LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: darkwizard864 on September 13, 2018, 07:19:08 pm

Title: disk md
Post by: darkwizard864 on September 13, 2018, 07:19:08 pm
is disked md still possible? in 14.04?
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: posde on September 14, 2018, 10:32:01 am
Should be. Raspberry Pis for example work that way.
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: darkwizard864 on September 14, 2018, 06:18:22 pm
ok nice I wanted to make a md disked but not rpi or and thing like that. it is a desktop style.
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: posde on September 15, 2018, 12:19:57 am
If I were in your shoes, I would just run the regular detection process, let it create everything, and move the stuff over to the HDD, and let it boot from the HDD instead of PXE. Might even work without a lot of manual configuration.
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: darkwizard864 on September 16, 2018, 12:15:56 am
would a disked md take some stress off the core? my core heats up during diskless boot?
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: posde on September 17, 2018, 06:21:46 am
How many MDs do you have that you start in parallel that your core heats up during serving of some files?
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: darkwizard864 on September 17, 2018, 07:55:53 am
6 mds on core .. soon as one boots up the core starts to heat up but goes back down soon as boot is completed..
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: posde on September 17, 2018, 09:41:53 am
Check what is causing this. Use top, to see if something unusual is taking up the CPU, use dmesg to see if there are any errors being reported. All the MD is doing is requesting files, if that is causing issues, I am fairly certain that you have deeper issues.
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: darkwizard864 on September 19, 2018, 05:51:57 pm
my core didn't like 4.4 kernel that was causing it to heat up. when I went back to 3.13 it went back to normal temp
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: posde on September 21, 2018, 12:05:49 am
Nice to see you found out what's wrong. I am sure there are some settings for the 4.4 that will fix the heat issues as well, but if the 3.x is working, why not keep it
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: phenigma on September 27, 2018, 07:24:45 pm
If I were in your shoes, I would just run the regular detection process, let it create everything, and move the stuff over to the HDD, and let it boot from the HDD instead of PXE. Might even work without a lot of manual configuration.

There is a process for installing disked MDs.
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: Gavlee on October 18, 2018, 03:21:20 pm
Hello

Sorry to hijack your thread.

Is it documented somewhere how to install a disked MD?

I have installed disked MD before many times on different things eventually but would like to get the install process clear in case I'm doing it wrong, I can't find concrete docs on it but follow instructions phenigma provided like for arm but instead installing on a i386 with lmce-disked-md-base for example.

Can you clarify this please?

Kind regards.
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: phenigma on October 18, 2018, 05:02:04 pm
That's the correct method, I don't think there are any specific instructions anywhere else right now.  Feel free to document your findings. 
J.

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Title: Re: disk md
Post by: Gavlee on October 20, 2018, 02:30:05 am
OK. Great.

I guess this is a little old and confusing http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Unsupported_Disked_MD

Can I make a new page Disked_MD or ?

I know disked MD process works because I have one running right now but I think there are a few little bugs in the deb package post install scripts. Networking doesn't come up which kind of stops everything but I think there is an easy fix :)

Thanks for the confirmation.

EDIT: maybe off topic here but because networking doesn't come up on the disked MD but I would like to know whether network manager is supposed to be disabled (NM has some features that could be good on MD) or to do the config in /etc/network/interfaces. The problem is the interfaces file only contains config for the loopback, not any LAN, and if NM is disabled there is no network at all.
Title: Re: disk md
Post by: phenigma on October 20, 2018, 04:01:20 am
I haven't looked at the current network settings that come up on a disked md.  Some changes on networking recently have changed, specifically device names.  The old pages you reference are very old and do not reflect the way things are now.  NM is disabled because it caused many issues, if you have suggestions for solutions I'm open to them.  Keep having fun!

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Title: Re: disk md
Post by: phenigma on October 20, 2018, 04:08:06 am
And yes, please make a new page!

Sent from my Pixel using Tapatalk

Title: Re: disk md
Post by: Gavlee on October 27, 2018, 03:35:30 pm
Yes a few things have changed from under, I should be careful because saying easy fix nearly always ends up a lot of workarounds.

The network setting not being in /etc/network/interfaces is a quick fix on the MD really, just 2 lines in the file. Though doing this for a lot of MD is impractical IMHO. Looking at the problem for a little while, I think it could be patched in the mkr_postinst.sh because there should be a network up when the package is installed, so inserting the interface for the currently default route is one way to work around it.

Not had a chance to look at the firstboot scripts in length yet, I assume they are for when the machine boots next and doing the setup for the MD.  On the next boot the network has gone so I assume postinst is the only place to do it, even though it feels like a bit of a hack.

I have a patch to do this in the postinst anyway but not tested it yet, going off topic here my time has been spent working on some extra build scripts for LinuxMCE to provision a bare machine into a LinuxMCE development environment and produce various container/vm images. I did this so allows me to test the current patches I have submitted and try to start developing some features I would like to have, ok dreaming a lot here :)

I nearly didn't see the post on the next page about a new wiki page but I started on one locally anyway, the workarounds for network maybe should have a new ticket on gitlab rather than being in the wiki if this can be fixed in the code, I don't mind doing both.

Thanks for support.