LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: corcorelli on March 08, 2008, 02:29:24 pm

Title: apt-get no installation candidate problem - FIXED
Post by: corcorelli on March 08, 2008, 02:29:24 pm
Don't know if this was happening to anyone else. I kept having this problem when I would apt-get install <package> and go the error either saying <package> was not found or that there was no installation candidate. No amount of tinkering with sources.list seemed to solve this. However, following found in the Ubuntu forums fixed the problem ...

Code: [Select]
cd /etc/apt
sudo mv sources.list sources.list.bak
sudo vi sources.list # then save and quit (:wq) to create a blank file
sudo apt-get update
sudo rm sources.list
sudo cp sources.list.bak sources.list
sudo apt-get update

After this I was able to apt-get to my heart's content.
Title: Re: apt-get no installation candidate problem - FIXED
Post by: totallymaxed on March 08, 2008, 05:39:53 pm
Don't know if this was happening to anyone else. I kept having this problem when I would apt-get install <package> and go the error either saying <package> was not found or that there was no installation candidate. No amount of tinkering with sources.list seemed to solve this. However, following found in the Ubuntu forums fixed the problem ...

Code: [Select]
cd /etc/apt
sudo mv sources.list sources.list.bak
sudo vi sources.list # then save and quit (:wq) to create a blank file
sudo apt-get update
sudo rm sources.list
sudo cp sources.list.bak sources.list
sudo apt-get update

After this I was able to apt-get to my heart's content.


Just do the following if apt-get install <package> fails;
Code: [Select]
sudo apt-get update <return>
sudo apt-get install 'your_package' <return>

Andrew
Title: Re: apt-get no installation candidate problem - FIXED
Post by: corcorelli on March 10, 2008, 04:50:21 pm
Hi Andrew

I tried this first thing when I had problems as it should work just as you say. For some reason it didn't. I only got joy once I had updated with a blank sources file and then updated again with my original sources list back in place. I've no idea why this should be, but its the only way I got apt-get back in operation.

Joe