LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: SilkBC on December 01, 2007, 04:35:00 am

Title: Controlling remote devices
Post by: SilkBC on December 01, 2007, 04:35:00 am
Hi There.

I am considering installing a LinuxMCE system and have been reading over the site (docs, requirements, etc.)  I am currently running a MythTV system that is hooked in to an A/V receiver with my DVD and TV.  I want to be able to do home automation and VoIP a little bit down the road.

While I will likely be running a "hybrid" system at first, I like the "Media Director" feature, but just want to make a clarification.  I have a Logitech Harmony remote which currently controls all my devices, and I know it'll work to control the "hybrid" system.  However, if I expand the system to include one or two "Media Directors", I am assuming I would need some sort of LIRC-supported device to control the on-screen stuff with the remote?

I am pretty sure that this is the case, but just wanted confirmation :-)

Thanks! :-)

-SilkBC
Title: Re: Controlling remote devices
Post by: totallymaxed on December 01, 2007, 12:09:02 pm
Hi There.

I am considering installing a LinuxMCE system and have been reading over the site (docs, requirements, etc.)  I am currently running a MythTV system that is hooked in to an A/V receiver with my DVD and TV.  I want to be able to do home automation and VoIP a little bit down the road.

While I will likely be running a "hybrid" system at first, I like the "Media Director" feature, but just want to make a clarification.  I have a Logitech Harmony remote which currently controls all my devices, and I know it'll work to control the "hybrid" system.  However, if I expand the system to include one or two "Media Directors", I am assuming I would need some sort of LIRC-supported device to control the on-screen stuff with the remote?

I am pretty sure that this is the case, but just wanted confirmation :-)

Thanks! :-)

-SilkBC


You can control any other MD from the MD your actually using... just change the room your Orbiter is controlling and set it to the room you want to control. Then the Orbiter you are in front off will remotely control the features of the other MD.
Title: Re: Controlling remote devices
Post by: SilkBC on December 01, 2007, 08:01:45 pm
Hi There.

Thanks for the reply.

You can control any other MD from the MD your actually using... just change the room your Orbiter is controlling and set it to the room you want to control. Then the Orbiter you are in front off will remotely control the features of the other MD.

If I wish to use my Harmony remote (or any other universal remote, for that matter), how are the signals received?  because it's an infrared device, there needs to be some sort of receiver.  On my current setup, I use the receiver that came with my PVR-150 card.  None of my devices have a serial port, so I am not able to control them with that.

That's really what i wanted clarification of: that I would still need an infrared receiver on each MD to control it... is this correct?

TIA! :-)

-SilkBC

Title: Re: Controlling remote devices
Post by: tschak909 on December 01, 2007, 10:00:02 pm
yes, you need an IR reciever for each MD.

but seriously, once you start integrating everything into the system, you'll most likely migrate off of the Harmony remote (which, when you start using the orbiters, you'll see why.), and start using either a standard orbiter, or a Fiire Chief, or a Gyration mouse etc.

even controlling using bluetooth phone is a good option.

-Thom
Title: Re: Controlling remote devices
Post by: totallymaxed on December 02, 2007, 12:38:06 am
Hi There.

Thanks for the reply.

You can control any other MD from the MD your actually using... just change the room your Orbiter is controlling and set it to the room you want to control. Then the Orbiter you are in front off will remotely control the features of the other MD.

If I wish to use my Harmony remote (or any other universal remote, for that matter), how are the signals received?  because it's an infrared device, there needs to be some sort of receiver.  On my current setup, I use the receiver that came with my PVR-150 card.  None of my devices have a serial port, so I am not able to control them with that.

That's really what i wanted clarification of: that I would still need an infrared receiver on each MD to control it... is this correct?

TIA! :-)

-SilkBC



Yes you will want to have an IR receiver on each MD and if you also want to use IR to send control commands from your MD's to your other equipment then you will need IR blasting capability where you have those devices.