LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: Afkpuz on July 08, 2008, 06:58:35 am

Title: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: Afkpuz on July 08, 2008, 06:58:35 am
I just got an lcd TV with the hopes of making use of the rs232 port on it.  Well, it wasn't detected during setup, so how do I do that manually?  I am semi-familiar with the web-admin, but it is very confusing to me.  I tried adding a device somewhere in web admin (I'm not in front of my linuxmce comp) but it kept trying to control my tv via infrared.  Not what I want.  Can anyone help or point me in the right direction?

Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: toko on July 08, 2008, 09:41:54 am
Hi,

I'm far from being a linuxmce guru, but I got linuxmce already to control my blends via rs232... so what I don't know is if there is some special support in linuxmce for controlling your TV via rs232 (maybe you want to post the TV-model so anybody else could tell you if there's some support...)

However to get rs232 working generally you have to add the GSD package to your system (note: don't use aptitude...). I did that via
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get install pluto-generic-serial-device
after a quick reload router you should see a new process and a new logfile on your system indicating that rs232 system is running on your machine.

I think that is just a start, but I hope it helps already. Maybe you find from this point onwards some additional infos especially about controlling TVs
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: Afkpuz on July 08, 2008, 03:29:20 pm
My tv model is
AOC L32W761 32" LCD HDTV 


Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: pigdog on July 08, 2008, 05:25:04 pm
Hi,

I looked at your model of TV but the spec's I read said that you have these inputs.

1 x RCA(Composite), 1 x S-Video(S-Video), 1 x RCA(Component), 1 x HDMI(HDMI), 1 x VGA(Analog RGB), 3 x RCA(Audio in), 1 x Phone 1/8"(PC audio in)

I couldn't find any information about the TV having a RS-232 port.
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: Afkpuz on July 08, 2008, 05:31:45 pm
Yeah, I noticed that too.  Seems like alot of websites don't care if a tv has an rs232 port.  But rest assured, my tv has an rs232 plug.  I have it plugged in right now, but don't know how to use it.  Also, is there a special type of cable I will need for it?  Here's the one I bought for it.  And yeah, I know it's over priced.  No one carries serial cables anymore it seems.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16812200051
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: tschak909 on July 08, 2008, 05:40:22 pm
you will need a cross-over serial cable, where the transmit and recieve pins are crossed between the cable ends.

In addition, you will need the protocol information on controlling your TV. This can be found either in the back of your manual, or in the service manual.

Once you have this, a new device template can be made entirely inside the web admin as a GSD device.

You can log onto the chat feature to talk to us, and we can help walk you through the process of making a device template for your TV. It is very wizard-driven.

Once this is done, we can also attempt to create a PnP script for your TV, so that it will be detected automatically in future installations.

Once this is done, your changes will be folded into LinuxMCE, so that others can use it.

-Thom
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: totallymaxed on July 08, 2008, 05:53:08 pm
My tv model is
AOC L32W761 32" LCD HDTV 

Hmmm... it looks to me like the RS232 port on the L32W761 is only used for firmware updates according to the user manual;

http://www.aocdisplay.com/envision/manuals/L32W761.pdf (http://www.aocdisplay.com/envision/manuals/L32W761.pdf)

Andrew
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: pigdog on July 08, 2008, 05:56:14 pm
Hi,

Check your user manual to see if there is a RS-232C port specifications section.

Forget that...

I just looked at the manual via linked supplied by totallymaxed and the RS232 port is only for service/maintenance.

Sorry.
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: Afkpuz on July 08, 2008, 06:36:23 pm
Ok, well thanks for the help.  Now I know better for the next TV.
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: naturalblue on July 09, 2008, 12:17:24 pm
Hi
Does anyone know if there is a template for the LG 37LC7D 37" LCD.
It wasn't detected on setup and I have yet to work out how to get it working.
I have connected it through the RS232.

Thanx
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: bulek on July 09, 2008, 10:26:42 pm
Hi
Does anyone know if there is a template for the LG 37LC7D 37" LCD.
It wasn't detected on setup and I have yet to work out how to get it working.
I have connected it through the RS232.

Thanx

Hi,

I've modified existing generic LG lcd TV template with neede Ruby codes, but I have yet to talk to developers how to enter them in LMCE - so it will probably not be available soon...

Basically I based my work on this one :

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LG_42LB5D (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LG_42LB5D)

Regards,

Bulek.
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: Afkpuz on July 16, 2008, 05:18:25 pm
Ok, well I was able to return that tv for a full refund and get one that actually has a controllable rs232 port.  It should arrive today.  So how do I go about chatting with someone who can walk me through?  Also, I've very interested in helping the project, so would like to help create that script you were talking about.  Unfortunately, my programming knowledge is very limited, but am very willing.

Heres my new tv model
Olevia 232T 32" LCD HDTV
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: PeteK on July 16, 2008, 05:53:53 pm
I just checked in a template for the Olevia RS-232.   I'm still having issues getting pnp to run (I'm not sure what triggers PNP for serial ports (I've got USB to serial adapters on my MDs), but there is a pnp script that I've checked out before in the SVN tree.  In any case, if you update sqlCVS, there will be a template for the Olevia 2XXT TVs.

There is a known issue with a couple of the input selects (due to an incorrect ICD), but a sql/php issue is keeping me from fixing it in the immediate term.  I'll get it complete as soon as the sql/php issue is resolved.
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: Afkpuz on July 17, 2008, 01:32:34 am
Ok, you're way over my head.  How do I update sqlCVS? ???
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: agentsmith on July 21, 2008, 10:05:05 pm
I'm a newb so I'm not going to pretend to know how to do this, but I did find this information in the wiki that might help you out.
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/SqlCVS (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/SqlCVS).

Quote
Update the local database
Go to "Advanced->sqlCVS->Update and check the repositories you want to update. The "Next" button will start the update.

Let us know how it goes. :P
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: Afkpuz on July 23, 2008, 10:30:37 pm
Shoot, now I'm having cable problems.  The website I bought the tv from led me to buy a specialized cable to connect to the rs232 port.  So, I bought it and sent back my regular serial cable.  Well, the tv has a normal serial plug on it, so I have to go get another serial cable.  Also, I won't be able to work on this for about 2 weeks as I am on vacation.  I'll update once I make progress.
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: Techstyle on July 24, 2008, 02:18:03 pm

Hi,

I've modified existing generic LG lcd TV template with neede Ruby codes, but I have yet to talk to developers how to enter them in LMCE - so it will probably not be available soon...

Basically I based my work on this one :

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LG_42LB5D (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LG_42LB5D)

Regards,

Bulek.


Bulek,

I followed the instructions in the link and can not get it to work.  I know my serial port works becasue I used to use it for a CM11A X10 controller.  I have a null modem cable between my Hybrid Core and LG 37RZ55.  I have tried sending test signals to it but with no response.

Anybody help?
Title: Re: How to control TV via rs232
Post by: bulek on July 29, 2008, 02:46:42 pm

Hi,

I've modified existing generic LG lcd TV template with neede Ruby codes, but I have yet to talk to developers how to enter them in LMCE - so it will probably not be available soon...

Basically I based my work on this one :

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LG_42LB5D (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/LG_42LB5D)

Regards,

Bulek.


Bulek,

I followed the instructions in the link and can not get it to work.  I know my serial port works becasue I used to use it for a CM11A X10 controller.  I have a null modem cable between my Hybrid Core and LG 37RZ55.  I have tried sending test signals to it but with no response.

Anybody help?
Why don't you try first with some WinXp machine and simple rs232 terminal to check response from device and then play a bit with it...

Regards,

Bulek.