LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: slow_learner on October 24, 2008, 08:06:29 pm

Title: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: slow_learner on October 24, 2008, 08:06:29 pm
First Post,
I am an absolute linux novice, but I love the linuxmce concept and have been desperately trying to make it work on some older equipment that I have laying around.  Want to understand it before making a big $$$ investment on the right hardware. So here's my question, I love the idea of playing the same content in multiple rooms at the same time.  LMCE is set up to do that, but when i try to play the same song in two rooms, I get silence from both MDs!!

I can use one orbiter to control what's played on either MD, and I can move a stream from one MD to the other, I just can't get it to play on both

Help!!
Title: Re: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: golgoj4 on October 24, 2008, 10:09:33 pm
Currently, this feature only works with disc images (.iso or .dvd. files)

hth

golgoj4
Title: Re: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: tschak909 on October 25, 2008, 12:04:12 am
No, that feature works with all media.

I have successfully streamed multiple forms of media to multiple media directors simultaneously simply by starting media, going to the floorplan, selecting the media directors to stream to, then selecting the media.

-Thom
Title: Re: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: slow_learner on October 25, 2008, 01:04:54 am
Thanks for the replies guys.  I'm encouraged to know it does work.  Is there a way to troubleshoot why audio file streams are not working?
Title: Re: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: colinjones on October 25, 2008, 01:19:29 am
Thom - does your MAME type use media stream from the stream factory, too? So theoretically you could send to all MDs as well? (not sure I can think of a reason for doing so, but it would be cool!) I assumed that the "emulator" would have to run on a single MD, and that therefore it could only display on its connected device??
Title: Re: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: tschak909 on October 25, 2008, 03:11:50 am
the media plugin is used, however i do not implement the move media command or start media streaming yet..because i have no way of replicating joystick events in time as well as the video.....

-Thom
Title: Re: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: golgoj4 on October 25, 2008, 07:35:51 am
Hmmm. its never worked for me for anything other than audio files (which i failed to mention) and the .dvd / .iso files. I shall have to try it again.
Title: Re: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: bulek on October 25, 2008, 11:46:03 am
No, that feature works with all media.

I have successfully streamed multiple forms of media to multiple media directors simultaneously simply by starting media, going to the floorplan, selecting the media directors to stream to, then selecting the media.

-Thom

I remember that this worked only for audio media in my system... Am I the only one with non-working video stream to multiple MDs ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
Title: Re: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: Techstyle on October 25, 2008, 01:14:08 pm
I can play audio, video, and .dvd files simultaneously on my core/md and an MD.  audio files take a few seconds to syncronize

I am using old equipment I have lying around also.  My core is new'ish but the MD is old Athlon XP 2600+ with 768 Mb RAM and an old AGP Elsa Eradicator Graphics Card.
Title: Re: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: totallymaxed on October 25, 2008, 02:49:20 pm
Hmmm. its never worked for me for anything other than audio files (which i failed to mention) and the .dvd / .iso files. I shall have to try it again.

Hi,

It will work for all media types as Thom says.

Start some media playing then go to the Media Floorplan and select the MD's you want to stream to and then click on the stream you want to stream to them in the Media Playing list. For DVD's the streams should be in sync for audio there is a slight glitch when track change (we have a fix for this in our Dianemo system that we will commit to the new svn.charonmedia.com asap).

you can even try this with a DVD disc in say the optical drive of your Core... but it only reliably works with local playback + one stream to an MD. Some of our Dianemo systems only have opticals at the core and so we use this feature to enable users to stream the DVD to another MD somewhere in there house that has no optical.

All the best

Andrew
Title: Re: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: slow_learner on October 25, 2008, 10:22:53 pm
Andrew and/or Thom,
What version of LMCE are you running?
Title: Re: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: totallymaxed on October 26, 2008, 10:58:47 am
Andrew and/or Thom,
What version of LMCE are you running?

I am referring to LinuxMCE-0710

Andrew
Title: Re: Canit' Multi-room stream media
Post by: bulek on October 30, 2008, 11:03:41 am
No, that feature works with all media.

I have successfully streamed multiple forms of media to multiple media directors simultaneously simply by starting media, going to the floorplan, selecting the media directors to stream to, then selecting the media.

-Thom

I remember that this worked only for audio media in my system... Am I the only one with non-working video stream to multiple MDs ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.

Hi,

I've just tried and it doesn't work for me. One MD shows blank black screen, other is playing ok.... Audio works on both... When I change origin, then the other is blank (that was playing before)...

Anyone spotting similar ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.