured tools for triggering specific DCE messages, not an Orbiter at all... that's the beauty of DCE, an Orbiter is a rolls royce example of DCE usage, but it is the DCE system that is doing the clever stuff, and you can hook into that using simple DCE commands (perhaps an iPhone app that you install and preconfigure with a couple of lights, so that you can hit the app and turn on an off a few lights around the house, etc) ... porting messagesend would be a good start :)

83
Users / Re: hnow to update a module ?
« on: October 13, 2009, 09:27:28 am »
If you have a deb package for the new version that is compatible with the 0710 kernel you should be able to

sudo dpkg -i <filename.deb>

alternatively if you have a binary file for the module (eg somefilename.ko) that is compatible with your architecture (i386/AMD64) and your kernel version, you should be able to use modprobe to remove the existing module from the kernel, then rename the existing .ko file to something else for back up, then copy the new .ko file into the correct location with the same file name, then use modprobe to add it back into the kernel.

84
Users / Re: need help
« on: October 13, 2009, 09:11:08 am »
...
-f 'ing the DCE router log and watch for the registration events
:o How rude!
 ;D

hmmm yes I wondered about that as I typed, but let it go :)

85
Users / Re: need help
« on: October 12, 2009, 11:28:59 pm »
No idea - but I imagine that LMCE can't send the start media commands to the MD because it believes it and all its children devices are offline.

Could be something wrong with the MD, or even with DCE devices registering with the core - you are using the stardard network topology described in http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Network_Setup ?

You could try rebooting the MD whilst you are tail -f 'ing the DCE router log and watch for the registration events

86
Users / Re: need help
« on: October 12, 2009, 09:07:56 pm »
Well there's plenty of errors!

The DCERouter seems to believe that your MD device is not registered "The target device 49 (routed to 49) has not registered." I don't know if this is a normal error message, but the device definitely should be registered - look in your web admin under the Devices Tree and navigate to the MD device. In the right hand pane the device details will appear. At the bottom of the first block just above Save/Cancel there will be  a text line "Registered:" this should say Yes.

Perhaps this could be effecting Xine and causing the other errors? In the Xine log it is indicating several issues not being able to initialise various drivers or streams... not sure what is causing this but perhaps the MD hasn't registered properly?

87
Users / Re: Error when playing previously ripped videos
« on: October 10, 2009, 04:15:28 pm »
realistically i doubt many people use the raw video_ts format... it has all the disadvantages of a .iso or .dvd file (ie sheer size) but none of the convenience (ie single file for management and assignment of metadata), and identical quality....

88
Installation issues / Re: Can't install Subversion on Kubuntu 7.10
« on: October 10, 2009, 08:50:17 am »
I think there was some confusion in these comments!

To clarify - the comment that 0710 is not supported any more applies equally to Kubuntu itself and LMCE. However, pigdog was referring to Kubuntu 0710 is no longer supported by Kubuntu/Canonical ... the upshot of which is that they have removed the sources from the normal apt sources site and moved them to old-releases.ubuntu.com.. thus if you are using 0710 you need to update your /etc/apt/sources.list file with the new URL, then do an apt-get update, then attempt the install of subversion again.


That being said.... no further development is being done at all on LMCE 0710, and that branch is closed off from updates. So there really is no point installing 0710 (kubuntu or LMCE) and developing there... plus setting up a dev env for 0710 was notoriously difficult! Additionally, the team really need your help on the 0810 release!

89
Users / Re: Media Director
« on: October 10, 2009, 08:44:32 am »
All media directors are diskless and require PXE boot from the core. Just plug the MD into your "internal" LMCE network, choose PXE boot in the BIOS and turn it on... it will build itself from there... there is no reason to avoid netbooting, don't over-think it, just go with the design

90
Users / Re: Error when playing previously ripped videos
« on: October 09, 2009, 11:51:10 pm »
Have you got the original media still? Perhaps try ripping one again using LMCE to see if it can handle that?

0810 may help, dunno if the dvdcss library has been updated or not.. but if it is a different form of encryption then it won't help, nor will the original media play either....

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 [6] 7 8 ... 201