LinuxMCE Forums

General => Developers => Topic started by: pigdog on April 04, 2009, 10:35:07 pm

Title: 810 Alpha2
Post by: pigdog on April 04, 2009, 10:35:07 pm
Hi all,

I'm trying this out on my setup just a Core, 2 MD's and a NAS.

I'm on my second attempt.  The first try I couldn't get past a network boot issue. 

This cleared up after downloading and re-installing the alpha2 load again.

My second attempt everything seems to be going along to what I have read on various wikis.

Presently I have a Sempron based processor and a Athlon64 based as MD's.

I've got an xorg problem to sort out on the Sempron/ATI card (it can be swapped for a 6XXX series NVIDIA).   (xorg or fglrx/kernel)

Since my Athlon is 64 bit I need to get into webadmin to change it to i386.

I've looked all over but since the launch manger is no more how do I run webadmin from a command line?

One thing on this load is I've lost my consoles/workspaces.  I've only F1 and F8 to look at messages.

F7 is MCE.  I'm using terminal on Kubuntu.

Thanks.
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: pigdog on April 04, 2009, 11:28:29 pm
Hi,

I got my Sempron MD with the ATI card sorted out - at least to start.

I tried to copy over the pluto xorg file but she was a no go.

I copied my Core xorg changed the driver to vesa and it worked.

I'll worry about ATI drivers next.

Still need webadmin access for the AMD64 machine.
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: colinjones on April 05, 2009, 03:00:07 am
Web admin is just the web site, point your browser to the core....
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: orgel on April 05, 2009, 01:01:42 pm
Have you done a kernel update:

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LinuxMCE-0810_alpha2#Upgrading_kernel

There is a issue with the fglrx driver
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: pigdog on April 05, 2009, 03:02:07 pm
Hi colinjones.

Under KDE desktop there is a Linux Media Center icon (same if I open Konqueror/Desktop)

Whenever I launch it I am prompted for a password.  I entered my user password and nothing happened.

I've tried linuxmce as the password and received Incorrect password, please try again.

So O.K. it recognized passwords.

I opened Konqueror went to usr/share/applications and ran lmce_launch_manager.desktop and nothing happened.

I can launch mplayer.desktop and firefox.desktop no problem.

I tried running LM from a command line and got the following...

-su: [Desktop: command not found
-su: Media: command not found
-su: Startup: command not found
(date time etc) Lock 'Launch Manager' (LM)
(date time etc) Lock 'Launch Manager' (LM) fail
LM already running
-su: Application: command not found
-su: Audio: command not found
-su: Music: command not found
-su: Player: command not found
-su: AudioVideo: command not found
-su: X-Ximian-Main: command not found
-su: X-Novell-Main: command not found
-su: X-Red-Hat-Base: command not found

That's why I thought there is something wrong with the Launch Manager.

I checked the wikis and saw the part about launch manager being no more.

So I thought I needed to run webadmin from a command line (even though when I did a search I could find nothing called webadmin) .

So right now I'm confused because I don't understand what you mean by pointing my browser to the core?

Sorry.
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: pigdog on April 05, 2009, 03:11:02 pm
Hi orgel.

I saw the wiki about the kernel upgrade.

Quote- I've got an xorg problem to sort out on the Sempron/ATI card (it can be swapped for a 6XXX series NVIDIA).   (xorg or fglrx/kernel)

What was happening on the MD was an X window failed to start error on the screen.

When I copied the xorg from the core to the MD and changed it to vesa I got the AVWizard to run on the MD.

I should have explained things better.

Thanks for your help.
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: orgel on April 05, 2009, 06:37:25 pm
Webadmin can be called over each webbrowser. Since 0810 the launch manager runs as service. Then you can configure the MD device.
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: pigdog on April 05, 2009, 08:11:20 pm
Oh!  (Slap self on back of head.)

Thanks orgel and colinjones.

(Slap self again on back of head.)

I guess I couldn't see the forest for all the trees.

Cheers.
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: schaferj on April 10, 2009, 04:59:44 pm
Hey pigdog,
Another thing to consider is that the workspaces may just be very slow in coming up.  I had the same issue where only F1 & F8 were up.

I redid 0810 aplha2 several times - and then left it for a while and the workspaces eventually were available. 

joseph
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: pigdog on April 10, 2009, 05:17:38 pm
O.K.

Thanks Joseph.  I'll give it a try and see if they appear.

Cheers.
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: pigdog on April 18, 2009, 02:33:05 pm
Hi,

Just an update...

I've never gotten the other workspaces on the Core, just F1, F7 & F8.

However, I've always had them on my MD's.

Thanks.
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: rocketlynx on May 12, 2009, 07:07:46 pm
First, to the developers, great work on Alpha2 so far!

Yesterday, I disconnected my HD with a running 710 install on it, and replaced it with a different one and installed 810 with the latest, alpha2.19.  All went extremely well.  I then connected my diskless MD with an ASUS M3N78-EM mobo, in an Antec Fusion V2 case (VFD), and powered it up.  No more r8168 NIC problems and the on-board nVidia 8300 graphics adapter was recognized correctly.  It created perfectly,  new MD recognition, created diskless image, Sarah came on and rebooted without problems.  It set up an AMD64 image, of which I changed to an i386, regenerated the MD, an rebooted correctly.

I don't know if I needed to change the MD from AMD64 to i386 but I have heard that it may be easier getting the Antec (iMon) IR/VFW to work easier on an i386 diskless MD image. 

Just for info, I have an D-Link 920, IP Camera working in a motion wrapper and I have my x-10 CM11a and about (15) X-10 devices working and placed on floorplans.  All working as they did in LinuxMCE 710 with no problems.

Unknowns to me!   I've read the forum info but I have not definitively found what I'm looking for.

1. Does the Launch Manager exist and is just not staring automatically?
a.  If so, where is it and how do you start it?
b.  After updating and waiting  for over 24 hrs., there still is no Add Software items to install such as the Codecs for DVD and such.

Since I couldn't play or rip DVD movies, on the core's Konsole I did a "sudo apt-get install libdvdcss2" and all was well after that.  I could then play and rip DVDs on the core.  On the running MD, I invoked the konsole and executed the same command and then I could play the ripped dvds from the core.

Ripping and playing audio CDs were no problem.

I have yet to set up the IR/VFD on the Fusion V2, and to switch the diskless MD with the M3N78-EM mobo from VGA to HDMI and test it on my Mitsubishi DLP to check for proper output and a higher UI.

Charles
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: pigdog on May 12, 2009, 07:35:50 pm
Hi rocketlynx,

Are you still running 2.11?  LMCE got some improvements along the way as of 2.19 "Launch manager is now started in its own screen session".

There is no add software as yet (2.19) via the wizard.

Cheers.
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: rocketlynx on May 12, 2009, 07:54:30 pm
pigdog,

 I updated my previous post I am running alpha2.19, I installed it on 05/11/2009.  So now that you know I'm on the latest, did I miss something?  Launch Manager is not running as far as I can tell.  When I go to the KDE, it's not there unless I'm suppose to invoke it somehow.

Charles
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: pigdog on May 12, 2009, 09:03:06 pm
Hi,

KDE Desktop > KDE Application Launch Icon > Applications > Multimedia > Linux Media Center.

If you click it on a MD (it's already running) it will kick you back to OrbiterGL.
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: merkur2k on May 12, 2009, 09:48:29 pm
I believe launch manager is now a linux service that has no gui so you wont see it on the kde desktop.
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: rocketlynx on May 12, 2009, 09:51:21 pm
Thanks, I get it now.  I was looking for the old GUI.
Charles
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: Marie.O on May 12, 2009, 11:51:34 pm
rocketlynx,

thanks for your positive feedback. That is very much appreciated!

I don't know if I needed to change the MD from AMD64 to i386 but I have heard that it may be easier getting the Antec (iMon) IR/VFW to work easier on an i386 diskless MD image. 
you don't need to do that anymore. All MDs are running i386 atm, no matter what the setting.
Quote
1. Does the Launch Manager exist and is just not staring automatically?
a.  If so, where is it and how do you start it?
The Launch Manager is a CLI application at the moment. There were to many dependencies in the old launch manager, that jondecker took on the task to recreate it.
Quote
b.  After updating and waiting  for over 24 hrs., there still is no Add Software items to install such as the Codecs for DVD and such.
There is currently no additional software available.
Quote
Since I couldn't play or rip DVD movies, on the core's Konsole I did a "sudo apt-get install libdvdcss2" and all was well after that.  I could then play and rip DVDs on the core.  On the running MD, I invoked the konsole and executed the same command and then I could play the ripped dvds from the core.
That is the correct way at the moment.
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: rocketlynx on May 14, 2009, 02:11:44 am
After a successful install of 810 alpha2.19 I've hit a glitch.
 
I'm installing an iOne Libra-Q11 IR remote and receiver made by Itron on a diskless MD.  It's supposedly supported in lirc_mceusb2. No driver is linked!

This Topic Moved To: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8145.0
===========================================================

root@moon32:~# modinfo lirc_mceusb2
filename:       /lib/modules/2.6.27-11-generic/kernel/ubuntu/lirc/lirc_mceusb2.ko
license:        GPL
author:         Daniel Melander <lirc@rajidae.se>, Martin Blatter <martin_a_blatter@yahoo.com>
description:    Philips eHome USB IR Transceiver and Microsoft MCE 2005 Remote Control driver for LIRC
srcversion:     C25EC95198EA9588DC14D17
alias:          usb:v1934p0602d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v147ApE018d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v147ApE017d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v147ApE015d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v045Ep00A0d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v043Ep9803d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v1509p9242d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v195Dp7002d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v179Dp0010d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v1784p0008d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v1784p0007d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v1784p0006d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v1784p0001d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v03EEp2501d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v107Bp3009d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v051CpC001d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v1308pC001d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v1460p9150d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v0609p0334d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v0609p0322d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v0609p031Dd*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v0471p060Dd*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v0471p060Cd*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
alias:          usb:v0471p0815d*dc*dsc*dp*ic*isc*ip*
depends:        usbcore,lirc_dev
vermagic:       2.6.27-11-generic SMP mod_unload modversions 586
parm:           debug:Debug enabled or not (bool)
root@moon32:~#

It's recognized by lsusb:

root@moon32:~# lsusb
Bus 004 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 003 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0002 Linux Foundation 2.0 root hub
Bus 002 Device 002: ID 0a12:0001 Cambridge Silicon Radio, Ltd Bluetooth Dongle (HCI mode)
Bus 002 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
Bus 001 Device 005: ID 195d:7002 Itron Technology iONE Libra-Q11 IR remote
Bus 001 Device 004: ID 046d:c016 Logitech, Inc. M-UV69a/HP M-UV96 Optical Wheel Mouse
Bus 001 Device 001: ID 1d6b:0001 Linux Foundation 1.1 root hub
root@moon32:~#

And here's the results after modifying Template #1862, as per the Wiki, and selecting mceusb2 as the IR Receiver for the MD:

root@moon32:~# sudo cat /proc/bus/usb/devices                                                                           

T:  Bus=01 Lev=01 Prnt=01 Port=03 Cnt=02 Dev#=  5 Spd=12  MxCh= 0
D:  Ver= 1.10 Cls=00(>ifc ) Sub=00 Prot=00 MxPS=16 #Cfgs=  1
P:  Vendor=195d ProdID=7002 Rev= 0.00
S:  Manufacturer=?
S:  Product=Itron Infrared Transceiver
S:  SerialNumber=MI0007DX
C:* #Ifs= 1 Cfg#= 1 Atr=a0 MxPwr=100mA
I:* If#= 0 Alt= 0 #EPs= 2 Cls=ff(vend.) Sub=ff Prot=ff Driver=(none)
E:  Ad=01(O) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS=  16 Ivl=0ms
E:  Ad=81(I) Atr=02(Bulk) MxPS=  16 Ivl=0ms
root@moon32:~#

On the MD, the software shows to be being installed in the upper left corner of the orbiter and after a router reload, the MD shows that the device #83/mceusb2 fails to start up.

The Bluetooth Dongle in the adjacent usb port starts correctly and a usb mouse also works.  I've double checked the template #1862 as follows:

From                          0
To                             0
Vendor Model ID          195d7002
PNP protocol               Xap
Serial Number       
Parms                        175|pci
PNP detection script    
Comment:                   Itron iONE Libra-Q11 IR Remote

NOTE: I tried this:
root@moon32:~# depmod -ae
root@moon32:~#
(Completed OK)

And then a modprobe of lirc_mceusb2:

root@moon32:~# modprobe lirc_mceusb2
FATAL: Error inserting lirc_mceusb2 (/lib/modules/2.6.27-11-generic/kernel/ubuntu/lirc/lirc_mceusb2.ko): Unknown symbol in module, or unknown parameter (see dmesg)
root@moon32:~#

After checking dmesg:
root@moon32:~# dmesg

It revealed the following: (unnecessary data output at top left off)

[/b]
[   22.839199] NET: Registered protocol family 31
[   22.839263] Bluetooth: HCI device and connection manager initialized
[   22.839337] Bluetooth: HCI socket layer initialized
[   22.848075] lirc_mceusb2: Unknown symbol lirc_get_pdata
[   22.848289] lirc_mceusb2: Unknown symbol lirc_unregister_plugin
[   22.848951] lirc_mceusb2: Unknown symbol lirc_register_plugin

[   22.862784] Bluetooth: Generic Bluetooth USB driver ver 0.3
[   22.862935] usbcore: registered new interface driver btusb
[   23.299760] HDA Intel 0000:00:07.0: power state changed by ACPI to D0
[   23.300282] ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LAZA] enabled at IRQ 20
[   23.300353] HDA Intel 0000:00:07.0: PCI INT A -> Link[LAZA] -> GSI 20 (level, low) -> IRQ 20
[   23.300451] HDA Intel 0000:00:07.0: setting latency timer to 64
[   23.334875] hda_codec: Unknown model for ALC883, trying auto-probe from BIOS...
[   32.633110] NET: Registered protocol family 10
[   32.633547] lo: Disabled Privacy Extensions
[   33.607884] warning: `ntpd' uses 32-bit capabilities (legacy support in use)
[   37.965963] powernow-k8: Found 1 AMD Athlon(tm) 7750 Dual-Core Processor processors (2 cpu cores) (version 2.20.00)
[   37.965997] powernow-k8:    0 : pstate 0 (2700 MHz)
[   37.966000] powernow-k8:    1 : pstate 1 (1400 MHz)
[   40.970899] apm: BIOS version 1.2 Flags 0x03 (Driver version 1.16ac)
[   40.970904] apm: disabled - APM is not SMP safe.
[   41.110424] lp0: using parport0 (interrupt-driven).
[   41.156991] ppdev: user-space parallel port driver
[   43.108100] eth0: no IPv6 routers present
[   79.194649] Installing knfsd (copyright (C) 1996 okir@monad.swb.de).
[   79.855420] NFSD: Using /var/lib/nfs/v4recovery as the NFSv4 state recovery directory
[   79.856303] NFSD: starting 90-second grace period
[   88.066514] Bluetooth: L2CAP ver 2.11
[   88.066521] Bluetooth: L2CAP socket layer initialized
[   88.102513] Bluetooth: RFCOMM socket layer initialized
[   88.102530] Bluetooth: RFCOMM TTY layer initialized
[   88.102533] Bluetooth: RFCOMM ver 1.10
[   88.143992] Bluetooth: SCO (Voice Link) ver 0.6
[   88.143999] Bluetooth: SCO socket layer initialized
[   88.184590] Bluetooth: BNEP (Ethernet Emulation) ver 1.3
[   88.184598] Bluetooth: BNEP filters: protocol multicast
[   88.313956] Bridge firewalling registered
[  345.528890] ppdev0: registered pardevice
[  345.576541] ppdev0: unregistered pardevice
[  347.081260] ppdev0: registered pardevice
[  347.128600] ppdev0: unregistered pardevice
[  347.164164] ppdev0: registered pardevice
[  347.212488] ppdev0: unregistered pardevice
[12356.112502] CE: hpet increasing min_delta_ns to 15000 nsec
[17700.112269] CE: hpet increasing min_delta_ns to 22500 nsec
[22315.058388] lirc_mceusb2: Unknown symbol lirc_get_pdata
[22315.058667] lirc_mceusb2: Unknown symbol lirc_unregister_plugin
[22315.059854] lirc_mceusb2: Unknown symbol lirc_register_plugin
[23012.469826] lirc_mceusb2: Unknown symbol lirc_get_pdata
[23012.470106] lirc_mceusb2: Unknown symbol lirc_unregister_plugin
[23012.471200] lirc_mceusb2: Unknown symbol lirc_register_plugin
[24577.206799] lirc_mceusb2: Unknown symbol lirc_get_pdata
[24577.207081] lirc_mceusb2: Unknown symbol lirc_unregister_plugin
[24577.208170] lirc_mceusb2: Unknown symbol lirc_register_plugin

root@moon32:~#

Looking at the lirc_mceusb2.c source code, the three functions in question, lirc_get_pdata, lirc_unregister_plugin and lirc_register_plugin of which modprobe can't process, probably needs to be declared somewhere else and is missing.

The result is there's no driver being linked to the usb device (see above) but I'm not sure if this is something I've missed or an LinuxMCE 810 Alpha2 problem.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Charles
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: Marie.O on May 14, 2009, 09:23:24 am
After a successful install of 810 alpha2.19 I've hit a glitch.

Would you mind opening up a new thread with 0810 lirc_mce problem, otherwise it might get lost in this big thread. (and post the link to your new thead in here for future cross reference)
Title: Re: 810 Alpha2
Post by: rocketlynx on May 14, 2009, 05:35:59 pm
After a successful install of 810 alpha2.19 I've hit a glitch.

Would you mind opening up a new thread with 0810 lirc_mce problem, otherwise it might get lost in this big thread. (and post the link to your new thead in here for future cross reference)

Here's the new thread  http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=8145.0

Thanks,
Charles