LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: swalke66 on January 27, 2009, 08:01:43 pm

Title: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: swalke66 on January 27, 2009, 08:01:43 pm
I've installed LMCE 710 on a Shuttle SG33G5 (Intel GMA3100 graphics).

I'm using the HDMI output, I've tried all three UI selections given in the A/V setup wizard, these are the results:

1) UI2 with alpha blending - screen flickers at what seems like 2Hz, unusable.
2) UI2 with overlay - UI is presented, menu and background image, but very quickly appears to 'freeze'.  Sometimes vertical coloured bands replace the menu.
3) UI1 is stable.

I thought I had read that someone had UI2 with overlay working for the same machine but can't find the post,
can anyone help with getting this working? 

Thanks!

Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: itsmeok on January 27, 2009, 08:20:12 pm
DX9 ready Intel GMA3100 graphics met HDMI incl. HDCP

Is this one fast enough with graphics. Did you do the test on the KDE desktop. See wiki:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Graphics_Test

Success
Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: swalke66 on January 29, 2009, 06:04:14 pm
In A/V wizard when I run the graphics Test, I see the first window with cube and penguin etc.  The secondary window (torch) is just a blue screen, no image.  Masking appears to work but no composite.  So I guess that UI2 with overlay is a no go for me. 

I am new to Kunbuntu and not sure how to check what video driver I am using, or how to update it.  I will search for an updated Intel driver for GMA3100 if avail and post back if any success.
Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: itsmeok on January 29, 2009, 07:07:44 pm
You could also check the ubuntu forum for anyone who has experience with this configuration.

http://ubuntuforums.org/
Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: colinjones on January 29, 2009, 08:59:46 pm
I presume you didn't buy this mobo specifically for LMCE given that all the recommendations on hardware are for nVidia graphics? With that in mind, when you do buy specific hardware, please ensure that you pick your graphics chipset carefully - anything in the 6200-8300 range is usually fine, sometimes requiring a driver update, the process for which can be found on the wiki under Display Drivers.

Some Intel chipsets (specifically the GMA945) occasionally crash LMCE, when this happens the screen freezes and nothing responds until after a reboot. Currently, there is no fix for this - hopefully the new kernel and drivers in 0810 may improve this situation - no timeline on this version yet.

The only work around is to disable Photo Screen Saver. This leaves the background unrefreshed, and so a bit messy, but it does work.
Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: totallymaxed on January 29, 2009, 09:14:27 pm
In A/V wizard when I run the graphics Test, I see the first window with cube and penguin etc.  The secondary window (torch) is just a blue screen, no image.  Masking appears to work but no composite.  So I guess that UI2 with overlay is a no go for me. 

I am new to Kunbuntu and not sure how to check what video driver I am using, or how to update it.  I will search for an updated Intel driver for GMA3100 if avail and post back if any success.


This Intel driver should work fine with the GMA3100 http://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/xorg-announce/2008-July/000621.html (http://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/xorg-announce/2008-July/000621.html)... I say 'should' as we have found that no two i965 (or for that matter i945) boards will behave in exactly the same way even if they use the same GPU. Some i965 motherboards with GMA3100's work fine... but then another doesn't. Same goes for the i945 and the GMA950... Asus Eee Top works fine... but other similar hardware does not.

Our feeling is that 810 and the 2.6.27 kernel partnered with updated Intel 2.6.0 and later drivers should make a big difference to Intel based graphics. See http://intellinuxgraphics.org/2008Q4.html (http://intellinuxgraphics.org/2008Q4.html) for 2.6.0 features specific to i965 etc

All the best

Andrew
Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: swalke66 on January 29, 2009, 11:04:53 pm
I presume you didn't buy this mobo specifically for LMCE given that all the recommendations on hardware are for nVidia graphics?

I bought this hardware because it was inexpensive and seemed like it would fit the bill for a HTPC.  UI1 is still functional so the system fits the main purpose of being able to playback music and video.  Everything else is gravy...

Thanks for all the replies.  I'll reply to this thread after I put some effort into the display drivers.
Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: colinjones on January 29, 2009, 11:39:48 pm
I've tried turning off the zoom and pan in Photo Screen Saver with the 945 just now. It still crashes the system so it is either the fade or even just the texture map causing it (perhaps even the picture scaling). Fingers crossed that 0810 and the new drivers fix this. Once beta1 comes out, I'll install it and post whether it alleviates the Intel issues.
Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: swalke66 on January 31, 2009, 07:09:41 am
I've downloaded the most recent stable intel display drivers (2.6.0) and attempted to install.  I attempted to follow the build instructions on intellinuxgraphics.org but unfortunately I think this stuff is over my head.  I'll wait for a beta of 8.10 to come out, unless some kind soul wants to give step by step instructions for the absolute newbie of newbs.

Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: swalke66 on February 11, 2009, 04:43:02 pm
For those with a similiar issue these repositories contain the 2.5.0 version of the intel driver

deb http://ppa.launchpad.net/intel-gfx-testing/ubuntu intrepid main
deb-src http://ppa.launchpad.net/intel-gfx-testing/ubuntu intrepid main

Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: colinjones on February 11, 2009, 09:27:45 pm
and did 2.5.0 solve the problem?
Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: swalke66 on February 12, 2009, 04:00:14 pm
Hi ColinJames,

Not yet, UI2 on medium settings is still unusable.
BUT
I'm not sure if the 2.5.0 driver is actually being used.  My xorg.conf on shows 'configured device' etc.
There's not indication of the driver being used.

From this suggestion: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Bug/gma3100driver
doing this:
lshwd | grep ' VGA ' | head -1 | sed 's/^.*(\([^()]*\)).*$/\1/'
returns 'vesa'

which I guess means the 'vesa' driver is being used?

I was going to try to write the xorg.conf myself.

Any suggestions?


Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: colinjones on February 12, 2009, 08:41:57 pm
Hi ColinJames,

Not yet, UI2 on medium settings is still unusable.
BUT
I'm not sure if the 2.5.0 driver is actually being used.  My xorg.conf on shows 'configured device' etc.
There's not indication of the driver being used.

From this suggestion: http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Bug/gma3100driver
doing this:
lshwd | grep ' VGA ' | head -1 | sed 's/^.*(\([^()]*\)).*$/\1/'
returns 'vesa'

which I guess means the 'vesa' driver is being used?

I was going to try to write the xorg.conf myself.

Any suggestions?




What driver does it say in the xorg.conf file? That's the simple way! Also read the Xorg.0.log file and confirm that it is loading that driver....
Title: Re: New Install - Shuttle SG33G5 - Graphics problem
Post by: swalke66 on February 13, 2009, 03:57:00 pm
OK, looks like the intel driver is being loaded.  I can see that in the Xorg.0.log file and it's listed in the xorg.conf (and xorg.conf.pluto.avwizard).

UI2 - medium is still a no go unfortunately.

It loads well enough (no crashing), problem is the menu graphics are all garbled.

The graphics test does performs masking OK, but composite doesn't work.  There is some 'lflickering' during the composite test, but otherwise the top window is opaque.