LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: rndinokc on December 21, 2008, 08:55:14 pm

Title: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: rndinokc on December 21, 2008, 08:55:14 pm
OK here it goes my first post.  I have done a considerable amount of reading and have managed to bring the system from not booting at all to booting storing media and configuring a GC-100 without having to post a question.  But I give up on this one.  My problem is that there is not a template for the DirectTV H21-200 STB I did manage to find the pronto codes and make my own template.  I am able to test the codes using the infrared codes button under the advanced menu.  It seems to work great.  I do not have a TV card in the core at the moment.  The core is located in a electronics closet up stairs along with 4 H21-200 STBs.  I am using a laptop as an orbiter.  What I want to do is control the STB's in the electronics closet via the laptop.  I am not sure what menu to use on the orbiter to link to the H21-200 template to change channels, use the guide etc.  Linux MCE is a great application and is very diverse and that is what makes it a little challenging.  I have enjoyed putting it all together and many thanks to the people who have worked so hard to make it what it is.  Any help will be appreciated, I am sure it is something simple. 
Thanks,
Randy
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: tschak909 on December 22, 2008, 03:41:46 am
Once you have a template created, you can go into the Setup Wizard, and select your new device template in the A/V devices section.

You then specify how the audio and video connections to the reciever are connected, this sets up the appropriate pipes. If you do not connect this to a tuner, then it is assumed that LMCE will handle switching your A/V device's inputs, and it will create a new media scenario button (LiveTV DirectTV), which when you press, will change the TV and reciever inputs, etc. Orbiter will also change to the LiveTV remote, so that you can control the cable box.

But to recap:

* Connect your directTV reciever to your TV and/or reciever, directly.
* Make sure you have templates for your A/V gear the reciever is connected to
* Add those devices in the A/V wizard. If any A/V devices depend on others, add those last.

-Thom
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: rndinokc on December 23, 2008, 02:16:18 pm
I will give it a try as soon as I finish this string of shifts at work.  I will give it a try.
Thanks Thom
Randy
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: rndinokc on January 15, 2009, 05:01:07 am
Thanks so much for the help Thom.  I have watched a lot of your videos and have found them very interesting.  I really want to get along setting up my system but I keep having this nagging little problem that I can not seem to resolve.  I have studied intently your previous answer and had found several areas that were not configured correctly.  I also referenced the wiki topic on setting up a satellite TV STB.  I have utilized the graphical pipe to establish the connections between the DirectTV H21-200 and a Mitsubishi TV.  The H21-200 is controlled via a GC-100 under the Generic IR device, 2:2.  Once I got this all set up a new menu appeared on my orbiter labeled "Live TV" DirectTV.  I select that menu and it takes me to a remote control screen.  Unfortunately, none of the controls work.  When I press LinuxMCE TV the whole screen flashes for about a second and returns to the previous screen.   I must have a problem with the linkage between the orbiter remote control and the IR transmitter.  When I go to infrared codes on the advanced menu I can control the STB without difficulty.  I know frustration makes for good learning but the wife is getting upset that I am spending all my time off at the computer and not working on the honey do list.  Any help would be appreciated and as always forgive me for being a total noob. 

Randy
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: PsichoD on March 05, 2009, 08:26:08 am
Any update there? I'm stuck with the same exact problem:

GC100 controling TV/Cable box/Receiver with IR (IR codes work in "A/V Advanced" for each device)
Media scenario is also created, but none of the controls in the "Remote control" works.......

Thanks.
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: tschak909 on March 05, 2009, 08:55:40 am
You need to make templates for each device you wish to control.

-Thom
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: PsichoD on March 05, 2009, 09:43:12 am
I have a device template for each A/V device in my setup.
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: tschak909 on March 05, 2009, 09:49:00 am
Have you done test code on each code to see if it works?

-Thom
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: PsichoD on March 05, 2009, 05:16:52 pm
Have you done test code on each code to see if it works?

-Thom


Yes, just like in rndinokc's case - test commands work, but the orbiter's remote doesn't. When in orbiter's "Media" I go to "Cable", a remote control appears, but none of it's controls work. Hitting the "Resend A/V codes" button brings a list of the devices that are involved in the current scenario, but none of them goes on even when directly clicked on. On the other hand, when I click the "Advanced" button near one the listed devices, and click the commends there I get a proper respons.

Bump!!! Pls....
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: PsichoD on March 08, 2009, 09:25:29 pm
Bump!
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: PsichoD on March 10, 2009, 06:21:51 am
When I run :/usr/pluto/bin/MessageSend dcerouter 0 76 1 191 9 "0000 006f 0022 0002 0150 00ab 0016 0015 0016 0040 0016 0015 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0015 0016 0040 0016 0015 0016 0040 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0015 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0040 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0015 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 05d4 0150 0055 0016 0e09", the receiver goes on perfectly.

But when running: "/usr/pluto/bin/MessageSend dcerouter 0 76 1 192" (Supposably the "On" command"), nothing happends. All I see in the DCERouter.log is:

08   03/09/09 22:18:54.705      Received Message from 0 (unknown / ) to 76 (RX-V650 / Living Room/Family Room), type 1 id 192 Command:On, retry none, parameters: <0x6fcb5b90>
05   03/09/09 22:18:54.756      Socket::ReceiveData 0x87d7c00 failed, bytes left 0 start: 1650000 1: 0 1b: 0 2: 0 2b: 0 m_Socket: 128 Incoming_Conn Socket 128 10.20.0.12 <0x6fcb5b90>
05   03/09/09 22:18:54.757      Socket::ReceiveString2 ReceiveData failed m_Socket: -1 Incoming_Conn Socket 128 10.20.0.12 <0x6fcb5b90>
05   03/09/09 22:18:54.757      TCPIP: Closing connection to -1003 (Router Dev #0) 0x87d7c00 m_Socket: -1 <0x6fcb5b90>
05   03/09/09 22:18:54.757      Router::RemoveAndDeleteSocket 0x87d7c00 -1003 <0x6fcb5b90>

My guess is that somehow the "On" command is not bound to the right Pronto code of the reciever. Does anybody have any clue on how to approach this?

Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: rndinokc on March 11, 2009, 09:40:03 pm
As it turns out I was never able to get it to work.  Has to do with the advent of 7.10.  The linkages between the orbiter remotes and the GC100 were broken.  I had to use ir usb which worked great.  I am now able to utilize the remote without any problems.  I have other plans for the GC100 in the future such as opening the garage door etc.  so all is not lost.

Randy
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: PsichoD on March 12, 2009, 12:45:48 am
Did you by any chance try making the gc100 work in LMCE 8.10?
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: rndinokc on March 12, 2009, 01:44:04 am
I never did try it on 8.10, I have wondered if it might work.  I was thinking about doing some experimentation with 8.10 when the beta comes out.  I lack the knowledge to work with the Alpha at this point.  I know it is a bummer that it don't work.  My gosh I spend nearly four whole days trying to figure it out.  Learned alot but it was pretty painful.  Fortunately, the IrUSB seems to work great and with very minimal installation issues. I did get some of this information from nite_man who seemed to be quite knowledgeable and had the same thing happen to him.  I don't know what the status of the issue is at this point.

Hope this helps,
Regards,

Randy
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: PsichoD on March 17, 2009, 08:20:50 am
I'm happy to report, that in 810 the GC100 works as expected! I'm finally able to control my A/V equipment using IR ang GC100.
On the other hand, 810 is a bitch to make even the simple things working.
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: jfish75 on March 28, 2009, 09:52:22 pm
As it turns out I was never able to get it to work.  Has to do with the advent of 7.10.  The linkages between the orbiter remotes and the GC100 were broken. 
http://www.remotecentral.com/cgi-bin/mboard/rc-discrete/thread.cgi?1109,3

So I take it that the break with the GC100 also includes when using a gyration mouse to control devices?
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: rndinokc on May 08, 2009, 05:36:11 pm
OK I gave up on the gc100 and I am now using it to control the garage doors..but that is another story.  My question is that now I have a template made for the DirectTV receiver and all of the codes learned and functioning in the template.  My problem is that there is no remote for the orbiter that matches the STB controls.  Such as up, down, left, right, red green etc.  There are a lot of extraneous buttons on the default remote which are not needed and some buttons that should be there that are not there such as select, up, down etc.  Is there a way to change the orbiter remote?  any help would be greatly apprecitated.
Thanks,
Randy
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: tschak909 on May 08, 2009, 06:29:25 pm
Yes, you can use Designer to design a new remote.

You should open the Developers Guide in the wiki and go to the HADesigner section to watch my screencasts on the subject.

Once you do this, you can specify in your template a specific designobj to use for a remote.

-Thom
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: krys on May 08, 2009, 08:39:49 pm
Randy,
I have been wanting to do this very thing myself. In 2 weeks I will be switching over to DirectTV and would be happy to pitch in wherever possible to make this happen.
-Krys
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: rndinokc on May 08, 2009, 09:03:53 pm
Thanks Thom,
I was thinking that was the only way to do it.  I am not a very good just yet, but I think that I can learn and contribute something.  BTW I did watch your screencast.  Actually, I have watched most all of them that I could find on youtube and the website and they are so helpfull.  Keep up the good work.  It is so much easier for us visual learner to "see" how things are done.  Krys I will keep posting just to let people  know how things are going.  Thanks all.
Randy
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: qball4 on May 09, 2009, 07:11:24 am
I created a remote a month or so ago with all standard STB functions and custom graphics for 0710. The designObj you want to look at is 2427 (mnuSatelliteCableBox). I'd be happy to share mine if someone wants to tell me how. As a caveat, I didn't create a new skin for that version, I simply changed/added designObjs in the Basic skin; I think the only already existing designObjs other than 2427 that are affected skin-wide are 2440 (grpLightControl) and 2288 (grpVolControls) since I added new designObjs for the rest.

Anyway, here's a screen in case anyone is interested. The buttons turn yellow when selected so you know when you've pressed something.

http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/8226/mnusatellitecablebox.png (http://img13.imageshack.us/img13/8226/mnusatellitecablebox.png)

It's kinda hodgepodge but it *was* my first HADesigner attempt. Oh yeah, this was before I added lighting so the light control isn't on this one, but the actual designObjs are changed and just need to be re-added to 2427. I have to swap out my HD to get to 0710 db's if anyone actually wants the designObjs, but I have the images handy in both png and psd formats if you want to do your own thing with them.

:Matt
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: tschak909 on May 09, 2009, 07:17:54 am
As I said before...

Each device template can have a designobj override, so you don't have to sabotage the main remote. Please keep this in mind.

-Thom
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: qball4 on May 09, 2009, 07:47:49 am
Yeah, I learned that after I made it :)  I moved on to simply making a whole new skin when I realized I was doing it wrong.

:Matt
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: posde on May 09, 2009, 09:33:30 am
[..]I moved on to simply making a whole new skin[..]

Isn't it nice, how easy designing stuff for LinuxMCE becomes, ones you the hang of it?
Title: Re: Controlling Direct TV STB
Post by: rndinokc on June 19, 2009, 01:42:10 am
Hi all,
Well, after several weeks non-stop at work I am back at trying to get this functional.  My biggest question is how do I get the device template to select the remote?  I have tried selecting the design object that I have modified with HADesigner but it seems that the device template used the same remote no matter what I try.  Is there someway to select which remote the device template uses?  I am at a total loss.  I know that there has to be a way to do this.

Any help would be greatly apprecitated

Thanks,
Randy