LinuxMCE Forums

General => Installation issues => Topic started by: sedgington on April 27, 2009, 07:18:30 pm

Title: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreePBX?
Post by: sedgington on April 27, 2009, 07:18:30 pm
Hi,
I was under the impression that the extension would be automatically registered in FreePBX (as the other pnp phones are) but it is just not there. Since it is SCCP I am unsure about how to add it manually as there is no default for SCCP. Could anyone please give me a hint?

The problem is that my other SIP extensions can not dial the 7970 because (I think) it is not showing up in FreePBX as an extension. I can dial out and can dial other extensions from the Cisco 7970--they just can't dial me. BTW, Asterisk shows it as registered and sccp.conf shows all the info correctly.

Other than that, once I got religion and actually added my MAC range to the template as described in the Wiki, the script seemed to work flawlessly. Did something just not run?

Any help greatly appreciated.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreePBX?
Post by: posde on April 27, 2009, 07:20:45 pm
Did you get the question, if you want to install the Cisco 7970? It might be, that your Cisco 7970 is using a MAC address outside of the already known ranges.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreeP
Post by: sedgington on April 27, 2009, 08:08:44 pm
No I did that (the got religion part of the post). the MAC address has been added to the template and the phone works fine for everything except receiving calls from other extensions on Asterisk. Do you have a sample extension page from freePBX of the how the Cisco 7970 is installed as an extension? I will just add it manually if I know how to configure it.

Many thanks for your reply.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreePBX?
Post by: posde on April 27, 2009, 08:58:03 pm
It should have been detected automatically. And freepbx setup accordingly.

Remove the Cisco 7970 from your list of devices, reload the router, turn on the phone, and try again.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreeP
Post by: sedgington on April 28, 2009, 04:58:24 pm
Thanks. Tried your suggestion but got exactly the same result:

No extension in FreePBX--but it does show up in linuxmce as a phone;
can dial out and call other extensions but when you try and call it (extension 210) you get the voice message "your call can not be completed as dialed"

Is there a way to force the linuxmce list of phones to sync with FreePBX list of extensions?

Or, do you have a page you could attach to this post showing how it should be set up in FreePBX and I will add it manually?


BTW, when I do a sccp show devices in the asterisk CLI I get:

NAME             ADDRESS         MAC              Reg. State
================ =============== ================ ==========
SEP001B54525B8F  192.168.80.227  SEP001B54525B8F  Ok       

which proves that it has registered with asterisk.

Orbiter also works great.

Just need the rest of the extensions to be able to dial it and I am home.

Any suggestions greatly appreciated.









Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreePBX?
Post by: hari on April 28, 2009, 05:25:24 pm
hmm, my two 7970 worked in 0710 and do fine in 0810... and my SO receives plenty of external calls..
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreeP
Post by: sedgington on April 28, 2009, 06:25:36 pm
Well, that is good news. Would you mind posting what your freepbx page for that extension looks like in 7.10?

I'm starting to think it is a freepbx problem because when I go in and try to add an extension manually, on submit, I get:

"Error: Trying to write null voicemail file! I refuse to contiune!"

Googling this suggests that this is a bug in one of the updates:

http://www.trixbox.org/forums/trixbox-forums/help/problems-creating-extension

This would suggest that when the script tries to add the 7970 as an asterisk extension it hits an error that is undetected on the UI and just dies.

I am using:

FreePBX 2.2.0beta3 on 192.168.80.1

Which freepbx are you/should I be using in 710? Perhaps I upgraded freepbx when I shouldn't have? I remember there were alerts to upgrade some time ago within the interface. If so, is there any way to roll back to the version I should be using from within the files in linuxmce or elsewhere?

If this is the problem, it would be good to share it with the other unsuspecting upgraders out there.

Again, many thanks to everyone for their input.


Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreePBX?
Post by: posde on April 28, 2009, 06:44:10 pm
I am not using freepbx directly at all. I never go in there at all. All I did was plug in the Cisco and be done with it.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreeP
Post by: sedgington on April 28, 2009, 06:57:35 pm
OK. so when you go to Advanced\Configuration\Phone Setup from within the Web Admin on the upper left hand corner of that frame under the FreePBX logo, what version does it say you are using?

If you click on Extensions Under the "Basic" heading on the left under that logo, do any of your cisco 7970 phones show up on the right side? If so, when you click on the link to the Cisco 7970, what does it tell you about how it is set up? Is it a custom phone or something else? Would you be willing to copy or attach that page to this forum as a guide for other Cisco 7970 users?

Many thanks for any help you can offer.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreeP
Post by: posde on April 28, 2009, 07:04:06 pm
OK. so when you go to Advanced\Configuration\Phone Setup from within the Web Admin on the upper left hand corner of that frame under the FreePBX logo, what version does it say you are using?

FreePBX 2.2.0beta3

Quote
If you click on Extensions Under the "Basic" heading on the left under that logo, do any of your cisco 7970 phones show up on the right side?

Yes.

Quote
If so, when you click on the link to the Cisco 7970, what does it tell you about how it is set up? Is it a custom phone or something else? Would you be willing to copy or attach that page to this forum as a guide for other Cisco 7970 users?

No.

You don't get it, do you? You should not need to get into that page. It should be automatically setup. If it does not get setup automatically, THAT is what needs to be investigated. Just fixing this issue, won't help you in the long run.

Did you do anything to your setup in the webadmin. Things like renaming the host, using a different network address, using a different host address for your dcerouter? Do you have two network cards from the beginning, i.e. did not start out with a single NIC and later went to a second NIC.

We need to fix the underlying problem, and not the symptom you are seeing. Please give as much info as to what you manually (in the webadmin and the command line) did to your system, so we can pinpoint, where things failed.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreeP
Post by: sedgington on April 28, 2009, 09:17:03 pm
Well thank you for the information.

My experience with non pnp phones in linuxmce is that you do need to manually set it up and I have been able to do this relatively easily, which is why I have been asking about how the SCCP page is configured so that I can take care of that first and see pretty quickly if that fixes the problem. If not, I will at least have more info from asterisk as it tries to dial the extension.

I agree that there is something wrong, but none of the things you mention have been changed from the default, and everything else is working fine so I am at a loss about how to approach the problem other than follow up on my last post and see if it is a bug in FreePBX.

However, I do appreciate that you did respond to some of my queries, at least I know what it is supposed to do with the same freepbx that I have, although I am a bit confused about your last "No" as to whether you see an extension set up for the 7970 or you are unwilling to copy or attach that page to this forum.

Again, any help from anyone greatly appreciated as this is quite baffling.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreeP
Post by: posde on April 28, 2009, 10:40:41 pm
However, I do appreciate that you did respond to some of my queries, at least I know what it is supposed to do with the same freepbx that I have, although I am a bit confused about your last "No" as to whether you see an extension set up for the 7970 or you are unwilling to copy or attach that page to this forum.

The "No" was in regards to you asking me for a favor ;)

Plug off the Cisco

Delete everything you can find about the Cisco in the device tree. There should be two entries.

Reload the router.

Plug in the Cisco, and let it get detected. Select the room to place the Cisco in, and answer what ever other questions are being asked.

You will need to reboot the Cisco a couple of times, and in the end it should register. And if you click the Globe button, you should see the Orbiter application.

Let me know, how that goes.

Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreeP
Post by: sedgington on April 28, 2009, 11:13:08 pm
OK, well thank you for your input.

I have tried what you describe several times (3 to be exact) with the same result: everything works except for calling the cisco 7970 extension (210 in this case) from an internal extension on the asterisk server. In other words, extensions 200 through 209 can NOT call 210 (the Cisco 7970)  They get the message "Your call can not be completed as dialed." But 210 can call 200 through 209, New York, Switzerland, any where in the world with no problems.

I'm not quite sure why repeating the steps you have suggested again and again is the only solution since we have repeated evidence that it does not work in this situation. Albeit, it should.

Does anyone have the experience to suggest why asterisk is telling the caller "Your call can not be completed as dialed?" in this situation? The sccp.conf file looks fine. Conversely, does anyone have a copy of how their Cisco 7970 extension is set up in FreePBX that they would post?

Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreePBX?
Post by: posde on April 28, 2009, 11:18:43 pm
What happens when you call from an MD?

EDIT: And have a look at the asterisk console, after set verbose 4, to see what is happening during the call, and maybe post it.
Title: RE:Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreeP
Post by: sedgington on April 29, 2009, 09:03:26 pm
Problem solved:

So that no other 7970 users will have to endure what I had to in order to get this working, here is the simple solution that our friend from Orange County either refused to divulge or simply did not know the answer to:

Linuxmce automatically sets up the Cisco 7970 but apparently there are bugs that prevent it from completing this setup occasionally. In my case,everything worked except that you could not call the phone from an internal extension. What you need to do to get this to work:

1) In the web admin got to Wizard\Devices\phones and then scroll down to where the Cisco 7970 is listed in the description column. The bolded number to the left is the pluto device number that has been assigned by the setup script copy that as well as the info in the phone type and phone number boxes.

2) Go to Advanced\Configuration\Phones setup in the column. Under the FreePBX logo you will see "Extensions" click on that. On the right side of that page will be the list of extensions. If you do not see an extension with with the phone number you copied in step 1, you will need to add it.

3) In the drop-down box next to the word "Device" choose, Other (custom) Device, and hit submit. This will take you to a screen that will allow you to fill in various fields.  For the
Display Name put whatever you want --I put Cisco 7970
Outbound CID put something like "pl_142" <210> where 142=the pluto id number from step 1 and 210=the phone number from step 1. The formatting with " and <> needs to be included.
Under Device Options next to Dial put SCCP/210 where SCCP=phone type from step 1 and 210=phone number (this is the secret sauce to getting asterisk to recognize that it is a sccp extension it is dialing.
Under voice mail and directory you will need to select "enable" from the drop down box as there is an apparent bug--at least in my version of FreePBX which is too much trouble to fix.

All the other fields can be left blank or default.

Now hit submit. It will register you SCCP extension and you will see it on the right side of the page.

Click on it. Go back and disable the Voicemail in FreePBX so that you use the linuxmce voicemail instead.
Hit submit again--this time it will accept it without balking that you do not have voicemail.

Now at the top of the page you will see an orange box on a blue background "apply configuration changes" click on that and apply the changes in the next screen.

Go to another extension and call your SCCP Cisco 7970 phone. It should be working now.

Please note, this is the quick and dirty fix using SCCP based on my particular problem. From everything I have read, SCCP is fraught with problems and SIP is the way to go with asterisk--but requires that you either buy a license for the firmware or order the phone with SIP. Perhaps the next release of linuxmce will support SIP configurations of this phone as well.

Happy dialing
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreePBX?
Post by: ivanp on April 29, 2009, 11:31:20 pm
Please make a wiki page for Your problem and how You resolved it. That way people dont have to search the forums to find an answer.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreeP
Post by: sedgington on April 30, 2009, 01:20:42 am
ok
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreePBX?
Post by: dlewis on April 30, 2009, 01:27:58 am
Please make a wiki page for Your problem and how You resolved it. That way people dont have to search the forums to find an answer.

Don't make a seperate wiki site... There is a 7970 wiki site found here: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Cisco_7970 . Add it to that wiki site.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreePBX?
Post by: posde on April 30, 2009, 10:01:01 am
How about not wikiing the stuff, but looking at the configure script for the Cisco 7970 phone and fixing it?

I have installed a few Cisco phones into my LinuxMCE install, and the only thing I ever had to do, was extending the mac range. Nothing else.

So, if you come across a problem with our current configure script, why don't you fix the configure script, so other people do NOT have to manually go around and edit stuff.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreePBX?
Post by: hari on April 30, 2009, 05:29:35 pm
I second possy. Please try to reproduce and debug the issue. 20-step long workarounds do not help, if there is a bug in the setup script it shall be easilly fixed.

br, Hari
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreeP
Post by: sedgington on May 05, 2009, 09:19:48 pm
Gentlemen,

While you figure out what is wrong with the script, would you mind if I posted this to the Wiki to save some other unfortunate soul the frustration of having the expensive and highly lauded device they have purchased for use with linuxmce not working? I mean, I am thrilled that it works for some or most, but it did not work here and took quite a bit of time to figure it out--and it did not have to do with changing the mac range. Unless I hear otherwise I will go ahead, but please let me know if a fix is nearing completion.

Many thanks for all your help.

Best regards.
Title: Re: Should the Cisco 7970 pnp scripts automatically register the device in FreePBX?
Post by: bugui on May 06, 2009, 06:33:41 am
Hello,
I have a 7970 running at home, and I setup it using the document on the wiki, and without any problems. It was PNP for me.
I think that your issue is not a common one, maybe you didn't complete the procedure and you unplug and re-plug the phone again.
Did you turn off the phone before doing a reload router?.

Sorry by my english

Regards
Hernan