LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: ddamron on December 30, 2007, 01:38:49 am

Title: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 30, 2007, 01:38:49 am
Just curious

Dan
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: golgoj4 on December 30, 2007, 04:13:50 am
I have a buncha x10 equipment...dont really WANT to buy all new stuff, but might if the functionality is better than that of the x10. I have a lot of headaches with it (x10) and kinda want something more reliable. So yeah, Im following it.
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 30, 2007, 04:28:49 am
If your X10 devices are 2-way, the Insteon PLM will provide you with a 2-way communication.
Something the CM11A driver should have had from the start... ahh well...
That'll give you some stability... if X10 signal not received, retransmit... yada yada yada
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 30, 2007, 04:32:29 am
Actually, that's a good idea...
put a option in the driver to CONFIRM X10 TRANSMISSIONS.. follow up each command with a Status Request...
then fire the event off the Status Request...

Self, Nice Thinking!

And thank you for putting the bug in my ear...


Regards,

Dan
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: golgoj4 on December 30, 2007, 04:49:57 am
I just appreciate the work that you and the other folks are putting into this for the benefit of everyone else. I read a lot more than I respond on here and i've been following your progress ( and frustrations ) with insteon.
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 30, 2007, 04:56:59 am
Heh, Sometimes the frustrations are more interesting than the actual code...
Glad to see your following...
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: golgoj4 on December 30, 2007, 05:33:17 am
Heh, Sometimes the frustrations are more interesting than the actual code...
Glad to see your following...


yeah, sometimes i check these forums waaay to much...
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 30, 2007, 09:04:23 am
I have a buncha x10 equipment...dont really WANT to buy all new stuff, but might if the functionality is better than that of the x10. I have a lot of headaches with it (x10) and kinda want something more reliable. So yeah, Im following it.

BTW, Insteon is WAY MORE reliable than X10 on it's best day...

How many times have you pressed the button and waited ... waited... to see if the command went through...

Insteon is 40 times faster.. and automatically CONFIRMS EVERY message...
you press the button, and before your finger comes off, the command has been processed!

Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: totallymaxed on December 30, 2007, 11:48:01 am
I have a buncha x10 equipment...dont really WANT to buy all new stuff, but might if the functionality is better than that of the x10. I have a lot of headaches with it (x10) and kinda want something more reliable. So yeah, Im following it.

BTW, Insteon is WAY MORE reliable than X10 on it's best day...

How many times have you pressed the button and waited ... waited... to see if the command went through...

Insteon is 40 times faster.. and automatically CONFIRMS EVERY message...
you press the button, and before your finger comes off, the command has been processed!



Hmmmm... its a pity the Insteon chipset does not work at 240v/50Hz  ::)
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: golgoj4 on December 30, 2007, 11:55:09 am
I have a buncha x10 equipment...dont really WANT to buy all new stuff, but might if the functionality is better than that of the x10. I have a lot of headaches with it (x10) and kinda want something more reliable. So yeah, Im following it.

BTW, Insteon is WAY MORE reliable than X10 on it's best day...

How many times have you pressed the button and waited ... waited... to see if the command went through...

Insteon is 40 times faster.. and automatically CONFIRMS EVERY message...
you press the button, and before your finger comes off, the command has been processed!



Maybe im lucky, but x10 controllers have always been lightning fast. Do you mean commands when sent via a serial device from a computer? In that case yes it slow as hell AND I keep getting these 'checksum error' messages in the log. Not really qualified to diagnose it but im trying to figure it out the best I can. it pisses me off when thing break ;D
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 30, 2007, 12:06:25 pm
Ahh, they just haven't developed it yet... It'll work..maybe I'll hack it..
The 240V isn't a problem, it's the 50Hz..
I'll bet they have a simple crystal inside for timing...
Most of the devices are PLC based.. it's only a few devices that use the RF side.. and it's really not an issue in EU.. 1 phase power...
I wonder if smarthome will 'donate' a few devices for EU development...
heh, it's in their best interest!

Dan
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: mchapman on December 30, 2007, 12:07:57 pm
I've been following your Insteon progress on a daily basis...you and others been putting a huge effort into this! I am planning to purchase an EZBRIDGE as soon as possible to use in a showroom. The fact that one can confirm whether or not a light is ON/OFF is a big plus for us. I'm not a code warrior, so I cannot help out with this, but I have been getting an education...vicariously :D

Mike
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 30, 2007, 01:36:26 pm
mchapman,

That's great to hear!  The EZBridge is IDEAL for remote locations..  Offices, stores, storage units, whatever!

You're the first I've heard whose planning on using an EZBridge... so a couple hints for you...
Make sure you update to the LATEST FIRMWARE.. I had 1.19 in mine and was getting all kinds of weird errors..
I managed to get a beta copy of 1.23, and all my problems went away!
Also, the EZServe firmware seems to work quite well too...(again, the newest...)

Good luck!

Dan
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: hari on December 30, 2007, 03:00:04 pm
Most of the devices are PLC based.. it's only a few devices that use the RF side.. and it's really not an issue in EU.. 1 phase power...
Austria and Germany use multiple phases.
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: niz23 on December 30, 2007, 03:22:06 pm
Most of the devices are PLC based.. it's only a few devices that use the RF side.. and it's really not an issue in EU.. 1 phase power...
Sweden do too (3 phases into every home).

By the way I was talking to Insteon 2 years ago and they promised 50hz 240V equipment mid 2007.
So far I havent´s seen any products.

Personally I believe powerline controlled equipment will be the future since you don´t have to use any extra wires for control signals etc.
It can easily be integrated into almost every home.
Wireless is another option, but that equipment also need power in some way (battery etc.).
Unfortunately there is no equipment I know of, that is cheap and can transmit data over powerline in both directions at a reasonable speed. (about 50kbps and above).

Does anyone know if such powerline equipments exist yet, that is integrated into a light switch, power outlet etc?

/niz23
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: tschak909 on December 30, 2007, 07:35:47 pm
the work that PeteK and ddamron have been putting into the Insteon drivers have been the sole reason that my future deployments will be mostly Insteon based (you guys have managed thus far to make the ONLY bi-directional complete layer in LMCE!), and basically put the 0704 ZWave driver to shame.

Fantastic work, guys. We do need to take some time after things are working, and document our process.

-Thom
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: posterberg on December 30, 2007, 10:13:36 pm
Most of the devices are PLC based.. it's only a few devices that use the RF side.. and it's really not an issue in EU.. 1 phase power...
Austria and Germany use multiple phases.

Sweden uses three phases, most devices only use one though but there is always three phases in a household which means that wall outlets might not be connected to the same phase. One very big reason to which for a RF based transmissions.
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 30, 2007, 11:06:04 pm
PLCBus might be what you're looking for.. it's 50Hz Countries ONLY...
Basically it's S10..(vs X10) faster, 2-way, slight change in protocol to allow for more devices..
there's a wiki page on it...

Regards,
Dan
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: hari on December 30, 2007, 11:26:21 pm
http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/PLCBUS

There is also a developers thread about it:
http://forum.linuxmce.org/index.php?topic=3608.0

best regards,
Hari
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 30, 2007, 11:29:38 pm
Hari, Your GGGRRRREEEEAAAAATTT!

(I still have yet to figure out links... lol)

Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 31, 2007, 02:09:25 am
the work that PeteK and ddamron have been putting into the Insteon drivers have been the sole reason that my future deployments will be mostly Insteon based (you guys have managed thus far to make the ONLY bi-directional complete layer in LMCE!), and basically put the 0704 ZWave driver to shame.

Fantastic work, guys. We do need to take some time after things are working, and document our process.

-Thom


Thanks Thom! <blush>
I agree, I've learned a few GOTCHAS while implementing this..
Probably the FIRST MAJOR one is that a SETLEVEL (184) command does NOT automatically change the state to ON..
I've found a few bugs in the spider (again).. easy to fix.. now I'm letting it run...
While it's running, I'll try to update the wiki...

Dan
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: Todd on December 31, 2007, 03:11:37 am
I have been following your development.  In fact I have bought two insteon dimmer switches which are setting by my computer.  I plan on installing them in a few weeks and hopefully 710 will be out then and I can try it all out.
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 31, 2007, 05:27:02 am
Well, by the looks of the poll, I'm the only one ready to go... :(

In that case, I'll delay releasing the code and debug it more.
:)
<snicker>
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 31, 2007, 11:14:20 am
ummm....
that was supposed to be a joke....
 ??? ??? ???
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: mmiller on December 31, 2007, 02:17:32 pm
have the full setup installed just waiting on 710  By the way, will this work with the 2414S (I think thats the number) Serial PLC or just the PLM?

great work
mark
Title: Re: Are you following INSTEON Integration?
Post by: ddamron on December 31, 2007, 09:06:13 pm
just the PLM.

The 2414S uses a different language..