LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: schwagner on August 17, 2007, 03:03:52 pm

Title: intel boot agent
Post by: schwagner on August 17, 2007, 03:03:52 pm
I attempted to install Linux MCE 7.04 from the quick-install DVD.  Everything was going well, then I got the following message while installing:

No boot filename received
Exiting Intel Boot Agent
device -- insert boot disk and press any key

I am very new to Linux and I really don't know what this means.  So if someone could at least point me in the right direction, I'd be very grateful.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: schwagner on August 17, 2007, 03:24:38 pm
actually, the error (I think), is PXE-2.1 build 084
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: teedge77 on August 17, 2007, 04:23:29 pm
So, in the middle of your installation it says something about PXE booting problems or when you try to boot from the DVD?
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: schwagner on August 17, 2007, 04:26:12 pm
In the middle of installation - not long after it asks that the DVD be removed.  Is it not recognizing a drive or something?
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: teedge77 on August 17, 2007, 04:49:30 pm
It seems so. It detects the drive fine when you install though correct? It gives you that error after the install is complete, it tells you to take out the dvd and then it reboots, right? Is it SATA or IDE? Dual booting anything...wait....the DVD takes the entire disk as far as I know...hmmm...can you check the bios and see that you have it set to boot from that drive? I can't imagine that it wouldn't be....make sure that drive is at the top and try rebooting.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: schwagner on August 17, 2007, 05:20:21 pm
Well, it's SATA.  I've never checked the bios since switching to Kubuntu (just in Windows).  When I'm looking at it I can figure it out, but how do I get there to see it?  As I mentioned, I'm very new to Linux.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: teedge77 on August 17, 2007, 05:22:37 pm
In the BIOS look for the "BOOT" or "BOOT ORDER" option or something similar. What kindof motherboard do you have? You should be able to select the boot order in that option. I would try setting the hard drive as the first boot device and see if it picks it up. After that you could try switching to the DVD drive and making the HD second.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: schwagner on August 17, 2007, 07:26:20 pm
In the boot order, DVD drive was first.  I changed it to hard drive, and the installation boot picked right up where it left off, with the same PXE-2.1 "need boot disk" message.  Should the re-order have fixed it (if that was the problem), or does the installation need to be re-started?  And if that's the case, do I just boot up with the quick install DVD in the drive?
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: teedge77 on August 17, 2007, 08:08:42 pm
Yeah if the boot order had been the problem that should have fixed it. It is something else. I will look at my dvd when i get home tonight and see. Maybe someone else can help you fix it before then.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: schwagner on August 18, 2007, 02:28:55 am
If you can think of anything, that would be helpful.  The error implies that it's not finding anything to boot from - but at this point I've attempted it from both the hard drive and the disc drive.  Not that it would take much, but I'm stumped.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: 1audio on August 18, 2007, 07:33:18 am
You should not get that message unless you have network boot enabled. Its a BIOS setting and should not be on in the core. Look for anything like that in the bios boot configuration and disable it. Let us know if thats your problem.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: schwagner on August 18, 2007, 05:06:13 pm
I disabled 'boot to network' in the BIOS and now the error message is gone - just the line "no bootable device -- insert boot disk and press any key"
Any suggestions?
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: schwagner on August 18, 2007, 05:14:57 pm
The only two fields in the BIOS that seem to be in any way (but probably not) related are the 'Max CPUID Value Limit' for running legacy OSes in the boot configuration menu and the 'Intel Quick Resume Technology' is enabled in the power settings menu.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: 1audio on August 18, 2007, 05:42:57 pm
You do not see the grub loader then. its possible that something got messed up in the initial install.
First- which port is the hard disk installed on? (Ide 0 or 1 master or slave or SATA 1-???)
Second is that shown as the first or second boot device in the bios?
Third is there a setting in the bios for bootable disks that allows you to select which hard disk boots first?

All of this is considered great utility for those that understand and a total mystery to everyone else. You are not alone with these problems.

You may need to reinstall from the beginning after you get this sorted- The Grub loader needs to be in the first boot disk and it then points at the drive and partition that the system boots from. If either of these are not correct you get lost.

Let us know what you find.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: schwagner on August 18, 2007, 07:23:44 pm
I fall into the mystery category.  Hard disk is SATA 1; it's the first boot device (although, when I looked at it after an re-install attempt, it was back to second after I had changed it), and there's only one hard disk so it's in the fist and only boot order position.  I'm going to mess around with it a little more later.  Thanks for your help.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: schwagner on September 27, 2007, 07:28:17 pm
Hi, I reposted to this for a little background.  I've tried booting with both the SATA (port 0) and the disc drive in the boot poll position.  They both gave the 'insert boot disk' error after installation.  Here are some things I noticed, so that perhaps someone more knowledgeable than I could give it a look:

1) If I set the hard drive as the first boot disk previous to installation, after installation the DVD drive is listed as first
2) there is an error just before installation completes.  It says the following:
unmounting temporary filesystems
unmount:/ cow: not found                           [fail]
unmount: function not implemented
    * casper is resyncing snapshots and caching reboot files....
3) in the BIOS, it is set to search for hard disks for 0 seconds (that was what it was set at).  Should that be different?

Any help would be appreciated, as I'd really like to give LMCE a try.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: 1audio on September 27, 2007, 08:03:43 pm
I think the install isn't finishing. The Casper message doesn't happen after the install I believe. Its part of the software that pushes the install image onto the hard disk. Perhaps someone else has more recent experience with this.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: teedge77 on September 27, 2007, 08:09:16 pm
you might want to try kubuntu and the cds and see how far that gets you.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: schwagner on September 27, 2007, 08:20:43 pm
What would that do differently?
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: teedge77 on September 27, 2007, 09:14:54 pm
the dvd is built from an image of a system that had linuxmce installed but hadnt yet been configured. if the hardware is substantially different people have had difficulty loading from it. if you are unable to install kubuntu either, then it may be a problem with the hardware being bad. that would let you know. have you tried installing kubuntu or windows on it to see if either of those will work?
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: schwagner on September 27, 2007, 09:31:30 pm
Yes, I had previously been running both Windows and Kubuntu, both of which worked fine.  Perhaps I'll give that a try, I guess.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: teedge77 on September 27, 2007, 09:45:26 pm
the CDs might give you some logs to look at if it doesnt work. that could help you diagnose the problem. you could always hope itll just work though  ;)
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: Hagen on September 27, 2007, 11:27:26 pm
I had the same problem my first time installing Kubuntu.
It was caused by the Grub not installing where I thought it would, but on another HDD.
But you only have one HDD on the machine right?
If that is the case I'd go for Teedges suggestion.

For the record, the boot order can be CD/DVD-HDD-PXE/LAN and it should never get to PXE. It's not a problem putting the DVD first (unless you have a habit of leaving bootable CD's in the drive  ;))
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: teedge77 on September 27, 2007, 11:32:06 pm
one thing i thought and im not really sure if it even makes sense....if for some reason it isnt reading the boot record then the next, and last, thing it would go to would be pxe. after that it would be out of options and just be stuck with the pxe part. i thought i read earlier you had....but did you try the other SATA ports? im sure i read you had it on 0. i dont know what to think other than try the CDs and let us know.
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: jriofrio on September 28, 2007, 05:23:23 pm
Hello Schwaner..

There are two things come to my mind reading your post.

1._ The PC can not read the HDD, so boot again from the DVD and reformat the HDD and reinstall again.

2._ The BIOS setup on the PC need to be change. I do not know how old is you PC, so, usually when the PC tries to boot from a HDD, it looks at the IDE 0 if it does not find it, it goes through all the devices in the BIOS order boot list. Not boot device = error message.

Well, hope you still have your motherboard manual (if not, search on the web), there is a setup in the BIOS that will let the PC know that you are using the SATA 1, HDD and not the IDE 0. I do not know which motherboard you have, so you need to find that in the manual.

Well, hope this will help.

Juan
Title: Re: intel boot agent
Post by: 1audio on September 28, 2007, 06:28:07 pm
I had a similar problem on an Nvidia 7050 based MB. It would not boot from the PATA interface. But it worked fine from the Sata interface??? I just chalked it up to new hardware with software support issues. And used a Sata drive to get on with life. This may be a similar hardware / software issue. And the drivers on the DVD image are from the release date of 704 and not updated. You may need updated drivers for it to work. LMCE has turned off the normal update system to prevent the system from self-destructing from an untested update.
                  -Demian