LinuxMCE Forums

General => Developers => Topic started by: rthorntn on February 17, 2008, 11:22:07 am

Title: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: rthorntn on February 17, 2008, 11:22:07 am
Hi,

Below is a thread I started in Users, basically, I would like to know is it possible to poll a device (phidget) using http, parse the results and feed this in to LMCE?

For instance i have three sensors (temp, light, motion) linked to a small wireless computer, I use http and can retrieve the data from the sensors, can I then get this to be useful to LMCE, so for instance I can use the temperature reading to switch on a fan using PLCBUS?

Also does anyone know where we can get Aussie PLCBUS?

Thanks for your time.

Kind Regards
Richard


Phidgets.com compatibility
« on: February 03, 2008, 10:12:16 pm »
   
Hi,

I like the idea of the PhidgetInterfaceKit 8/8/8 for use in home automation, if I buy the following:

PhidgetInterfaceKit 8/8/8
Light Sensor
Motion Sensor
Temperature Sensor

Is there a way I can have Linux Media Centre Edition, read the values for light, motion and temperature?

Linux MCE supports a "Generic Serial Device" and states "For most external devices that are controlled by RS232, USB or Ethernet, you can use GSD (Generic Serial Device)"

And DCE looks like a way to get at data also.

Is it possible to use PhidgetWebService to expose the light, motion and temperature values to telnet for instance?

Any thoughts?

Thanks for your time.

Kind Regards
Richard

caederus Newbie   
Re: Phidgets.com compatibility
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2008, 05:51:31 am »

I have been using phidgets successfully for many things and I'd love to see them supported by linuxmce.  The most useful and easily adopted in by linuxmce would seem to be the mains relay outputs for lights and the analogue inputs for reading temperature or motion sense, but there are many other possibilities---I've used the RFID tag reader and a relay to unlock my front door and a light sensor and servo motor to control blinds.

I've been making my own control programs with the phidgets.com C library, so if someone could just show me an example of what commands to put in the GSD boxes to read and write values using command-line tools, I'm sure I'd be able to take it from there.  Alternatively, as Richard says, the phidgets.com library also includes a web-based remote API, so if someone could show me an example of how to get GSD to do HTTP GET and POST, I'm sure I'd be able to get that working too.

Thanks,

Robin.


colinjones
Guru
Re: Phidgets.com compatibility
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2008, 12:46:58 pm »
   Reply with quoteQuote
You can probably get it to work, but will need a driver developed that hooks into the Pluto database and talks to the DCERouter - this is the element that routes all command and event messages around the system. Go to the developers forum and you will see lots of development going on for HA products, they will be very happy to see you if you are prepared to help add another product. You should see lots of code snipets of what they are doing, and the wiki has plenty of info as well.
Title: Re: using http to take a measurement, possible?
Post by: hari on February 17, 2008, 06:35:49 pm
Yes, you can use a GSD. I suggest you look at the Panasonic IP Camera device template. It's a good example for getting stuff with http.

best regards,
Hari
Title: Re: using http to take a measurement, possible?
Post by: ddamron on February 17, 2008, 11:49:28 pm
Robin,

Yes, by all means, GSD & the EXTREMELY powerful embedded Ruby programming language can do that.
If you can post a 'sample' message and response, I can get you started...

regards,

Dan

Title: Re: using http to take a measurement, possible?
Post by: ddamron on February 18, 2008, 08:41:48 am
Robin/Richard, (which is it?)

it is *VERY* easy to implement that.  it's almost a cut & past operation.  I suggest you visit us in the Chat room, and I'll be happy to help.  If you have your lmce up and running, we can even get 'rudimentary' up probably within a couple hours!

Hari's PLCBUS Lights (he's in Germany, I'm in Canada) are a perfect example of that.

from the time I first remote accessed his machine, we had basic 1-way communication within 3 hours.
Bidirectional took a bit longer (couple of weeks), but it's done.
Probably the most hardest part is the Ruby Language.  I, by no means am an expert, but I've now done 2 Home Automation systems (both bidirectional) in linuxmce, and both are working great.

95% of the time, you'll find me in the IRC channel, which you can now access directly from here: http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?action=chat
HTH, look forward to meeting you in the IRC.

All the Best,

Dan
Title: Re: using http to take a measurement, possible?
Post by: rthorntn on February 18, 2008, 09:56:14 am
Hari, thanks for the information.

Dan, great stuff thanks for that, I will go ahead and order the following:

PhidgetInterfaceKit 8/8/8
Temperature, Motion and Light Sensors
Force Sensor (to use as a clicker)
Slider (possibly to control volume or light levels)

So the plan would be to use the www.phidgets.com/documentation/Tutorials/PhidgetWebService.pdf to provide temp, motion and light data to LMCE which it could use to dim lights or start a fan in a particular zone through PLCBUS.

I will buy a small wireless system with USB (maybe from pcengines), this will have the sensors attached and the PhidgetWebService running on it, this will be my telemetry box, I may add a webcam that is compatible with http://linux-uvc.berlios.de/.

Phidgets.com are canadian, so I will have to wait a bit until it gets delivered to me in Sydney.

I will come over to the chat when it arrives, thanks again.

Cheers
Richard
Title: Re: using http to take a measurement, possible?
Post by: ddamron on February 18, 2008, 08:14:32 pm
Hey, Richard,

I'm Canadian!

Just looked at their site, looks like LEGO for GEEKS! LMAO
should be no problem to do as you request.. it's just HTTP GET..

See you in the forums!

Dan
Title: Re: using http to take a measurement, possible?
Post by: rthorntn on February 18, 2008, 10:31:34 pm
Hi Dan,

Aye LEGO for geeks :-)

I found some more info:

http://www.phidgets.com/documentation/Tutorials/Phidget_Networking.pdf

and

http://www.phidgets.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?p=6843&sid=6536f0d3cab2396efa85b245d4eb5df3

Looking forward to getting my hands on this.

Cheers
Richard
Title: Re: using http to take a measurement, possible?
Post by: ddamron on February 18, 2008, 10:49:21 pm
Richard,

LinuxMCE takes care of the communication for you.
You set up the settings in the device template, specific settings in the device (like serial numbers, etc), and tell lmce if it's a socket connection, serial, USB, whatever.
then, to send information, you call conn_.Send(data). 

When the device sends you data back, lmce fires the CMD350 Process Incoming Data.
You grab the data (be it a web page, socket message, serial stream, doesn't matter), process it, and tell linuxmce what it needs to know with a Command object.

ie cmd = Command.new(from, to, priority, type, id)
to set parameters, you do:
cmd.params_
and when your ready to send the command, you do:
SendCommand(cmd)
That fires the command off to DCERouter.

Done.
:)
Title: Re: using http to take a measurement, possible?
Post by: darrenmason on February 18, 2008, 11:46:27 pm
Richard,

Sorry to hijack the thread a bit but.....

You mentioned that you are going to control stuff with PLCBUS. Have you got any PLCBUS hardware yet? If so where from? I have been tempted to get some but can't find an Aussie distributor and some of the sites offerring them look a bit dodgy.

I know that there is Australian distributors for the phidgets gear though.

Don't have a link but I am sure that I saw it....

regards
Darren
Title: Re: using http to take a measurement, possible?
Post by: darrenmason on February 18, 2008, 11:49:54 pm
Found the link .....

http://www.ozziesim.com.au/shop/

Title: Re: using http to take a measurement, possible?
Post by: colinjones on February 19, 2008, 12:44:31 am
The distributer that the contact Hari had, for Australia, was Mox - I contacted them asking about PLCBUS stuff, and they tried to push their entire branded HA solution on me. I told them I was just looking for devices as I had my own system (and explained LMCE) - then they just lost interest, never heard back from them!
Title: Re: using http to take a measurement, possible?
Post by: rthorntn on February 19, 2008, 07:34:10 am
Hi Darren, thanks for the link, I have ordered it, worked out $30 AU more locally.

Hi Colin, I was just thinking of ordering the PLCBUS-1141 from http://x10-hk.com/ and something like the PLCBUS-2026U with an aussie plug to hack a demo together initially.

Hi Dan, looks all good.

Anybody any idea where we can get an PLCBUS aussie plugin module?

Thanks everybody for your help.

Cheers
Richard
Title: Re: using http to take a measurement, possible?
Post by: ddamron on February 19, 2008, 07:38:37 am
Sorry Richard, :( I'm in Canada...
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: colinjones on February 19, 2008, 12:59:01 pm
Hari - are you out there? Could you put Richard in contact with the Chinese distributer, as I know they are making devices for the AU market as well....
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: hari on February 19, 2008, 02:17:26 pm
Hari - are you out there? Could you put Richard in contact with the Chinese distributer, as I know they are making devices for the AU market as well....

ask this guy:
coco_lee2004@hotmail.com

best regards,
Hari
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: ddamron on February 19, 2008, 08:04:54 pm
hehe,

go ask hari ;)
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: rthorntn on February 20, 2008, 12:20:14 am
Hi

Can anyone vouch for this Chinese distributor, anyone ordered and received goods, why does he have a hotmail address I wonder out loud? ;-)

Kind Regards
Richard
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: hari on February 20, 2008, 12:34:55 am
Hi

Can anyone vouch for this Chinese distributor, anyone ordered and received goods, why does he have a hotmail address I wonder out loud? ;-)

Kind Regards
Richard
I did business with some chinese guys and it seems many of them don't care. Just get in contact with him, he is very helpful. And he is not the distributor, he's the manufacturer.

best regards,
Hari
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: rthorntn on February 20, 2008, 12:53:10 am
Will do, thanks again Hari.
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: darrenmason on February 20, 2008, 02:03:29 am
They certainly make australian versions of the modules according to their downloadable catalogue.

I sent of a couple of emails and Automation@home(the one with the prices in pounds) responded that they will order them from the factory and pricing will be the same as the UK ones.

I emailed the info address at the plcbus main website and havn't heard back yet - it sounds like the guy hari mentioned might be from there.

Richard if you contact him see if we can buy direct from him and it might be worth doing a combined order as I think Colin and RichardP (from Melbourne) were interested as well.

regards
Darren
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: ddamron on February 20, 2008, 02:06:56 am
Great!  You guys can help finalize the PLCBUS interface!
YAY!!!
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: rthorntn on February 20, 2008, 03:52:34 am
Cool, will do.
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: rthorntn on February 21, 2008, 10:16:51 pm
Back to square one...Mox.

leecoco <coco_lee2004@hotmail.com>
date      21 Feb 2008 12:20   
subject      RE: Australian PLCBUS   
 
Richard;
 
We are the factory for PLCBUS products; but we have one distributor in Australia;
 
If you have any demand, please contact with them:
 
Peter Hosmer
Chief Operating Officer
MOX Group
6 Enterprise Street
PO Box 636
Richlands Qld
4077 Australia
Tel : +61 7 3713 7588
Fax: +61 7 3713 7566
Mobile: +61 401396236
Email: peterhosmer@mox.com.au
 
 
Regards;
 
Coco Lee
 
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: colinjones on February 21, 2008, 10:27:15 pm
That's the guy that I contacted. He seemed to loose interest as soon as I mentioned LMCE. I never chased him up again so maybe you want to give it a go...
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: darrenmason on February 21, 2008, 10:34:19 pm
Richard,

I got the same email that you did when emailing the info@something address from the PLC-BUS website.

I have emailed MOX, yet to get a response. If he is not interested then will email the manufacturer back and let him know. Perhaps we can make up an order big enough to interest him directly if we all want stuff.

Might just end up ordering from the online site x-10hk.com - They said they would order Aussie parts from the manufatcurer.

Regards
Darren
Title: Re: Aussie PLCBUS and using http to take a measurement?
Post by: niz23 on February 21, 2008, 11:21:16 pm
colinjones.

That's the guy that I contacted. He seemed to loose interest as soon as I mentioned LMCE. I never chased him up again so maybe you want to give it a go...

Same for me.
I made an agreement with him that if he sponsored a USB interface (which he agreed to) I would promote plcbus as much as I can here in sweden. However, as you say when "I mentioned LMCE" he stopped responding to my emails.

Have also tried the info@ addresses, with no luck. Have sent at least 10 emails to it without response.
Since I have been doing some china import earlier I´m not too surprised. Many manufacturers use hotmail addresses. As soon as you contact them and as for samples or how to make a small order they will direct you to a hotmail address to finalize your order. Why?. I don´t know. Perhaps there are people that have side incomes. Just a guess.



/niz23
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: rthorntn on February 24, 2008, 09:00:42 am
1 x PLCBUS USB Computer Interface
2 x AU PLCBUS Appliance Plug In Module
2 x AU PLCBUS Lamp Plug In Module
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: ddamron on February 24, 2008, 07:53:16 pm
I'm not sure, but I think Hari really liked the Scene Controller..
It may be worth your while to look at that too.

HTH

Dan
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: hari on February 24, 2008, 10:09:28 pm
I'm not sure, but I think Hari really liked the Scene Controller..
It may be worth your while to look at that too.

HTH

Dan

yeah, that crystal switch stuff is nice.. and the girls like it ;)

best regards,
Hari
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: darrenmason on February 24, 2008, 11:26:55 pm
I was thinking;
  USB interface
  1 Lamp Module (AU)
  2 Appliance Module (AU)
  and then I want to do 3 or four lights to start with. 2 of them have to be dimming and the manual switch could be one unit (maybe duel crystal panel) the other two have fluros so they woulnd not be dimmable. I might try micro switches for them.

If it all works well then I would add a bunch more lights - mixture of dimmable and not.

I still have not heard from the MOX guy - might try and get him on the phone.

regards
Darren
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: colinjones on February 24, 2008, 11:45:10 pm
I'm guessing that Coco Lee, as the manufacturer, would not be well impressed if he knew that his only distributor in Australia was not interested in reselling their products, only in supplying them as an integrated solution. Clearly the market for the former is far greater than the latter!
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: darrenmason on February 24, 2008, 11:52:55 pm
Just rang Peter and he is going to get the Sales guy to contact me. I told him I was only after PLCBUS components and not for them to sell me a whole solution, he said that would not be a problem.

So we'll wait and see I guess....
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: darrenmason on February 25, 2008, 12:20:52 am
Sales guy has contacted me, name is Chris Cameron. Explained what we are interested in and that I am not the only one. He is pricing some of the components and sending it to me by the end of day.

Will let you all know how I get on....
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: darrenmason on February 26, 2008, 01:34:52 am
MOX have provided a quote on most of the major components, although they did not quote the plugin type modules - but they could probably order them I guess.

Markup is quite substantial by the looks of it. Prices (once GST is added in) come in at anywhere between 30-60% more expensive than X10-hk's online prices. Plus they have not quoted me any shipping charges.

The other factor (and this might be the killer for them) is that they have quoted delivery of 6-8 weeks, which to me says that they will be ordering straight from China and don't have local stocks which means we might as well order from online retailers.

I will have a think about what I will do.

regards
Darren
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: rthorntn on February 26, 2008, 06:01:04 am
Yip I vote for a bulk order from X10-hk.
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: slampt on March 01, 2008, 02:48:37 pm
Just letting everyone know I am getting some kit from x10-hk.com
To have a play with.  When it arrives and I install it I will let you all know how I go.
Below is what I am getting, if all goes well I would be in for a bulk buy (if he gives us a good discount :P)

A)   PLCBUS-1141 PLCBUS USB Computer Interface
B)   PLCBUS-2225 PLCBUS Double Button Appliance Wall Switch
C)   PLCBUS-2220 PLCBUS Single Button Dimmer Wall Switch


Cheers
Slampt

Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: colinjones on March 02, 2008, 04:36:41 am
Out of interest, does anybody know if the PLCBUS-AU stuff conforms to any standard light switch facia plate and wall box sizes? Or are they likely to require modifications to the walls and back panel fittings? Reason I ask is that I am currently renting a place, so modifications to the walls/fixtures could be an issue, and at the very least I need to be able to reverse out all the changes upon leaving... The modifications issue is especially true where current light switches are in solid brick/plaster exterior walls rather than Gyprock...
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: darrenmason on March 02, 2008, 11:26:57 pm
Slampt,

I have made a similar small order from Futurehomes as they were a bit cheaper. Again if all goes well then we could do a bulk order from whichever can do the best deal.

btw: where are you located?

regards
Darren
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: slampt on March 03, 2008, 01:57:51 am
Hey Darren,

They didn't have prices on the site when I looked so I went with hk-x10, though I am sure he would be able to do similar pricing.
I am in Western Australia.

Cheers
Slampt
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: RichardP on March 03, 2008, 03:54:20 am
Out of interest, does anybody know if the PLCBUS-AU stuff conforms to any standard light switch facia plate and wall box sizes? Or are they likely to require modifications to the walls and back panel fittings? Reason I ask is that I am currently renting a place, so modifications to the walls/fixtures could be an issue, and at the very least I need to be able to reverse out all the changes upon leaving... The modifications issue is especially true where current light switches are in solid brick/plaster exterior walls rather than Gyprock...

Colin, this is probably going to pose a big problem for you. You might have to bite the bullet and go CBus. The wireless range will let you replace your existing switches to achieve the same thing. Will probably cost more though.

I'm heading in the opposite direction - I'm an existing CBus user hoping to use PLCBus intead of or in addition to CBus, in order to sell my services to potential LMCE users.

I'd be interested in which way you finally go, as people in rented homes are likely to be rich source of potenial clients.

Best Regards,
RichardP.
PS: How is the video tearing issue?
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: colinjones on March 03, 2008, 05:28:43 am
Thx Richard...

The tearing issue seemed to go away after lots of messing about. However, I never got over the jerkiness issue.... I am incredibly frustrated by it... have tried everything I can think of in the xorg.conf and nVidia driver settings GUI tool to no avail... Have logged posts in the nVidia support forums and not received a single response. Have just written to Abit (integrated 7050PV) because nVidia don't want anything to do with people who have integrated chipsets!

Recently the tearing came back, its not as frequent as it was (used to happen continuously, now its just occasionally), so I am focussing on the jerkiness as this does happen pretty much all the time - any pans or zooms...

I'm sooo disappointed because as it stands the entire system is completely useless to me. The video is so much worse than the TVs internal DVB tuner, and media files worse than my old LinkTheater, that I cannot justify switching to it myself, much less to my other half!

BTW, I did solve the 60/50Hz problem I had with the Samsung TV.... I could easily get any number of modelines in xorg.conf for 1080p50Hz, but the Samsung would just spit the dummy, or overscan so much as to be useless. Naturally, Samsung ignored any attempt I made to get help from them until I threatened to demand my money back - they called my mobile 3 mins after I sent that email! They showed me a simple setting to get the TV to accept the signal - unfortunately 1) it has to be manually set every time I reboot LMCE, and 2) getting the TV refresh in sync with my media sources did not improve the jerkiness or tearing as I had hoped!

Col.
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: darrenmason on March 07, 2008, 10:44:53 am
Slampt, (and others)

The order from Futurehomes did not take place. They took ages to get back to me with a final quote (including shipping) and they wanted $100 (Singapore dollars ~ $77 AUD) for 4 items. So I went and ordered it from X-10 as well. It was much easier to do an online order anyway.

Slampt, has your stuff come yet?

Regards
Darren

Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: slampt on March 08, 2008, 01:28:56 am
Darren,

My stuff hasn't arrived yet, tracking says it has left HK but that's it, Kevin at x10-hk.com is chasing them up for me as it should have arrived by now.


Slampt

Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: darrenmason on March 10, 2008, 01:13:39 pm
Slampt,

My stuff arrived today, I was pretty impressed as it was only Friday afternoon that I ordered it.

Now just need some time to try it out.....

Regards
Darren
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: slampt on March 11, 2008, 01:28:25 am
Darren,

My stuff should arrive today, NFI why it took so long it should have left HK on the 3rd, but didn't hit WA until the 10th....

Anyway when it arrives I will install a couple of switches and have a play.

Slampt
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: slampt on March 11, 2008, 04:49:07 am
My Kit Just arrived,

I will hopefully install it on the w/e.  Just need to figure out how to set it up in linuxmce :P

Joe

Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: rthorntn on March 26, 2008, 07:16:50 am
I would like to get the PLCBUS USB adapter and some plugin modules for AU, does anyone want to combine an order?

Is anyone aware of a supplier that can provide the AU plugin stuff?
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: darrenmason on March 26, 2008, 11:24:32 pm
Richard,

The supplier that sent me mine (x10-hk) sent me an email a couple of days ago saying that he had AU plugin modules in stock now.
I still havn't had a chance to plug mine in yet (mainly because I was working on Phidgets interface :) ), but if all works well then I will probably get some more bits so could combine some postage.

That said, the postage rates were not too bad and like mentioned previously was very quick (I ordered Friday evening and had the stuff on Monday afternoon)

Regards
Darren

ps; slampt - any news on your installation, got it working?
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: slampt on March 27, 2008, 12:13:42 am
I have my installation working,

I would like to thank ddamron and hari for all their help.
I am currently getting my head around ruby because I want write in a poller so that if you flick the switch manually linuxmce will know about it.  The only way around this would be to do what hari does and use scene controllers which will cost a little bit more.

That said I will let every one know how I go. I hope insteon releases some AU kit *grin*

Slampt
Title: Re: OK lets make a list of Australian PLCBUS stuff we want?
Post by: darrenmason on March 29, 2008, 12:17:42 am
I decided to have a crack at it last night...

End result (after a few hours) was I got it working and it is quite impressive. Needed a few subtle code tweaks and a bit of database searching to work out what parameters needed to be added and what to be set to.

I currently only have a dual crystal switch hooked up to two dummy lights but even the wife thought it was impressive when I turned them on and dimmed them via the Nokia 770 orbiter :)

The first time I have used a GSD device (and ruby for that matter) as other devices I have developed myself have been C++, but it seems pretty straightforward and works well for this device.

Dan, I would like to publically thank you for your work here. I think that PLC-BUS is currently the most cost effective lighting solution in Australia and you have helped make this happen in linuxMCE.

So the plan now is to update the wiki with a similar install guide to the Insteon one. It would be good if Slampt, Dan and Hari could look over this and add/correct any omissions, hope to get this done over the weekend.

Slampt, part of the PLC-BUS command set allows switching status feedback on - this may help do what you want.
Do you want an event published when the manual switch is used or just the state changed so that it be queried by a command?

Regards
Darren