LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: jeangot on August 04, 2008, 11:49:33 pm

Title: Asus Eee Box
Post by: jeangot on August 04, 2008, 11:49:33 pm
Check this out:
http://blog.wired.com/gadgets/2008/08/review-asuss-mi.html

According to Andrew, the Atom 1.6 Ghz CPU may support up to 720p high def, and this box seems to have a SPDIF out and DVI port according to what I read on another forum (not verified through). It is not fanless, and one forum post claimed that the fan is noisy.

Haven't tried it yet, they can be found around $350 on Ebay right now... Hopefully the price should come down a bit soon.

Jean
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: rodercot on August 05, 2008, 02:17:47 pm
Jean,

 I do not think they are there yet. I read the review on Anand-tech and he states in his review that there is no digital output at least on the model he tested and they use about 90% of the cpu with a 720p video file. There is absolutely zero hardware acceleration and it all has to be handled via the CPU (Atom). I do not have a link I just google Eee Box and found the Anand-Tech review.

 In closing he states that this will not make a good htpc at this point. I would save some money and wait for another model.

 regards,

 Dave
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: jeangot on August 05, 2008, 11:04:52 pm
Dave,

according to this there is SPDIF out:
http://gizmodo.com/394563/asus-eee-box-b202-our-first-look-plus-official-specs-only-300

And yes it is not the ultimate solution for HD but it could be anough for 720p which for me is enough in most rooms of my house. That's assuming the price would drop to around $200 :-)

If I get my hand on one, I'll update you...

Jean
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: rodercot on August 05, 2008, 11:54:42 pm
Jean,

 Unless that model is newer then the one reviewed at Anand's site. The pics I saw only had a single 1/8 mini plug for the output. DVI - LAN - USB and power were all that was on the back side.  I would like one as well even with the nifty vesa mounting bracket they show.
 
 One thing Anand mention is that Asus really skimped on the cooling of this box. The intel atom with the proper cooling is totally silent and Asus chose to skimp and run a mixture of a fan and pipes. typical but at that price point I can see why.

  http://www.anandtech.com/systems/showdoc.aspx?i=3321

 Above is the link to Anand's review.

 Dave
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: rodercot on August 14, 2008, 03:51:14 pm
Dave,

according to this there is SPDIF out:
http://gizmodo.com/394563/asus-eee-box-b202-our-first-look-plus-official-specs-only-300

And yes it is not the ultimate solution for HD but it could be anough for 720p which for me is enough in most rooms of my house. That's assuming the price would drop to around $200 :-)

If I get my hand on one, I'll update you...

Jean

 Jean,

 Well I finally got to see one out of the box and in my hands. The audio output on the back does in fact do both analog and digital and it includes a white plastic adaptor that plugs into the 1/8 plug. I booted it up at the store and got into the bios. It is a full bios surprisingly and you can enable it to boot from the lan rom. I did not try this though as I was not ready to BUY it yet from them. They want 399 for the 1gb version and I have them down to 370$ CDN but they did not receive the keyboard and mouse from Asus. My understanding is they ordered 150 of them air from overseas and this is why the steep price. The one thing I could not find in the bios is a place to DISABLE the on-board Wireless N lan, which could cause us grief. I see in the manual that it can be done from within windows via the driver which really does not help us much.

 They are VERY quiet but with your ear to the box you can slightly hear the fan running which I am sure would turn into a louder fan once the thing had been on for a while.
 
 The dumb thing that I see with this is that Asus installed 2 x 512 ddr2 sodimms, si you need to add two now 1gb sodimms to upgrade instead of a single 1gb to take it two 2gb.

 I hope to maybe make a deal with them today on one and get it tested and make them give me the Gomouse they have had on display for 6 months in lieu of the keyboard and mouse. The Keyboard looks like a rebadged gyration mini but not sure of that. Newegg now has them listed as well.

 rgds,

 Dave
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: jondecker76 on August 14, 2008, 04:54:34 pm
I'm very interested in the eeeBoxes as well. Looking forward to hearing some experiences with them.

I have some 720p stuff, but most of my media is just SD so it looks like it might fit my bill just fine.

Too bad they don't offer it diskless to take more cost off the top.
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: totallymaxed on August 14, 2008, 08:47:31 pm
Jean,

 I do not think they are there yet. I read the review on Anand-tech and he states in his review that there is no digital output at least on the model he tested and they use about 90% of the cpu with a 720p video file. There is absolutely zero hardware acceleration and it all has to be handled via the CPU (Atom). I do not have a link I just google Eee Box and found the Anand-Tech review.

 In closing he states that this will not make a good htpc at this point. I would save some money and wait for another model.

 regards,

 Dave

Hmmm... well based on our test of the Intel ATOM i945 based motherboard which uses the same chipset and importantly for video perfoamnce the same GMA950 GPU I can say that we dont see anything more than 15-20% cpu usage when playing a ripped DVD at 720p.

Overall performance is really very good indeed and i would not have any reservations about overall performance of ATOM 1.6Ghz based units.

All the best

Andrew
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: freymann on August 14, 2008, 10:35:16 pm
Here in Ontario, Canada, one of the eBay stores I deal with has them for sale at $389 CDN + Shipping + Taxes

http://cgi.ebay.ca/ASUS-EEE-BOX-B202-WHITE-INTEL-ATOM-1-6GHZ-1G-DDR2-80_W0QQitemZ280256283653QQihZ018QQcategoryZ177QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trksidZp1713.m153.l1262

Very tempting! I just might be in a position to afford one in a couple weeks. Would mount beautifully on the new Acer 22" wide screen monitor arriving later this week! ;-)
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: Techstyle on August 14, 2008, 11:05:19 pm
Jean,

 I do not think they are there yet. I read the review on Anand-tech and he states in his review that there is no digital output at least on the model he tested and they use about 90% of the cpu with a 720p video file. There is absolutely zero hardware acceleration and it all has to be handled via the CPU (Atom). I do not have a link I just google Eee Box and found the Anand-Tech review.

 In closing he states that this will not make a good htpc at this point. I would save some money and wait for another model.

 regards,

 Dave

Hmmm... well based on our test of the Intel ATOM i945 based motherboard which uses the same chipset and importantly for video perfoamnce the same GMA950 GPU I can say that we dont see anything more than 15-20% cpu usage when playing a ripped DVD at 720p.

Overall performance is really very good indeed and i would not have any reservations about overall performance of ATOM 1.6Ghz based units.

All the best

Andrew

Andrew,

How plug and play is the Intel Atom i945 you tried?

Did you have to do anything special to get the video to work or was it recognised?

Jason
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: rodercot on August 15, 2008, 09:29:50 am
Here in Ontario, Canada, one of the eBay stores I deal with has them for sale at $389 CDN + Shipping + Taxes

Very tempting! I just might be in a position to afford one in a couple weeks. Would mount beautifully on the new Acer 22" wide screen monitor arriving later this week! ;-)

 Freymann,

 I can get you one for $370 CDN as I said or less if we get two and I am sure it would not cost 30$ to ship it to you. We just have to wait for the keyboard and mouse.

 rgds,

 Dave
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: totallymaxed on August 15, 2008, 01:33:02 pm
Jean,

 I do not think they are there yet. I read the review on Anand-tech and he states in his review that there is no digital output at least on the model he tested and they use about 90% of the cpu with a 720p video file. There is absolutely zero hardware acceleration and it all has to be handled via the CPU (Atom). I do not have a link I just google Eee Box and found the Anand-Tech review.

 In closing he states that this will not make a good htpc at this point. I would save some money and wait for another model.

 regards,

 Dave

Hmmm... well based on our test of the Intel ATOM i945 based motherboard which uses the same chipset and importantly for video perfoamnce the same GMA950 GPU I can say that we dont see anything more than 15-20% cpu usage when playing a ripped DVD at 720p.

Overall performance is really very good indeed and i would not have any reservations about overall performance of ATOM 1.6Ghz based units.

All the best

Andrew

Andrew,

How plug and play is the Intel Atom i945 you tried?

Did you have to do anything special to get the video to work or was it recognised?

Jason

Well its plug-n-play with an updated AVwizard... this will be in the svn early next week I would guess.

Andrew
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: marrandy on August 15, 2008, 04:53:24 pm
From the various reviews I have read, the Atom performs like a 1.2GHz Pentium M (Dothan).

I'm ordering one to test and evaluate.

When will update 1 for 0710 be out so the   'Updated AVizard '  is added ?

What's the procedure for manually getting it recognized and working correctly ?

Regards..Martin
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: totallymaxed on August 15, 2008, 05:12:06 pm
From the various reviews I have read, the Atom performs like a 1.2GHz Pentium M (Dothan).

I'm ordering one to test and evaluate.

When will update 1 for 0710 be out so the   'Updated AVizard '  is added ?

What's the procedure for manually getting it recognized and working correctly ?

Regards..Martin

From our tests we would say that it performs similarly to a 1.8Ghz i945 based motherbaord... hard to separate them in performance terms.

I cant say when Update 1 for 710 will be out I'm afraid.

Once our AVwizard revision is in the svn you will need to grab a copy and build it... then copy the new binary into /usr/pluto/bin and reboot and force the AVwizard to run by holding the 'shift' key down until you hear the additional 'beeps' after the normal 'rising beeps' during boot....then just use the AVwizard a normal to set the options you need.

Andrew
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: jeangot on August 15, 2008, 05:29:22 pm
Hi,

just a little update. Newegg has them now in USA for $350 US (which is now more in CAD :-) but not sure if they ship to Canada: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883220002

They also have a new barebone from MSI based on the Atom chip for $139:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856167032

Difference to the eee seems to be no DVI (just VGA, which totallymaxed said he can run 720p out of), and no wireless (which we don't need anyway). I'll probably order one of these in a week or two.

Jean
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: Techstyle on August 15, 2008, 06:27:40 pm
That looks pretty good, stick a gig or 2 of RAM in it and you have a good looking MD for $170!! a bit more if you want a DVD player - I only ever use the one in my core to rip to the Core.

Let me know your experiences with it
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: freymann on August 15, 2008, 10:08:57 pm
I can get you one for $370 CDN as I said or less if we get two and I am sure it would not cost 30$ to ship it to you. We just have to wait for the keyboard and mouse.

 Hi Dave.

 $400 is cheaper than the eBay store, if you can do it for that, I would take one anytime.

 IM me if you feel like making the deal.
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: slapshot on August 17, 2008, 03:16:38 am
If you want to see an interesting article of what people have already done with the Asus EEE PC, check this out:

http://beta.ivancover.com/wiki/index.php/Eee_PC_Internal_Upgrades (http://beta.ivancover.com/wiki/index.php/Eee_PC_Internal_Upgrades)

I am almost inspired to purchase one after reading this, but I would never make the mistake of installing windows on it.

~John
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: marrandy on August 18, 2008, 05:09:27 pm
Hi,

just a little update. Newegg has them now in USA for $350 US (which is now more in CAD :-) but not sure if they ship to Canada: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16883220002

They also have a new barebone from MSI based on the Atom chip for $139:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856167032

Difference to the eee seems to be no DVI (just VGA, which totallymaxed said he can run 720p out of), and no wireless (which we don't need anyway). I'll probably order one of these in a week or two.

Jean

You sure about that ?

Two of the pictures (image viewer) show a DVI port

OK - the second link only has VGA
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: totallymaxed on August 18, 2008, 05:56:49 pm
Jean,

 I do not think they are there yet. I read the review on Anand-tech and he states in his review that there is no digital output at least on the model he tested and they use about 90% of the cpu with a 720p video file. There is absolutely zero hardware acceleration and it all has to be handled via the CPU (Atom). I do not have a link I just google Eee Box and found the Anand-Tech review.

 In closing he states that this will not make a good htpc at this point. I would save some money and wait for another model.

 regards,

 Dave

Hmmm... well based on our test of the Intel ATOM i945 based motherboard which uses the same chipset and importantly for video perfoamnce the same GMA950 GPU I can say that we dont see anything more than 15-20% cpu usage when playing a ripped DVD at 720p.

Overall performance is really very good indeed and i would not have any reservations about overall performance of ATOM 1.6Ghz based units.

All the best

Andrew

Andrew,

How plug and play is the Intel Atom i945 you tried?

Did you have to do anything special to get the video to work or was it recognised?

Jason

Just a quick update...

We're seeing some X lockups on the ATOM due to some issues with the Intel graphics drivers. These are intermittant and seem to be triggered by some of the Orbiter code. We're working on this now... trying to test the ATOM using the 2.6.24 kernel from 8.04... no firm new on that yet though.

Andrew
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: colinjones on August 22, 2008, 03:28:38 am
Andrew - how is the bug going with the Atom/Intel chipset?

Jean - did you get the MSI barebone machine? Looks really interesting!
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: jeangot on August 22, 2008, 07:25:34 am
Colinjones: no, not yet, I was taking some time to fix other things on the system (every week I wait, the price may drop a few dollars :-) then I saw Andrew's last post and I'll probably hold off until he confirms that it doesn't freeze anymore. The MSI has essentially the same processor and video chipset, so I'm assuming that one would freeze as well...

Jean
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: totallymaxed on August 22, 2008, 07:54:46 am
Colinjones: no, not yet, I was taking some time to fix other things on the system (every week I wait, the price may drop a few dollars :-) then I saw Andrew's last post and I'll probably hold off until he confirms that it doesn't freeze anymore. The MSI has essentially the same processor and video chipset, so I'm assuming that one would freeze as well...

Jean

Hmmm... we have another i945/GMA950 based motherboard (Celeron 1.8Ghz) and this works fine at 720p over DVI. Which is interesting!

We should get our Eee PC in the next 10 days or so. It does have a DVI port on reflection so 720p setup will be somewhat different to the Intel i945GCLF board over VGA. ASUS clearly have done a custom i945 based motherboard for the Eee PC. Anyway I'll report back here once we have tested a real unit ;-)

Andrew
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: skeptic on August 22, 2008, 04:33:56 pm

They also have a new barebone from MSI based on the Atom chip for $139:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16856167032

Difference to the eee seems to be no DVI (just VGA, which totallymaxed said he can run 720p out of), and no wireless (which we don't need anyway). I'll probably order one of these in a week or two.

Jean
That looks almost perfect for my use!  It would be nice if it had DVI/HDMI output and spdif, but with VGA supporting at least 720p and 6-jack output I can deal with it.  As soon as someone can confirm it working and stable I'll probably order it!  Who knows, by the time the LMCE issues are worked out they may have other sub-$200 options that are more HTPC friendly.
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: colinjones on August 22, 2008, 10:59:17 pm
I hope someone can confirm if the MSI box works soon. It is only available to me if I order it in the US and then import it myself (NewEgg and all those others won't even consider sending stuff overseas) And I have a colleague heading over to Sydney from SF in a couple of weeks time who said he would stuff it in his bag for me!

If anybody is getting one, please post if you have any probs!
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: marrandy on August 22, 2008, 11:16:05 pm
Well, I just received my eee Box and it doesn't work at all.  The HD light flashes once and then nothing.  Tried 2 monitors with DVI & VGA and 1 with just VGA.  No signal is reported by all 3 monitors and I now have a RMA - bummer.
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: colinjones on September 04, 2008, 07:18:40 am
OK, couldnt wait any longer - so I ordered the MSI WIND PC, my friend arrives from San Francisco in Sydney on Sunday with it in his hand luggage! If it doesn't work, I'll eBay it (and I might just let you all know :) )
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: totallymaxed on September 04, 2008, 12:44:18 pm
I hope someone can confirm if the MSI box works soon. It is only available to me if I order it in the US and then import it myself (NewEgg and all those others won't even consider sending stuff overseas) And I have a colleague heading over to Sydney from SF in a couple of weeks time who said he would stuff it in his bag for me!

If anybody is getting one, please post if you have any probs!

We received our test unit today... so I will report back here later. One thing is for sure the RTL8169 NIC chip will need its driver added. The unit itself is really of top quality all the way through... great packaging, great quality feel to the unit and very quiet in operation (almost silent).

All the best

Andrew

PS The Eee Box ships with XP installed and with XpressGate Linux accessible from the boot screen.
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: rodercot on September 04, 2008, 01:25:22 pm
Andrew,

 Did you see this post.

 http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=6149.0

 Can you also let us know how you get by with the wireless lan active while you are installing. I saw no place in the bios to disable this while I was working on it at the store. I hope it is as simple as not connecting the antenna. I see this as a problem as if you have a wireless router as I do, It will try and connect to the external lan on the wireless router and I am hoping that the wired connection take priority.

 Dave
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: totallymaxed on September 04, 2008, 06:01:00 pm
Andrew,

 Did you see this post.

 http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=6149.0

 Can you also let us know how you get by with the wireless lan active while you are installing. I saw no place in the bios to disable this while I was working on it at the store. I hope it is as simple as not connecting the antenna. I see this as a problem as if you have a wireless router as I do, It will try and connect to the external lan on the wireless router and I am hoping that the wired connection take priority.

 Dave

Yes I have seen that thread... just posted a reply there in fact.

Well as far as I know there are no drivers for the onboard 802.11N NIC in the boot image so this should not be a problem... but if it is its pretty easy to fix.

We have the Eee Box pxe booting now and I will put together some details on fixing the NIC issue hopefully later and update the Wiki page here then http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unrecognized_NIC)

All the best

Andrew
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: colinjones on September 05, 2008, 12:20:23 am
I hope someone can confirm if the MSI box works soon. It is only available to me if I order it in the US and then import it myself (NewEgg and all those others won't even consider sending stuff overseas) And I have a colleague heading over to Sydney from SF in a couple of weeks time who said he would stuff it in his bag for me!

If anybody is getting one, please post if you have any probs!

We received our test unit today... so I will report back here later. One thing is for sure the RTL8169 NIC chip will need its driver added. The unit itself is really of top quality all the way through... great packaging, great quality feel to the unit and very quiet in operation (almost silent).

All the best

Andrew

PS The Eee Box ships with XP installed and with XpressGate Linux accessible from the boot screen.

Sorry Andrew, thought you were only looking at the Asus EEE! Would be very interested in your progress... as I will be following in 2 days time :) anything you find and post will be of great interest to me, at least! When you say the NIC driver will need to be added, for a PXE boot, at what point is it likely to loose connectivity? Just wondering what opportunity I will have to get the new driver in...

Col
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: colinjones on September 09, 2008, 07:05:57 am
Incredibly frustrating! My friend arrived with the MSI Wind PC from the States. Plugged it in, lights up, fan starts - no video, not even POST/BIOS, absolutely nothing! Tried with and without HDD, RAM (which is SO-DDR2 RAM btw, didn't notice that and got normal desktop DDR2 RAM for it by accident), and 2 different monitors - both see that they are connected to something (ie the Check Cable goes away) but they stay in power save mode and can't be coaxed out...

Damn! Have to send it all the way back to the US now to get it swapped and that means at least another 3 weeks before I get it back again.

Andrew - if you get any results on this box could you post them as soon as you can so I know whether to aim for a replacement or refund??? :)
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: totallymaxed on September 09, 2008, 07:20:12 am
Incredibly frustrating! My friend arrived with the MSI Wind PC from the States. Plugged it in, lights up, fan starts - no video, not even POST/BIOS, absolutely nothing! Tried with and without HDD, RAM (which is SO-DDR2 RAM btw, didn't notice that and got normal desktop DDR2 RAM for it by accident), and 2 different monitors - both see that they are connected to something (ie the Check Cable goes away) but they stay in power save mode and can't be coaxed out...

Damn! Have to send it all the way back to the US now to get it swapped and that means at least another 3 weeks before I get it back again.

Andrew - if you get any results on this box could you post them as soon as you can so I know whether to aim for a replacement or refund??? :)

Hi Colin,

What a pain!... sorry to hear you've got dead unit.

Well our testing with the ATOM Eee Box is going excellently. We have it booting fine after fixing the the NIC driver issue reported earlier (fix for this we have posted here;  http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Realtek_8168 (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Realtek_8168)). Our tests at 720p went well using UI2 + Overlay and yesterday we also tested successfully at 1080p  using UI2 + overlay. Performance was excellent in both cases. Very impressive in fact!

The only area where we are having a small problem is that the Eee Box will so far only successfully output audio using the SPDIF out on its mulit-port jack at the rear (this is a clever mini-jack socket that works with a normal mini-jack but will also convert into an Optical SPDIF out using a tiny little adapter provided by ASUS...it sends the optical signal out of the centre of the socket!). As far as plain 'old' stereo goes its a no-go so far... but we now suspect this may be a hardware problem on our unit, which is a 'loaner' unit from ASUS, as stereo out is not working inside XP or MagicGate either.

Anyway all in all we like this machine a lot!!!

All the best

Andrew
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: colinjones on September 09, 2008, 07:27:54 am
Andrew - weren't you saying that you were testing the MSI Wind PC unit as well, a few posts further up? This is the one I got - also based on the Atom 1.6/945/ICT7 chipsets, but using the RTL8111C NIC chip....
Title: Re: Asus Eee Box
Post by: maverick0815 on December 26, 2008, 01:16:02 pm
I'm seriously considering getting an EEE Box and wanted to connect it to my TV. However I'm a bit confused, because totallymaxed said it handled 1080p very well, while almost anywhere on the net I heard FullHD is too much to handle for the box so far. Though I don't have BlueRays right now, doesn't mean I won't have it in a while and I'd like to be able to watch FullHD on my TV. So I'd really be curious how much performance I could expect from the box with LMCE.