Show Posts

This section allows you to view all posts made by this member. Note that you can only see posts made in areas you currently have access to.


Topics - bulek

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 12
16
Hi,

one of my Cisco 7970 phones went off in "bricked like" state (performing reset sequence over and over). I've serached forums and got to HARD reset solution. But upgrading stops with "Write error" at a longer file apps70.1-1-2-26.sbn.

I've found a hint of using some of older versions of Firmware first (versions 6.xx or 7.xx) and then upgrade to current version. But I only have current one (I think it is v 8.xx SCCP FW) and would kindly ask if anyone has one of previous versions to try it...

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
 

17
Users / 7.10 Core : deadlocks, DCERouter keeps restarting
« on: May 10, 2011, 10:51:25 pm »
Hi,

my rock solid 7.10 Core started to crawl.... DCERouter keeps restarting, everything is so slow, main Orbiter works for a few minutes and then it goes back to startup procedure.... I've tried to figure out, what is causing the problems, but couldn't find good reason (I'm not experienced Linux user)...

DCERouter shows several interesting entries, the main that caught up my attention was that SQL queries took long time. I've run mysqlcheck and everything seems fine... I'm confused and would kindly ask for any opinion or pointer where to start checking things... As said I suspect mysql, a lot of errors I get with mythbackend (I don't use it anymore, have tried to disable MythPlugin but no change)...

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

18
Users / Two Android Orbiters - pros and cons ?
« on: March 18, 2011, 10:07:01 pm »
Hi,

I first express gratitude to both authors of Android Orbiters. But when one has to choose, would like to compare them. I'm new to Android and would kindly ask if someone with better insight can give some comparison on wiki between two Android Orbiters.

BTW, I also have problem downloading Orbiter from los93sol , cause link in forum thread doesn't work... In SVN there are 3 binaries and no info which one to use...

Thanks in advance,
regards,
Bulek.

19
Users / Pros and cons on upgrading from 7.10 to 8.10
« on: January 29, 2010, 12:50:44 pm »
Hi,

I know recomendable way is to upgrade and use latest version. BUT, we live in a house and my family got used to LinuxMCE and upgrading of LinuxMCE has to be wel thought in sense of what features are not working in enw version and what are problems in old one that are fixed in 8.10.

So I will post my findings and will be happy if anyone else feels like to add something to this :

Features that are not so good or non-working on 7.10 and are important for my family :
- asterisk simply dies every now and then needs to be restarted. I'm still finding a way to monitor and fix that behaviour with monit - but have to figure out how exactly is Asterisk started under LinuxMCE.
- speech announcements crash squeezeslave that is acting like HW Squeezebox in my system so I had to turn off that device for speech announcements (the cause is that squeezeslave cannot properly handle mono files, but since we don't have any hooks where one could execute some code prior to each speech announcement the solution is not so easy).
- speech announcements also cause problems if Xine player is already playing some music or video. After announcement is done, it goes mad, plays every audio for few seconds and disappears from button next to Media so it cannot be stopped. That's why I've disabled all speech announcements.
- mythtv is not so stable, but that is probably the problem of mythtv.
- beside that I've fixed behavour of few floorplan objects so it's usable (thermostat, Ventilation etc...).
- we really like Fiire Chief and it is really usable and used virtually by each of us on V2 gui on our main TV (EEE box lies behind it)...

The main concerns of upgrading to 8.10 in our case is :
- Fiire chief will not work if I understand right and my other family members simply don't know what to do with the system without Fiire Chief.
- I guess problems with speech announcements stay the same also in 8.10. There is a chance of getting better cause Squeezecenter is probably at higher version , so newer squeezeslave can be used, but I'm not sure on this one.
- I'm not sure if asterisk is of never version and perhaps more stable in 8.10

That are my findings, will be happy to hear yours...

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

20
Hi,

currently one cannot easily find all pictures that are selected in photo screensaver through Web-Admin. When you want to remove all current pictures, you have to traverse all directories....

I'd kindly suggest that making one screen with all selected pictures with basic check/uncheck all would be great enhancement at least for me - I like to change sets of photos that are displayed on screensaver...

Maybe this is already possible, but have missed something ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
 

21
Users / How can I setup which sound card to use with Simplephone ?
« on: October 09, 2009, 01:40:55 pm »
Hi,

I've attached Phoenix under 710 and it seems to appear as second alsa device.

How can I setup Simplephone to use second alsa device ? Maybe config file or database setting out there...

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

22
Hi,

I have latest alpha just upgraded. On few rare occasions I run into this situation - where all screen sessions seem to be dead:
Quote
screen -ls
There are screens on:
        15025.BkgSS-UpdateMediaDaemon.sh        (07/17/2009 09:18:27 AM)        (Detached)
        14943.XWindowSystem     (07/17/2009 09:18:26 AM)        (Dead ???)
        4530.BkgSS-UpdateMediaDaemon.sh (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        16249.MythTV_Player_28  (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        16242.MPlayer_Player_26 (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        16233.Xine_Player_23    (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        16229.SimplePhone_22    (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        15836.Bluetooth_Dongle30        (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        15570.OnScreen_Orbiter21        (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        15000.LMCE_Launch_Manager       (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        12392.Cybrotech_KnxWeb  (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        11956.Text_To_Speech-19 (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        11937.Restart_Myth_Backend      (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        11814.Asterisk-18       (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        11540.HAL-16    (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        11429.App_Server-15     (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        10246.discovery (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        10060.DCERouter (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        8695.SambaRadar (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        8687.StorageStatusRadar (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        8516.SambaRadar (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        6113.VoiceMailMonitor   (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        6104.NewMDinteractor    (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)
        6094.DhcpdPlugin        (07/17/2009 08:16:02 AM)        (Dead ???)

Since this is working sistem and would not like to loose internet connection on rebooting, any other way of starting whole LMCE system from command line ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.


23
Hi,

I've just tried to download pluto orbiter from my alpha latest core and it seems they are all of zero length :
Quote
ls -l /usr/pluto/installers/
total 0
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 2009-01-27 03:32 ImportContacts.zip
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 2009-01-27 03:32 Orbiter.CAB
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 2009-01-27 03:32 Orbiter_CeNet4_x86.CAB
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 2009-01-27 03:32 Orbiter_CeNet4_XScale.CAB
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 2009-01-27 03:32 OrbiterCE_SDL.CAB
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 2009-01-27 03:32 OrbiterInstaller.msi
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 2009-01-27 03:32 PlutoBaSInstaller.msi
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 0 2009-01-27 03:32 PlutoRebootSetup.msi
I've just upgraded, but don't know if that brought up this problem....
Can anyone confirm same situation ?

Regards,

Bulek.

24
Developers / Problem with stability of connection to DCERouter
« on: July 11, 2009, 01:01:20 pm »
Hi,

I've written Home automation system driver in Perl that connects to LMCE as external DCE parent device. But I have constant problems that quite rarely but frequent enough to bug me looses connection to DCERouter.

DCERouter's behaviour is not really consistent in such situations. Here are my findings:

1. Possible "deadlock" when device is disconnected : DCERouter seems to be quite picky if device doesn't respond right away and disconnects it imediately without any message on any of TCP ports... In such case it's hard to determine what happened on device side. The only thing you have is PING-PONG handshake check, but quite often I get into situation, where DCERouter responds with PONG to my PING messages, but device is still declared as not registered on web-admin. That means that my device thinks it's connected, but DCERouter won't send any messages to it and also disregard all messages from device... Not a nice thing to happen.

Proposition:
   1.a It would probably be fine if DCERouter would send a message (possibly with a reason) to a device and then kill TCP port. And also make clear entry in its log...

2. Deadlock when device gets disconnected from DCERouter:
A file "/usr/pluto/locks/pluto_spawned_local_devices.txt" plays significant role. When a device is started then obviously its ID is written to this file. Now, for instance if device gets disconnected as in above scenario, it's entry stays in this file. And if DCERouter is reloaded, then this device won't get started. It also won't receive reload command cause it's disconnected... What helps is full reboot of machine, or manual deletion of device ID from above file and DCERouter's reload...

Proposition:
  2.a DCERouter or someone else should take care of entries in  "/usr/pluto/locks/pluto_spawned_local_devices.txt" if devices are disconnected cause of any emergent reason...

3. Sometimes I cannot register as ASCII client and I receive binary messages :
  On every few connections, I don't register properly for ASCII DCE messages and in this case my device driver gets screwed. I've followed instructions, but I must be missing something in registration procedure that causes DCERouter to send binary messages instead of ASCII. Anyone with more insight in registration procedure ?

General Questions:
- PING-PONG handshake is currently the only way for a device to find out whether it's registered or not - although one can receive proper PONG responses but still being not registered.

  4. Can I use PING-PONG on any TCP port that is connected to LMCE ? 
  5. Any other way for a device to determine whether it's registered or not ?

I'd kindly ask for any more info about DCE registration procedure, advices or opinions if those propositions are sound,

thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.



25
Developers / Status of previously contributed templates via sqlcvs
« on: June 23, 2009, 10:58:26 am »
Hi,

Hi,

I have contributed and created few templates for LinuxMCE (Marantz SR5600 Receiver, Cybrotech Home Automation system, ESS speaker selector, many changes to generic automation devices, etc....). There was a call to all developers to enter those changes via sqlcvs into 7.10... I took time and did commits for each template and they were registered and put into queue...I checked them on 8th January, 2009 and they were Mantis #4287 to Mantis #4292...

Now I've setup test system in my house with latest 810 alpha and I miss those contributions... I remember that smeone said, that those contributions are not lost and there is maybe some chance that they will be processed and entered into 8.10. Are there any updates on that ?

If not, then I'll probably have to do it again from scratch (for the fourth time :-), but that's a long story from Pluto's times...), but I wonder if everything is fixed now regarding sqlcvs contributions and those templates can be entered in reasonable time in main database to be used also on other systems ? I've found brief description - is this the right one ?
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8325.0

I'd also like to brainstorm few changes that are probably required for some more generic devices that are only partly usable (there are questions like  weather is better to have few, more generic devices (lights,temperature,bright sensors, thermostats) or have separate templates for any brand (zwave thermostat, Cybrotech light, etc...). Should I split those questions and brainstorms into separate threads ?

If I remember right my proposals for changes in Climate plugin are already in, and JonDecker also already prepared lighting plugin so it's possible to display dimming state on floorplan, right?

Thanks in advance for your opinions,

regards,

Bulek.

26
Users / Cannot install Orbiter on N800 Chinook
« on: May 07, 2009, 04:51:51 pm »
Hi,

have problems installing n800 Orbiter for Chinook from http://diapub.com/~michael/.

First problem appeared on adding repositories :
 I corrected them manually from "repostory" to "repository"

Now it seems fine, but another error still appears :
"Unable to download lmce-orbiter_installer. Application package not found"....

Can anyone please advice, what is wrong ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

27
Hi,

I know Media Plugin can figure out what is the target if you issue Shuffle command from Orbiter. But how can you trigger shuffle of actively playing playlist from outside other sources than Orbiters (for instance from Scenarios or Events handler).

How can I distinguish between more media players to shuffle only particular one ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

bulek.

28
Users / Core vs Hybrid in practice ?
« on: April 17, 2009, 12:19:37 pm »
Hi,

I'm installing LMCE Core/Hybrid into a cabinet and I won't use it as hybrid (no graphic output). I remember reading about that it's absolutely better to install hybrid cause of easier configuration, but I'm curious what is the best way to do this :
- install Core  or
- install Hybrid and later try to start without X  or
- install Hybrid and forget about X that is running .

Any related expreience would help me a lot ...

Thanks in advance,


regards,

Bulek.

29
Hi,

in our home we have central touchscreen located in kitchen and we control eveything through UI1.

But since a lot of usefull family stuff is also present on Web, I would like to enhance touchscreen experience when web browsing under on-screen Orbiter.

Are there any alternative browsers, Firefox add-ons, special web-page changing sites or tools for better touchscreen experience (I remember similar featurs on mobile browsers) or anything similar for doing convenient web browsing with touchscreen ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.



in

30
Hi,

I'm using my Home automation driver that I wrote my self. It's an external application that connects to DCERouter over two sockets.

To increase stability of the app, I implemented PING-PONG queries to check whether device is still registered with DCERouter (cause for some odd reasons DCERouter disconnects occasionally  - details in another thread in this forum), but sometimes I also spot that DCERouter upon registration responds with scrambled characters - I suspect that it responds with "binary" DCE messages and not text as I want to register.... I've followed closely docs on Wiki, but it seems that something is still missing - or am I the only one using text DCE connection ?

Anyone with similar experience ?

Anyone using text DCE interface ? Is it stable ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 12