LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: cpszx on February 22, 2008, 02:05:10 am

Title: dce routing correctly, devices not acting on command
Post by: cpszx on February 22, 2008, 02:05:10 am
Hi,
am trying to get a vista rc6 mce remote working with vdr/linuxmce.

the home button calls the onscreen orbiter menu, and the cursor keys move and select correctly on the UI.

but, the channel and volume buttons do not act on vdr.
some buttons do work, like the tv selector, the recording guide, but the numeric buttons do not, nor the colour shortcuts.

i have looked at the lircd.conf and vdr/remote.conf and cant really understand the correlation.

i have tailed the dcerouter.log and 31_LIRC log and can see the button press going from the remote, and being presented to vdr device, but nothing happens, then dcerouter tries other devices until it gives up.

i have tried looking through the devices, commands and other stuff on the admin interface, and cant really see how that works either. it does seem overly complicated in there!

can anyone offer me some advice on where to look now?

thanks and regards,
Craig
Title: Re: dce routing correctly, devices not acting on command
Post by: totallymaxed on February 22, 2008, 02:16:07 am
Hi,
am trying to get a vista rc6 mce remote working with vdr/linuxmce.

the home button calls the onscreen orbiter menu, and the cursor keys move and select correctly on the UI.

but, the channel and volume buttons do not act on vdr.
some buttons do work, like the tv selector, the recording guide, but the numeric buttons do not, nor the colour shortcuts.

i have looked at the lircd.conf and vdr/remote.conf and cant really understand the correlation.

i have tailed the dcerouter.log and 31_LIRC log and can see the button press going from the remote, and being presented to vdr device, but nothing happens, then dcerouter tries other devices until it gives up.

i have tried looking through the devices, commands and other stuff on the admin interface, and cant really see how that works either. it does seem overly complicated in there!

can anyone offer me some advice on where to look now?

thanks and regards,
Craig

The mapping of some remote functions for vdr is not complete in Beta3. The release version will fix issue and numerous others and at that time we'll document how the commands are mapped.
Title: Re: dce routing correctly, devices not acting on command
Post by: cpszx on February 22, 2008, 01:14:16 pm
many thanks Andrew.
i guess a lot of the "features" that i would consider required in VDR support may already be addressed, so i will await the updated release.
Craig