LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: skeptic on August 21, 2009, 12:43:33 am

Title: vbox + lmce 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: skeptic on August 21, 2009, 12:43:33 am
As an offshoot from another thread, I wanted to see if I could get 810 alpha working in vbox with ui2 + overlay (opengl).  This isn't a detailed howto, but here are the steps I did.

The reason I did this was to get 810-alpha/ui2 working in vbox as I don't have a spare computer, but I hope to have time to work on a new skin idea.  I have not tried ui2+blending.
Title: Re: vbox + lmce 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: merkur2k on August 21, 2009, 05:07:01 am
thats cool that you got it to work :)
Title: Re: vbox + lmce 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: rperre on June 16, 2010, 11:12:09 pm
I know this is an old post, but does anybody have lmce running in virtualbox?

If so could you please post a working xorg.conf here.

Thank you,

Richard
Title: Re: vbox + lmce 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: bongowongo on June 17, 2010, 10:24:58 am
I ran it in virtualbox, never had to do anything with the xorg.conf file
Title: Re: vbox + lmce 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: valent on June 17, 2010, 12:53:10 pm
Great guide, please post it to the wiki also.

I used latest iso image both in kvm and vbox but couldn't get zwave to work via usb stick :(
Title: Re: vbox + lmce 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: rperre on June 17, 2010, 07:10:14 pm
i ran the install from my builder and it's not showing up anything.

Strange, i'll re-install and see if it works, i updated virtualbox to 3.2.4 including the guest additions

There are 2 guides in the wiki already.

Mine is showing the white letters, but when the green bar appears to show the orbiter/wizard it goes to 99% paused and than restart the process.

Richard
Title: Re: vbox + lmce 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: valent on July 01, 2010, 10:58:04 am
There are two pages in WIKI but one needs to be deleted [1] and other is a stub [2] that needs people's attention to make it usable, currently it is actually not user friendly and also has some outdated info. I fixed some of glaring issues with that page and hope you all jump in and also make it better.

This is the WIKI page that should be edited - http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Install_LinuxMCE_On_VirtualBox

Cheers.

[1] http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LinuxMCE_0810_on_Virtualbox_3.1
[2] http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Install_LinuxMCE_On_VirtualBox
Title: Re: vbox + lmce 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: purps on July 01, 2010, 12:05:43 pm
I will try and update this wiki entry with instructions as to how to run the diskless MD in VBox too.
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: rperre on October 08, 2010, 04:08:11 pm
This is for UI2 peeps, please don't answer "UI1" is working, I know.

Digging this up, i saw some text in the irc channel that people (Bongowongo?) have this working, can you please post the xorg.conf file here for review and a brief explanation on how you got it to work.

I pretty much tried everything i know of, but still get "Orbiter failed to initialize OpenGL"

This is for running ui2...... ui1 seems to running just fine.

Thank you,

Richard
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: bongowongo on October 08, 2010, 04:30:30 pm
Hmm well I did it a while ago and my brain says everything worked fine.
I will make a new test install soon, but I cannot now because I am waiting for my new switch as soon as possible I will dig in.
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: purps on October 08, 2010, 05:16:57 pm
Don't you need to install "guest additions" on the MD for the graphics to work properly?
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: muumu on October 08, 2010, 08:32:28 pm
Dont know if this helps but managed to installed 8.10 beta 2 to VMware player under Win XP and LinuxMCE appears to work ok. I thin kI was running it without accelerated gfxs. No changes needed to conf files but VMware installed some additions by itself. Nice way to evaluate the LinuxMCE.

I think it would be great to have a virtual appliance for evaluation purposes available.
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: phenigma on October 08, 2010, 09:00:34 pm
Don't you need to install "guest additions" on the MD for the graphics to work properly?

I think you also have to enable 'hardware video acceleration' in vbox for that machine.

J.
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: purps on October 09, 2010, 01:34:38 pm
Don't you need to install "guest additions" on the MD for the graphics to work properly?

I think you also have to enable 'hardware video acceleration' in vbox for that machine.

J.

Absolutely. I'm going to give this another go today, see what happens.
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: rperre on October 09, 2010, 07:48:04 pm
you definitely need guest additions installed imo which i did.

I tried copying the original xorg.conf after installing a "plain" ubuntu 08.10 with guest additions, but no help

I have it setup with Enable 3D Acceleration checked

here is a plain xorg.conf

Code: [Select]
Section "Device"
        Identifier "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "Configured Monitor"
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Default Screen"
        Monitor         "Configured Monitor"
        Device          "Configured Video Device"
EndSection

here is the one after lmce install

Code: [Select]
Section "Device"
        Identifier "Configured Video Device"
        Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
        Option "renderAccel" "true"
        Option "NoDDCValue"
        Option "UseEDID" "true"
        Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
        Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes, AllowNon60HzDFPModes, NoEdidModes"
        Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
        Option "UseEvents" "true"
        Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
        Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
        Option          "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "Configured Monitor"
        Modeline        "1024x768" 60.80 1024 1056 1128 1272 768 768 770 796
        HorizSync       20-500
        VertRefresh     59-61
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Default Screen"
        Monitor         "Configured Monitor"
        Device          "Configured Video Device"
        Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
        Option "renderAccel" "true"
        Option "NoDDCValue"
        Option "UseEDID" "true"
        Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
        Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes, AllowNon60HzDFPModes, NoEdidModes"
        Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
        Option "UseEvents" "true"
        Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
        Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
        Option  "TVStandard"    "1024x768"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
        Option "Composite" "false"
        Option "RENDER" "true"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
        Option "AutoAddDevices" "False"
EndSection

here is one where i added vboxvideo as the driver

Code: [Select]
Section "Device"
        Identifier "Configured Video Device"
        Driver "vboxvideo"
        Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
        Option "renderAccel" "true"
        Option "NoDDCValue"
        Option "UseEDID" "true"
        Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
        Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes, AllowNon60HzDFPModes, NoEdidModes"
        Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
        Option "UseEvents" "true"
        Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
        Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
        Option          "ConnectedMonitor" "CRT"
EndSection

Section "Monitor"
        Identifier      "Configured Monitor"
        Modeline        "1024x768" 60.80 1024 1056 1128 1272 768 768 770 796
        HorizSync       20-500
        VertRefresh     59-61
EndSection

Section "Screen"
        Identifier      "Default Screen"
        Monitor         "Configured Monitor"
        Device          "Configured Video Device"
        Option "XvmcUsesTextures" "true"
        Option "renderAccel" "true"
        Option "NoDDCValue"
        Option "UseEDID" "true"
        Option "ExactModeTimingsDVI" "true"
        Option "NoLogo" "true"
        Option "NoBandWidthTest" "true"
        Option "ModeValidation" "NoDFPNativeResolutionCheck, NoEdidMaxPClkCheck, NoMaxPClkCheck, AllowInterlacedModes, AllowNon60HzDFPModes, NoEdidModes"
        Option "DynamicTwinView" "false"
        Option "UseEvents" "true"
        Option "AllowGLXWithComposite" "true"
        Option "AddARGBGLXVisuals" "true"
        Option  "TVStandard"    "1024x768"
EndSection

Section "Extensions"
        Option "Composite" "false"
        Option "RENDER" "true"
EndSection

Section "ServerFlags"
        Option "AutoAddDevices" "False"
EndSection

None of these do ui2 for me,

Richard


Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: bongowongo on October 10, 2010, 12:29:49 am
Does it maybe has something to do with the host hardware?
I have a 4 core, ATI 3850 1024 mb vid, and 4 gb memory, maybe the other succesfull users can share?
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: rperre on October 10, 2010, 12:37:58 am
i'm running quad core Q6600 on an gigabyte board 4G memory and a GeForce 8800 GTS with 320Mb onboard

Richard
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: rperre on October 10, 2010, 04:40:10 pm
I think i'm looking in the wrong direction here. Seems that X-server doesn't use the xorg.conf, maybe i could use hal.

I'm still looking in this issue, it would be nice to work on some gui and simple device stuff of a virtualbox LinuxMCE build and leaving the real core alone :)

Richard
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: commsbyte on October 30, 2010, 02:18:27 pm
Any one made any progress on this topic. I would be interested to learn how UI2 works in virtualbox.

Many Thanks
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: rperre on October 30, 2010, 05:10:47 pm
Well, somehow both Bongowongo and tkmedia get it to work. Main thing i noticed was that they do NOT use vbox additions. So just plain install of the DVD snapshot.

So try it.. make sure you have enough room (40Gb or so on the virtual disc) and set 3D acceleration to on and the video memory to 128Mb.
It might just be my setup, don't know.

I however still get the "failed to initialize OpenGL", i would still like this to work so i can do some "learning" without touching the real core in my house.

Richard
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: commsbyte on November 01, 2010, 08:03:25 pm
Hi Richard,

I hope to bring you some news. I worked out that the reason opengl does not work is because the nvidia drivers are installed with linuxmce.
I read that having the nvidia drivers installed can prevent X from working for some graphics chipsets, mine being one of them.

So I knew that my intel graphics chipset worked fine for virtualbox guest running Ubuntu 9.10 with Xserver 1.6. So short of having to to much effort I have taken a bit of a quick win approach by replacing the the symlink libglx.so pointing to the nvidia libglx.so.195.36.15
I then tested glxinfo and this indicated glx was working, so then ran AVwizard again with UI2, and it all worked perfectly fine.

replace /usr/lib/xorg/modules/extensions/libglx.so with the one from xserver 1.6 which I You can download here http://mce.commsbyte.com/index.php?option=com_joomdoc&task=doc_details&gid=30&Itemid=25 (http://mce.commsbyte.com/index.php?option=com_joomdoc&task=doc_details&gid=30&Itemid=25)

Now I wont lie to you, your opengl results in virtual guest will vary, mine seems to run nicely once i disable the screen saver, but at least I have a usable UI2 menu, granted its not native speed, but its good enough for what I wanted to do.

Please test and set to Solved if it works for you.
Regards
Jezz
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: rperre on November 01, 2010, 10:13:07 pm
i will defenitely try this and report back

Richard
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: commsbyte on November 04, 2010, 10:33:51 am
Had a bit more time to look at this, and realised the reason the UI2 is a bit slow in teh guest is because its using software rendering. You see this when you run glxinfo. Again under 9.10; Direct Rendering=YES in the guest

So I will look to see what needs to be done to get direct rendering working. Unless anyone can contribute to help resolve this?

Regards
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: rperre on November 04, 2010, 11:04:01 pm
commsbyte: it works, this is great. At least it's a work around for now.

It's a bit slow, but not looking for performance here at this point.

If you find the fix for hardware rendering, please post,

Richard
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: commsbyte on November 05, 2010, 11:30:35 pm
Your wish is my command  ;D
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: commsbyte on November 05, 2010, 11:53:07 pm

Ok so to work the rendering out, I figured that glxinfo was pointing the dri module still at the nvidia one....
Since glxinfo outpus still says:
client glx vendor string: NVIDIA Corporation

Therefore to fix this to get hardware render,
run following commands

rm /usr/lib/libGL.so.1
ln -s /usr/lib/nvidia/libGL.so.1.2.xlibmesa /usr/lib/libGL.so.1

Let me know your result, you should pretty much be able to run this vm as a full media director now. I can hardly tell its virtual now, the only difference now is still can only get virtual stereo sound, but I can live with that. Maybe one day someone will write an audio passthru driver to utilize the audio directly.

Regards
Commsbyte
 8)
Title: Re: vbox + LinuxMCE 0810-alpha + ui2 = working
Post by: rperre on November 06, 2010, 03:01:39 pm
commsbyte,

This works much better, still a little laggy for me, but much better then before. I do not care about the sound either, this is just for testing stuff.

I added this to the wiki for virtualbox.

Thanks,

Richard