LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: Viking on May 07, 2009, 01:03:34 pm

Title: How can I use a Zwave button ? (Merten 508044)
Post by: Viking on May 07, 2009, 01:03:34 pm
Hi,

I have bought an Merten Switch for switching the light on in a room where there is no light switch at an appropiate place. I have included it in the zwave network and it was detected and a notice on the orbiter came up. So far so good :)

Now how do I get it to switch on the light in that room ?
(Prefferable also working if LinuxMCE should not be working - but that is secondly).

Greetings
Viking
Title: Re: How can I use a Zwave button ? (Merten 508044)
Post by: posde on May 07, 2009, 01:21:35 pm
You need an actor that turns on the light. For example the dimmer actor 507900, i reckon.
Title: Re: How can I use a Zwave button ? (Merten 508044)
Post by: Viking on May 07, 2009, 01:33:46 pm
Hi,

I have got some dimmers and light switches and I can switch on the light in the room using an orbiter or the web interface, but now I have no idea how to configure the wall button ...

Greetings
Viking
Title: Re: How can I use a Zwave button ? (Merten 508044)
Post by: Domodude on May 07, 2009, 04:21:53 pm
Try the method that Merten advises for small networks, with the triple tap on the pushbutton and switch/dimmer. I think this should work even after you add the swtiches and dimmers to your LMCE-controlled network.
Title: Re: How can I use a Zwave button ? (Merten 508044)
Post by: totallymaxed on May 07, 2009, 05:58:10 pm
Hi,

I have got some dimmers and light switches and I can switch on the light in the room using an orbiter or the web interface, but now I have no idea how to configure the wall button ...

Greetings
Viking

You should include it into your ZWave network first otherwise it will not be able to communicate with your other devices. Then you need to associate it with the load controller that you want it to control.

All the best

Andrew
Title: Re: How can I use a Zwave button ? (Merten 508044)
Post by: hari on May 07, 2009, 06:23:07 pm
as the sleeping device detection now works properly (thanks to 2 external bugfix contributions), we can use the SetAssociation command for that even with the Merten Switches in the future. I just need to honor the node info frame as wake up event and queue the association request till then. Some web guy could then make a nice web gui for it :-)

br, Hari
Title: Re: How can I use a Zwave button ? (Merten 508044)
Post by: tschak909 on May 07, 2009, 06:59:06 pm
i wonder if we could make orbiter UIs for that stuff too... hmmmm

-Thom
Title: Re: How can I use a Zwave button ? (Merten 508044)
Post by: totallymaxed on May 07, 2009, 07:03:47 pm
as the sleeping device detection now works properly (thanks to 2 external bugfix contributions), we can use the SetAssociation command for that even with the Merten Switches in the future. I just need to honor the node info frame as wake up event and queue the association request till then. Some web guy could then make a nice web gui for it :-)

br, Hari

Cool ;-)

Andrew
Title: Re: How can I use a Zwave button ? (Merten 508044)
Post by: totallymaxed on May 07, 2009, 07:04:57 pm
i wonder if we could make orbiter UIs for that stuff too... hmmmm

-Thom

Also cool ;-)

Andrew
Title: Re: How can I use a Zwave button ? (Merten 508044)
Post by: Viking on May 09, 2009, 02:11:13 pm

You should include it into your ZWave network first otherwise it will not be able to communicate with your other devices. Then you need to associate it with the load controller that you want it to control.
OK, I already added the button to the ZWave network before wrinting the first post ;) but after that it gives me a red light if I press the button. So how can I associate it with the load controller ? Also pressing three times within 1,5 seconds does not bring it into programming mode.

I assume that "load controller" means the switch that is connected to the light bulb and switches it on/off.

Greetings
Viking
Title: Re: How can I use a Zwave button ? (Merten 508044)
Post by: Viking on May 09, 2009, 02:13:13 pm
Hi Hari,
as the sleeping device detection now works properly (thanks to 2 external bugfix contributions), we can use the SetAssociation command for that even with the Merten Switches in the future. I just need to honor the node info frame as wake up event and queue the association request till then. Some web guy could then make a nice web gui for it :-)
What exactly does that mean ?

Can I somewhere find more information that enlightens me :)

Greetings
Viking