LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: freymann on June 24, 2008, 10:31:44 pm

Title: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: freymann on June 24, 2008, 10:31:44 pm
I have my old core with a EVGA Nvidia 7300GT PCIe video card, 512MB ram, running in my office as a plain MD. So far, everything else is working, like pictures, music and videos.

When I try LiveTV, I see the MythTV GANT menu for about 30 seconds, and then it exits back to the flickr slideshow.

If I manually press ENTER to force LiveTV, I actually see LiveTV, but 30 seconds later, it exits.

If I go to the KDE desktop and load MythFrontEnd from there, LiveTV works fine for as long as I want.

Today I deleted all my sources and capture cards, and recreated everything. MythWeb is nicely showing Encoder1 and Encoder2.

I then powered off everything. All computers, LinuxMCE or not. Then powered back on, starting with the Core, then the MD's.

Same problem.

I scanned the forums for similar problems, and there are two threads with similar issues, but no solutions.

The same thing happens if I reboot my PC over the net as a MD. It's an HPa1730n, AMD 4600+, 2GB Ram, with onboard Nvidia GeForce 6150LE graphics. Everything works fine with it except LiveTV.

Here's an excerpt from var/log/pluto/Spawn_mythfrontend_16353.log

Code: [Select]
2008-06-24 16:09:20.342 Using runtime prefix = /usr
2008-06-24 16:09:20.351 DPMS is disabled.
2008-06-24 16:09:20.438 New DB connection, total: 1
2008-06-24 16:09:20.440 Connected to database 'mythconverg' at host: 192.168.80.1
2008-06-24 16:09:20.441 Total desktop dim: 1280x1024, with 1 screen[s].
2008-06-24 16:09:20.445 Using screen 0, 1280x1024 at 0,0
2008-06-24 16:09:20.454 Overriding GUI, width=1280, height=1024 at 0,0
2008-06-24 16:09:20.454 Setting 'RunFrontendInWindow' being forced to '1'
2008-06-24 16:09:20.455 Current Schema Version: 1160
2008-06-24 16:09:20.476 mythfrontend version: 0.20.20070821-1 www.mythtv.org
2008-06-24 16:09:20.476 Enabled verbose msgs:  important general
2008-06-24 16:09:21.055 Switching to square mode (G.A.N.T.)
2008-06-24 16:09:21.077 Using the Qt painter
mythtv: could not connect to socket
mythtv: No such file or directory
lirc_init failed for mythtv, see preceding messages
2008-06-24 16:09:21.448 Joystick disabled.
2008-06-24 16:09:22.886 Loading from: /usr/share/mythtv/themes/G.A.N.T./base.xml
2008-06-24 16:09:22.934 Loading from: /usr/share/mythtv/themes/default/base.xml
2008-06-24 16:09:23.048 Registering Internal as a media playback plugin.
/usr/lib/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythfrontend.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
2008-06-24 16:09:23.082 MythPlugin::Init() dlerror:
2008-06-24 16:09:23.082 Unable to initialize plugin 'mythfrontend'.
2008-06-24 16:09:23.082 Unable to run plugin 'mythfrontend': not initialized
/usr/lib/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythmythfrontend.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
2008-06-24 16:09:23.082 MythPlugin::Init() dlerror:
2008-06-24 16:09:23.082 Unable to initialize plugin 'mythmythfrontend'.
2008-06-24 16:09:23.082 Unable to run plugin 'mythmythfrontend': not initialized

(There are no capture cards in either of these MD's...)

The "cannot open shared object file" warning message may shine the light on something..

If I look into:

/usr/pluto/diskless/109/usr/lib/mythtv/

there is only a "filters" directory, no "plugins" directory, but for moon32, it doesn't exist there either, and it doesn't exist in /usr/lib/mythtv/ on the core either.

In my setup, the core is a hybrid, running AMD64 7.10RC2.

The old core, now acting as a MD, with a different video card today, is an Intel machine. In the admin page, the architecture is i386.

My pc, which I tried as a MD, is an AMD64, and the architecture on it is AMD64.

Were there any more reports of this problem after the release of 7.10? and for those that had a similar problem, what was the remedy, if anything?
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: freymann on June 25, 2008, 05:04:42 pm
I have the same problem with three different Media Directors...

MD#1: Intel Dual Core CPU. Now using an nVidia 7300GT PCIe video card with 512MB of ram on the video card

MD#2: HP Pavillion a1730n, onboard nVidia GeForce 6150LE. AMD 4600+ CPU

MD#3: Dell Latitude D600 Notebook. No idea what video card is in this one. Intel Pentium M CPU

Tried MD#1 and #2 in UI2 with overlay and blended. No difference. MD#3 is in overlay mode.

I select TV, I get to the MythTV GANT menu, and it sits there for 30-45 seconds, then exits back to the LMCE flickr screen.

If I run MythFrontend from the KDE desktop, it works perfectly.

My Core is AMD 64 7.10RC2 installed from DVD.

Anybody else having the same issue?

Is there any info from logs I can provide to assist debugging?

Thanks.
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: Zaerc on June 26, 2008, 01:35:18 am
From your log:
Code: [Select]
/usr/lib/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythfrontend.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
That seems to be the problem, I don't use mythtv at the moment so I can't really help you further.
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: freymann on June 26, 2008, 01:44:36 am
From your log:
Code: [Select]
/usr/lib/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythfrontend.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
That seems to be the problem, I don't use mythtv at the moment so I can't really help you further.

 I went on the core and searched for "*frontend.so" and it found nothing?

 I wonder if this is a packaging problem with the AMD64 DVD's?
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: schaferj on July 07, 2008, 01:49:06 am
see the MythTV menu for about 30 seconds, and then it exits back to the flickr...

I have the same problem.

thoughts welcome.

joseph
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: schaferj on July 07, 2008, 06:25:02 am
my fault - the MD had the wrong backend info...  working now.
joseph
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: freymann on December 12, 2008, 05:19:36 pm
Sorry, resurrecting an old thread...

Now that my MSI Wind PC is here and I have it working at UI2 without alpha blending and no screensaver, the issue that I have here with MythTV not loading is bugging me again.

If MythTV would load and run I'd gladly put this machine into our master-bedroom right away (replacing the VIA box running mythbuntu).

Zaerc had commented that this error message:

/usr/lib/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythfrontend.so: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory

may be the problem.

Is that a typo?

liblibmythfrontend.so

two lib libs?

I'm running an AMD64 core but the problem of no mythtv exists on AMD64 or i386 MD's..

Is this something worth investigating or should I just wait for the next release? at that time I plan to install the i386 version on the core and forget about the AMD64 version.
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: seth on January 27, 2009, 01:29:39 pm
 ;)
Hey.
I would try 2 things.

Thing 1:
copy that liblibmythfrontend.so to liblibmythfrontend.so.orig
then rename or mv liblibmythfrontend.so libmythfrontend.so

^^^This I would try firstly.^^^

If that does not work......

Thing 2: (has two parts)
copy the /usr/lib/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythfrontend.so to /usr/lib64/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythfrontend.so
and then try the modified module:
copy the /usr/lib/mythtv/plugins/libmythfrontend.so to /usr/lib64/mythtv/plugins/libmythfrontend.so

I can remember when AMD64 linux first came out, I had an AMD64 laptop running gentoo. In those days I was an avid Linux gamer, and there were more than a few times the 32 bit library files, even with the 32 bit emulation modules installed that I had to manually copy over a driver file from the /usr/lib folder to the /usr/lib64.

This may not be a solution, but it is worth a try.

Make sure to make these changes down your /usr/pluto/diskless/<moon #>/usr/lib and /usr/lib64 directories as well, and reboot the MD's.

Best of luck to you.

Regards,

Seth
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: freymann on January 27, 2009, 01:55:57 pm
Thing 1:
copy that liblibmythfrontend.so to liblibmythfrontend.so.orig
then rename or mv liblibmythfrontend.so libmythfrontend.so

I did a "find" command one day and I was unable to locate this file. I will have to try again. Definitely, where it says the file doesn't exist (the path given in the error message) there is nothing but another directory.

Quote
Thing 2: (has two parts)
copy the /usr/lib/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythfrontend.so to /usr/lib64/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythfrontend.so
and then try the modified module:
copy the /usr/lib/mythtv/plugins/libmythfrontend.so to /usr/lib64/mythtv/plugins/libmythfrontend.so

Hmmm. The core is AMD64, with a tuner card, and it works fine. I have a MD in the living-room which is AMD64, with a tuner card, and it works fine. But any other MD I create, be that i386 or AMD64? No livetv through myth.

Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: freymann on January 27, 2009, 02:03:55 pm
copy the /usr/lib/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythfrontend.so to /usr/lib64/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythfrontend.so
and then try the modified module:
copy the /usr/lib/mythtv/plugins/libmythfrontend.so to /usr/lib64/mythtv/plugins/libmythfrontend.so

I think that's part of the problem.

This file does not exist (re-read above)

on the core (and diskless MD's) when you go to

/usr/lib/mythtv/

all that's in there is a directory called "filters"

Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: freymann on January 27, 2009, 02:09:07 pm
copy the /usr/lib/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythfrontend.so to /usr/lib64/mythtv/plugins/liblibmythfrontend.so

I mays well mention that the directory:

/usr/lib64/mythtv/

on the core only contains a directory called "filters"

The above mentioned directory does not exist on my i386 media directory. On the living-room machine, same thing, contains only a directory called "filters"

Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: podval on September 29, 2010, 07:02:24 am
Hello,

I have the same problem on my hybrid 0810. Were you able to find the solution for this problem?

Thanks for your help.
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: esev on October 05, 2010, 06:00:26 pm
I've had this happen under 0810 too on both my MDs (not the hybrid core).  In my case, the MythTV setting for the "Network Control Port" (Settings>General>General) was not enabled and not set to 10001.  Enabling it and setting the port to 10001 solved the problem for me.
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: tschak909 on October 05, 2010, 11:16:14 pm
what esev is describing should never happen, as these things are set up correctly when MythTV_Player's package is installed.

-Thom
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: esev on October 06, 2010, 02:51:26 am
Thom,

Is that still the case if LinuxMCE isn't managing MythTV?  I live outside the US and wasn't able to have LinuxMCE auto configure MythTV for me (ie, the 'Dont Auto Configure' box is selected in my MythTV Plugin device).  I just attributed my issue to that setting.  But now I'm realizing the MythTV_Player is an entirely different device.  Maybe something else is messed up with my setup.  I thought it was strange that everything worked out of the box on my Hybrid/Core but not on my diskless MDs.
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: posde on October 06, 2010, 08:34:24 am
esev,

if LinuxMCE is not managing MythTV, LinuxMCE has no idea of what kind of settings are used.
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: esev on October 06, 2010, 06:54:46 pm
Thanks for the response posde.  When I initially setup LinuxMCE, the setup recommended having MythTV not auto configured by LinuxMCE.  I think this is due to not having a XML guide source for Canada.  Would it be possible to have a 'Autoconfigure MythTV except for guide data' option that configures all the input/capture cards and all the settings except for the lineup/guide/channel options?
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: phenigma on October 06, 2010, 07:14:34 pm
Look at http://www.schedulesdirect.org/ they provide lots of guide data for US/Canada and it integrates directly into mythtv.  It's well worth the small subscription fee!

J.
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: esev on October 06, 2010, 07:44:36 pm
Thanks for mentioning that.  I ended up using schedulesdirect and everything on the backend (on my hybrid/core) works great.  But because Canada isn't supported in the LinuxMCE setup, I had to configure MythTV manually rather than letting LinuxMCE auto configure everything for me.

Later, when I created my MDs, MythTV wouldn't auto launch on the MDs and exited after about a minute.  From the responses I've received, it appears that if you cannot complete the LinuxMCE MythTV setup (and end up choosing Don't Auto Configure option) the mythfrontend settings needed for LinuxMCE to control MythTV on the MDs are never configured.  LinuxMCE then kills the mythfrontend after about a minute because it cannot be controlled.  Configuring the "Network Control Port" option manually on the MD solves this issue for me.

I'll look into what it would take to get the initial setup working for Canada using SchedulesDirect.  But it would be nice if there was also an option in LinuxMCE to auto configure everything in MythTV except for the guide data or tuner inputs.

I'm hesitant to just disable the "Don't Auto Configure" option because of the troubles another user had: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=10699.msg73671#msg73671 (http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=10699.msg73671#msg73671)
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: phenigma on October 06, 2010, 08:34:32 pm
Ah, I see.  I am in the same boat here and perform manual setups of my inputs because there is no 'standard' for cable broadcasters and no easy/legal way to receive satellite directly, only through settop boxes and capture cards.  It seems to me that the basic mythtv control information should still be setup for MDs even if the capture cards/input devices need manual setup...  I havn't tried mythtv on an MD since alpha.

J.
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: pw44 on October 06, 2010, 09:10:39 pm
Configuring the "Network Control Port" option manually on the MD solves this issue for me.
Where can this option be found?
TIA,
Paulo
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: esev on October 06, 2010, 09:17:40 pm
If I remember correctly (I'm not in front of my setup right now), I found it after launching MythTV on the Media Director.  It was in the on screen MythTV Settings>General>General menu.  I remember I had to press Next 3-4 times before reaching the setting.  Enabling the Network Control Port and setting it to 10001 fixed this issue for me.  Beware though, I had to do this quickly as LinuxMCE will kill MythTV after about a minute until this setting was in place.
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: pw44 on October 06, 2010, 10:01:38 pm
Thx! Solved my problem. To avoid the short time, you can also go to KDE, launch mythfrontend from console and change it there.
I just wonder why this is not enabled by default.
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: esev on October 06, 2010, 10:12:48 pm
Glad to help.  Good advice on launching from KDE.  Thanks!

Is this related to your Trac ticket?
http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/ticket/831
Title: Re: MD works, but MythTV fails to auto launch, then exits after 30-45 seconds
Post by: pw44 on October 06, 2010, 10:20:58 pm
Yes, it's related to my ticket. I changed the ticket, giving your solution.
I guess it's a bug introduced during the last 8 months, because i did not had this problem before, even updating and upgrading frequently.
Thx again.

P.S. I did enable Dont Auto Configure and it's working fine.