LinuxMCE Forums

General => Feature requests & roadmap => Topic started by: bongowongo on March 23, 2010, 04:01:11 pm

Title: Reset LinuxMCE install to default values
Post by: bongowongo on March 23, 2010, 04:01:11 pm
After noumerous installs, because of testing and breaking the core into pieces, isn't there an easy way to make a "Back to factory / fresh install settings". If you press this button it will take you back to the settings of just after a succesfull install? Maybe it is also possible to make a button to do it at certain periods of the install, so you can rollback to those settings.
Any ideas if this is feasably and should be on our wishlist.
Title: Re: Reset LinuxMCE install to default values
Post by: wombiroller on March 27, 2010, 08:29:41 am
Hi bongowongo,

Might not do everything you need, but the sqlCVS Update may do at least part of it.

E.g. - will reset templates if you have screwed them up (like I had once)....many options to check.

admin page => Advanced => sqlCVS => Update
Title: Re: Reset LinuxMCE install to default values
Post by: pw44 on March 28, 2010, 03:51:28 pm
Wouldn't it be admin page => Advanced => sqlCVS => DIFF  - next - REVERT and then admin page => Advanced => sqlCVS => Update?
Title: Re: Reset LinuxMCE install to default values
Post by: jimbodude on March 29, 2010, 11:30:21 pm
sqlCVS will only help you with templates, unless you know exactly what you're doing.  You should not do any updates or reverts on any repositories except "dce" and "ir" unless specifically instructed to by someone who knows what they're doing very well.  If you do things incorrectly with sqlCVS, you will hose your installation, and have to start over.
Title: Re: Reset LinuxMCE install to default values
Post by: chrisbirkinshaw on June 04, 2010, 10:37:44 am
How about having a backup made by default called "Factory Defaults", which users could then restore from the web interface?
Title: Re: Reset LinuxMCE install to default values
Post by: posde on June 04, 2010, 02:49:31 pm
A small note on sqlCVS and how it works:

When you sqlCVS update, sqlCVS updates all records that you have not touched with updated information, and adds new records.
sqlCVS update NEVER touches changes you did.
If you want to revert changes you did, go to sqlCVS diff, and mark the ones you want reverted, and click revert (as has been highlighted by pw44)
Make sure you do the above steps for each and every repo SEPERATE! Otherwise, the update might not happen correct.

Hope this helps.