LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: ferdies on June 15, 2008, 11:50:46 am

Title: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: ferdies on June 15, 2008, 11:50:46 am
Hi,

Currently, I have a squeezecenter running on CentOS and would like to migrate everything to Linux MCE.

In this wiki, it show that Squeezebox is plug and play:
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Use_network_audio_players_for_a_whole-house_music_solution

1. Is it same to assume that squeezecenter has been integrated in Linux MCE?
2. Can Softsqueeze be loaded as well? Reason being is that I would like to just play the music using the speakers attached to the Core or Hybrid PC.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: jspeckman on June 15, 2008, 03:55:31 pm
Hi,
  My current linuxmce setup is using the most recent squeezecenter and two instances of squeezeslave (and two soundcards) running on the core.

1) The integration is loose.  Linuxmce uses the cli to talk to the slimserver.  It's oneway, in that linuxmce sends it commands but does not get anything back.  This however allowed me to drop in the most recent squeezecenter with only a few tweeks, mostly directory permissions and changing the cli port to be the one that linuxmce is expecting.  Also you still have access to squeezecenter's web interface if you want to use it.

2) You can load it.  I would recomend using squeezeslave though since it's written in c and not java.  You'll have to set it up by hand first, and then add it to linuxmce as if it were one of the hardware boxes.

That's my two cents,
Jason
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: bulek on June 16, 2008, 01:55:41 am
Hi,
  My current linuxmce setup is using the most recent squeezecenter and two instances of squeezeslave (and two soundcards) running on the core.

1) The integration is loose.  Linuxmce uses the cli to talk to the slimserver.  It's oneway, in that linuxmce sends it commands but does not get anything back.  This however allowed me to drop in the most recent squeezecenter with only a few tweeks, mostly directory permissions and changing the cli port to be the one that linuxmce is expecting.  Also you still have access to squeezecenter's web interface if you want to use it.

2) You can load it.  I would recomend using squeezeslave though since it's written in c and not java.  You'll have to set it up by hand first, and then add it to linuxmce as if it were one of the hardware boxes.

That's my two cents,
Jason

Hi,

thanks for info. Jason, could you please post more info about your setup to Wiki? I'm also interested about your solution with more cards in Core....

Can squeezeslaves play one song in sync ? Your solution seems to be quite reasonable for more stereo outputs on Core...

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: niz23 on June 16, 2008, 08:57:17 pm
Hi everyone.

I too is very interested in this.
I had it working before I reinstalled my core/hybrid(amd64 version) becuase I screwed up a lot of things.
My setup is using a builtin nvidia hd soundcard (device 0) that I use for for lmce.
My other usb attached (noname cheap) soundcard (device 1) is dedicated for background music outside. (Barbeque area)

I am unable to get the amd64 bit version if squeezeslave-0.7.5 working.
Get this output no matter how I start it.
dcerouter_78929:~/squeezeslave# ./squeezeslave -o 1 192.168.80.1
Output devices:
0: /dev/dsp
1: /dev/dsp1
Error in recv 1: Success
Connection to SqueezeCenter 192.168.80.1 failed.

Did a quick test with squeezeslave 0.7.1 i386 version and it seem to work fine.
Output:
dcerouter_78929:~/squeezeslave-0.7.1# ./squeezeslave -o 1 192.168.80.1
Output devices:
0: /dev/dsp
1: /dev/dsp1


Unfortunately I am not at home so I cannot hear if it work or not.
Will let you all know tomorrow if it work or not.


jspeckman.
Why do you suggest to replace slimserver with the latest one?

This is my to cents of knowledge about squeezeslave with lmce so far.

/niz23
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: jspeckman on June 16, 2008, 09:20:02 pm
niz23
  I replaced my slimserver because I wanted to use the iPeng plugin.  It's a skin designed for the iPhone.  I mostly use the slimserver's interface directly rather than going through the orbiter.

Jason
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: jspeckman on June 17, 2008, 03:24:17 pm
Bulek,
  I've started putting my setup on the wiki http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Jspeckman (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/User:Jspeckman).  I've got a rough description of the squeezeslave setup in there as well.  Any input for making it easier to follow would be great.  Maybe the instructions should have there own page?  And yes syncing does work.

Jason
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: niz23 on June 18, 2008, 11:20:59 pm
I have created a init script that automatically start squeezeslave like ubuntu start all other daemons.
Is is really basic. Based upon the skeleton provided with ubuntu with minor changes.
There is probably a lot of other, better ways to create a init script for squeezeslave than this one.
But...
It work. It do its job. That's enough for me.

If anyone is interested I will send it to you.
If jspeckman agree I can upload it on the wiki page together with instructions how to install.

/niz23
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: jspeckman on June 19, 2008, 12:25:55 am
niz23,
  Go for it.  I moved my squeezeslave setup to it's own page.  http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Squeezeslave_on_the_core

Jason
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: bulek on June 19, 2008, 02:29:47 pm
Hi,

I'm trying to follow instructions but have problems:
- I've downloaded latest Squeezeslave version, but it seems that it requires upgrade of Squeezecenter, right ?

- following instructions for upgrading SqueezeCenter I cannot find /usr/pluto/servers. I'm running 710 release, what is your version ?

- Where can I check in SlimServer Web interface that my squeezeslave actually registered ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: niz23 on June 19, 2008, 07:10:22 pm
bulek.

- I've downloaded latest Squeezeslave version, but it seems that it requires upgrade of Squeezecenter, right ?

- Where can I check in SlimServer Web interface that my squeezeslave actually registered ?

1. There is no real need to update it. Thats my expereience so far.
Are you using 32 or 64 bit in your core.
If you use 64 bit you will need squeezeslave-0.7.1. Haven´t got any newer versions to run.

2.
http://dcerouter:9000
In the page presented.
Look under headline "Settings"
You will see text similar to, "Player Settings for 192.168.80.1".
If you see anything like above the player are registered with slimserver.

/niz23
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: bulek on June 20, 2008, 12:19:53 am
bulek.

- I've downloaded latest Squeezeslave version, but it seems that it requires upgrade of Squeezecenter, right ?

- Where can I check in SlimServer Web interface that my squeezeslave actually registered ?

1. There is no real need to update it. Thats my expereience so far.
Are you using 32 or 64 bit in your core.
If you use 64 bit you will need squeezeslave-0.7.1. Haven´t got any newer versions to run.

2.
http://dcerouter:9000
In the page presented.
Look under headline "Settings"
You will see text similar to, "Player Settings for 192.168.80.1".
If you see anything like above the player are registered with slimserver.

/niz23

Hi,

thanks for response....

1. I've downloaded Squeezeslave 0.7.5.1- is this ok ? I won't upgrade Slimserver if not needed ?

2. Ok, will check it...

I'm getting weird errors and I'm not sure what to do :

Quote
/usr/local/bin/squeezeslave -m 00:00:00:00:00:01 -r -s 192.168.0.1
Output devices:
0: /dev/dsp
1: /dev/dsp1
Error in recv 1: Success
Sleeping for 3 s.
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Sleeping for 3 s.
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek
Error in recv 1: Illegal seek

Any advice ?

BTW, does anyone know where is Slimserver located in 710 release ?

I'm also curious if anyone can point me to more info about how to use Optical output on certain card (how to tell to Alsa OSS emulation to output to Optical output instead of analog default output) ?

Thanks in advance ,

regards,

Bulek.

Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: niz23 on June 20, 2008, 11:54:22 am
bulek.

No idea how to output on s/pdif with oss.

I use version 0.7.1 of squeezeslave for AMD64.
Have found that this is the only version that work reliable in my core.
The other versions tend to crash with sound device related issues.

What kind of audio files do you have? (I only have mp3s)

/niz23
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: bulek on June 20, 2008, 02:19:40 pm
bulek.

No idea how to output on s/pdif with oss.

I use version 0.7.1 of squeezeslave for AMD64.
Have found that this is the only version that work reliable in my core.
The other versions tend to crash with sound device related issues.

What kind of audio files do you have? (I only have mp3s)

/niz23
Hi,

I didn't yet get to the point to be able to play any file... I have just started squeezeslave from command line and got those weird errors... re you getting the same ? Can you please post example output of working squeezeslave?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: jspeckman on June 20, 2008, 04:13:41 pm
Hi,
  Don't know if this will help, but the -O option tells squeezeslave to use the older pre 7.0 SqueezeCenter protocol.  It might fix the problem if you guys are connecting to SlimServer.  Might not, but worth a try.  I'm running the i386 version of 0.7.5.1-20167 on a p3 and also on a pentium m.  After outputing the possible /dev/dsp devices I get no further output except an occasional decode error which seems to be related to my m4a files and does not produces any glitches that I can hear.  On my laptop I sometimes have to use aoss to launch squeezeslave.  However after a few hours of playing I start getting nothing but garbage out of the speakers.  I have not had this occur when running squeezeslave directly.  I run kde on my laptop and I think artsd sometimes steps on the oss modules in alsa.
From what I've read on the alsa site, I was unable to find any way of having the oss emulation output to anything other than the soundcards main output.  If anyone else has or is able to find anything, I would like to know as well.

Thanks,
Jason
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: bulek on June 23, 2008, 12:56:46 am
Hi,
  Don't know if this will help, but the -O option tells squeezeslave to use the older pre 7.0 SqueezeCenter protocol.  It might fix the problem if you guys are connecting to SlimServer.  Might not, but worth a try.  I'm running the i386 version of 0.7.5.1-20167 on a p3 and also on a pentium m.  After outputing the possible /dev/dsp devices I get no further output except an occasional decode error which seems to be related to my m4a files and does not produces any glitches that I can hear.  On my laptop I sometimes have to use aoss to launch squeezeslave.  However after a few hours of playing I start getting nothing but garbage out of the speakers.  I have not had this occur when running squeezeslave directly.  I run kde on my laptop and I think artsd sometimes steps on the oss modules in alsa.
From what I've read on the alsa site, I was unable to find any way of having the oss emulation output to anything other than the soundcards main output.  If anyone else has or is able to find anything, I would like to know as well.

Thanks,
Jason

Hi,

is this the proper info ?

http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Dolby_Digital_Out_(AC3,_SPDIF)#OSS_and_SPDIF (http://gentoo-wiki.com/HOWTO_Dolby_Digital_Out_(AC3,_SPDIF)#OSS_and_SPDIF)

HTH,

regards,

Bulek.
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: niz23 on June 23, 2008, 10:13:19 am
Bulek.

Seem like the info we want.
Let us all know how it work for you.

/niz23
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: tkmedia on June 23, 2008, 07:35:23 pm
Just posted in users about using the Media MVP  as squeezebox got it working but need help with template.

http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=5590.0
Thought you squeeze experts may have a thought.


Tim
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: bulek on June 30, 2008, 09:55:19 am
Bulek.

Seem like the info we want.
Let us all know how it work for you.

/niz23

Have found the trick, but cannot do it with my sound card (cause it doesn't recognize spdif output)...

Would like to ask about other problem. I've followed instructions about squeezeslave&LMCE and have created startup script:

Quote
cp -f squeezeslave.start /etc/init.d/squeezeslave
chmod +x /etc/init.d/squeezeslave
update-rc.d squeezeslave defaults 50

But it seems that squeezeslave is not properly started after boot - it starts to work imediately if I do this :
Quote
/etc/init.d/squeezeslave start

Any advice what is wrong ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: niz23 on June 30, 2008, 10:38:53 am
bulek.
Bulek.

Seem like the info we want.
Let us all know how it work for you.

/niz23

Have found the trick, but cannot do it with my sound card (cause it doesn't recognize spdif output)...

Would like to ask about other problem. I've followed instructions about squeezeslave&LMCE and have created startup script:

Quote
cp -f squeezeslave.start /etc/init.d/squeezeslave
chmod +x /etc/init.d/squeezeslave
update-rc.d squeezeslave defaults 50

But it seems that squeezeslave is not properly started after boot - it starts to work imediately if I do this :
Quote
/etc/init.d/squeezeslave start

Any advice what is wrong ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.


Is there any error messages in your boot log or messages log related to the start of squeezeslave?

/niz23
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: bulek on June 30, 2008, 11:07:16 am
bulek.
Bulek.

Seem like the info we want.
Let us all know how it work for you.

/niz23

Have found the trick, but cannot do it with my sound card (cause it doesn't recognize spdif output)...

Would like to ask about other problem. I've followed instructions about squeezeslave&LMCE and have created startup script:

Quote
cp -f squeezeslave.start /etc/init.d/squeezeslave
chmod +x /etc/init.d/squeezeslave
update-rc.d squeezeslave defaults 50

But it seems that squeezeslave is not properly started after boot - it starts to work imediately if I do this :
Quote
/etc/init.d/squeezeslave start

Any advice what is wrong ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.


Is there any error messages in your boot log or messages log related to the start of squeezeslave?

/niz23

dmesg | grep squeeze

gives nothing. Can I change script in some simple way to output more info to catch a problem ? I have no bash knowledge...

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: eNoodle on November 03, 2008, 04:08:48 pm
sorry for bumping up an old post, but I didn't wanted to start a new one.

I've successfully setuped two squeezeslaves on a MD. They are registered (seen in the webfrontend) and they're waiting for a signal, but as soon, as I start to play a file, I get a "decode error". Has anyone a solution for this.

I'm running a Hybrid/Core i386, the mentioned MD is an amd64 with squeezeslave_7.5.1_amd64.

Thanks in advance,
eNoodle
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: bulek on November 03, 2008, 09:41:53 pm
sorry for bumping up an old post, but I didn't wanted to start a new one.

I've successfully setuped two squeezeslaves on a MD. They are registered (seen in the webfrontend) and they're waiting for a signal, but as soon, as I start to play a file, I get a "decode error". Has anyone a solution for this.

I'm running a Hybrid/Core i386, the mentioned MD is an amd64 with squeezeslave_7.5.1_amd64.

Thanks in advance,
eNoodle

Did you follow wiki page procedure exactly? I'm curious, cause my squeezeslave just won't start after boot, if I start it manually /etc/init.d/squeezeslave start then it works...

Regarding decode error - it's mentioned like something that happens with later versions or maybe it's related to type of audio file. Did you try different files ?

My squeezeslave is  0.7.5.1-20167.

Regards,

Bulek.

Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: eNoodle on November 04, 2008, 08:39:06 am
@bulek,

I'm running 0.7.5.1 amd64 version. I've only tested 320 kbit, will test some more files today. I've followed the wiki instructions, however, I guess there is an error in this line

Code: [Select]
sudo default-rd.d /etc/init.d/squeezeslave default 50
It wasn't working for me, so I changed it to

Code: [Select]
sudo update-rc.d /etc/init.d/squeezeslave default 50
In my case, I've two start scripts (squeezeplayer1 and squeezeplayer2), both get started at startup and they can be stopped, restarted, etc. like normal daemon.

Only problem I have is the mentioned decode error, but maybe this is related to the encoding format of these files. It seems like this is the last error to fight against, all the rest is working (I can see the player in squeezecenter and it can be controlled from within LMCE).

Regards,
eNoodle
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: eNoodle on November 09, 2008, 12:58:23 pm
I didn't got any signal out of the squeezeslaves, so I moved my MD from amd64 to i386 and used squeezeslave-0.8-20-lnx26-alsa-i686 as client. Now everything is working, the dameons start at startup and they can play any kind of music. :)
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: bulek on November 10, 2008, 02:11:24 am
I didn't got any signal out of the squeezeslaves, so I moved my MD from amd64 to i386 and used squeezeslave-0.8-20-lnx26-alsa-i686 as client. Now everything is working, the dameons start at startup and they can play any kind of music. :)
Hi,

can you please share with us more info on how you did it and where this package can be downloaded ?

Thanks in advance,

regards,

Bulek.
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: eNoodle on November 10, 2008, 08:46:19 am
Hi bulek,

I pretty much followed the description from the wiki page (http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Squeezeslave_on_the_core). However, using the amd64 version wasn't working, so what differ is:


I added the "-O" param, which shwitches squeezeslave in old mode and prevents "receive errors". I also added a value to "-r" (retry parameter), so if the connection gets lost, it will reconnect. If you start squeezeslave from the commandline, you shouldn't receive any errors, in addition the alsa version shows all devices capable of playing audio (not only dev/dspX). Choose your ouput device and add it to the "-o" parameter. It is also possible to put two or more squeezeslaves on one soundcard, for example I got it running having one squeezeslave on digital output an other on analog output. For some soundcards it seems, that its also possible to put one stream to front, one to surrond and one to back, so you'll get three analog outputs.

Regarding your boot issue: I didn't needed to edit rc.local and I used "update-rc.d squeezebox1 defaults 50", instead of "default-rd.d /etc/init.d/squeezeslave default 50" (I have two squeezeslaves running, so I have two independent startscripts for them - squeezebox1 and squeezebox2). I also had to set the default soundcard for normal playback (asoundconf set-default-card XYZ). The rest was done using the description in the wiki.

My startscript parameter for squeezebox1:

NAME=squeezebox1
DAEMON=/usr/bin/squeezeslave
DAEMON_ARGS="-O -o 0 -m 00:00:00:00:00:01 -r 3 -s 192.168.80.1"
PIDFILE=/var/run/$NAME.pid
SCRIPTNAME=/etc/init.d/$NAME

I guess, that the biggest problem was the amd64 version of squeezeslave. I tried "0.8.12 i386" and "0.7.5.1  amd64" on amd64, none of them were working. However changing the MD to i386 and using the alsa-version is working perfectly. I can stream flac, mp3 and ogg vorbis without any issues.

Regards,
eNoodle

BTW, I'll add the infos to the wiki.
Title: Re: Linux MCE and Squeezebox integration?
Post by: bulek on November 10, 2008, 09:29:51 am
Hi,

thanks for info. I will see if this all works. I spotted only one problem - squeezeslave doesn't take any more parameter --volume off I used that to ignore volume changes - I do volume on amplifier) - but it cannot start if I add this parameter....

Anyone with same problem ?

Regards,

bulek.