LinuxMCE Forums

General => Users => Topic started by: Stash_CEO on November 03, 2013, 02:00:15 pm

Title: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 03, 2013, 02:00:15 pm
I followed the instructions but am unaware of how to

Quote
Now you will need to decide on a skin. Eventually, this will be a cleaner process. For the moment, it isnt :) All skins live on the core and will be accessible from http://<your-route-ip>/lmce-admin/skins The following instructions are for the core machine. you may need to run these commands with 'sudo'. These commands will download a script written for your LinuxMCE core. It will setup and update the critical files needed while QOrbiter is in this beta state. Thank you for your patience.

wget http://langstonball.com/qorbiter/setupQorbiter.sh -O /tmp/setupQorbiter.sh
sudo chmod u+x /tmp/setupQorbiter.sh
sudo /tmp/./setupQorbiter.sh

Now your skins are installed.

can anyone help.  what do I do next.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: posde on November 03, 2013, 04:51:55 pm
I don't really understand what your problem is. After you've installed qOrbiter on any of your devices, a default skin is automatically presented. You can change the skin under the advanced menu.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 03, 2013, 05:07:53 pm
when the orbiter loads it says its missing a skin file

so i figured I was missing the step in the quoted text above.

I don't know how to get to a terminal screen or ssh to input the commands
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 04, 2013, 09:18:30 pm
Hi Stash_CEO

nice bit software for a windows called Bitvise,  you can download this or alternative would be putty for  both linux and windows,

if your using  linuxmce kde then open the terminal and there same setting below apply  expect you don't add your ip.

login to the core by adding your core ip in the host box.

in the username  box add your user name, it will ask for your password

once you login
sudo -i

enter your password again and you will be in the dcerouter.

copy and paste each on command like below

Govo@dcerouter:~$ sudo -i
[sudo] password for Govo:
dcerouter_1037149:~# wget http://langstonball.com/qorbiter/setupQorbiter.sh -O /
tmp/setupQorbiter.sh
--2013-11-04 20:11:33--  http://langstonball.com/qorbiter/setupQorbiter.sh
Resolving langstonball.com... 72.249.48.75
Connecting to langstonball.com|72.249.48.75|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 OK
Length: 2876 (2.8K) [application/x-sh]
Saving to: `/tmp/setupQorbiter.sh'

100%[======================================>] 2,876       14.5K/s   in 0.2s

2013-11-04 20:11:34 (14.5 KB/s) - `/tmp/setupQorbiter.sh' saved [2876/2876]

dcerouter_1037149:~# sudo chmod u+x /tmp/setupQorbiter.sh
dcerouter_1037149:~# sudo /tmp/./setupQorbiter.sh
/tmp/./setupQorbiter.sh: line 13: export: `=': not a valid identifier
Setting up log file in /var/log/QOrbiterSkins.log
Pre Init complete, starting
Disabling proxies, will be restored when we are done.
Checking subversion
Subversion installed already, proceeding
Checking Skins
No common qml files present, downloading
/tmp/./setupQorbiter.sh: line 62: svn: command not found
Finished with common files.
No Skins present, downloading
/tmp/./setupQorbiter.sh: line 68: svn: command not found
Done setting up skins.
/tmp/./setupQorbiter.sh: line 73: svnversion: command not found
Current svn rev:
Last Step, getting needed files
--2013-11-04 20:11:51--  http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/browser/trunk/web/lmce
-admin/qOrbiterGenerator.php?format=txt
Resolving svn.linuxmce.org... 193.200.113.133
Connecting to svn.linuxmce.org|193.200.113.133|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 Ok
Length: 30600 (30K) [text/plain]
Saving to: `/var/www/lmce-admin/qOrbiterGenerator.php'

100%[======================================>] 30,600      97.6K/s   in 0.3s

2013-11-04 20:11:52 (97.6 KB/s) - `/var/www/lmce-admin/qOrbiterGenerator.php' sa
ved [30600/30600]

--2013-11-04 20:11:52--  http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/browser/trunk/web/lmce
-admin/imdbImage.php?format=txt
Resolving svn.linuxmce.org... 193.200.113.133
Connecting to svn.linuxmce.org|193.200.113.133|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 Ok
Length: 878 [text/plain]
Saving to: `/var/www/lmce-admin/imdbImage.php'

100%[======================================>] 878         --.-K/s   in 0s

2013-11-04 20:11:53 (96.9 MB/s) - `/var/www/lmce-admin/imdbImage.php' saved [878
/878]

--2013-11-04 20:11:53--  http://svn.linuxmce.org/trac.cgi/browser/trunk/web/lmce
-admin/operations/mediaBrowser/httpImageProvider.php?format=txt
Resolving svn.linuxmce.org... 193.200.113.133
Connecting to svn.linuxmce.org|193.200.113.133|:80... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 200 Ok
Length: 2000 (2.0K) [text/plain]
Saving to: `/var/www/lmce-admin/operations/mediaBrowser/httpImageProvider.php'

100%[======================================>] 2,000       --.-K/s   in 0.002s

2013-11-04 20:11:54 (904 KB/s) - `/var/www/lmce-admin/operations/mediaBrowser/ht
tpImageProvider.php' saved [2000/2000]

Resetting Proxy to
QOrbiter Setup Complete. Try and connect with your QOrbiter now.
dcerouter_1037149:~#
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 05, 2013, 01:18:15 pm
Hi Folks

looking more into the .sh file , the url http://svn.linuxmce.org/svn/trunk/src/qOrbiter/qOrbiter_src/qml/android  is return a 404 error, hence the reason why the skin files are not downloading.

can this be looked at or  alternative link provided ?

realy like to  get this going .
Thanks
Govo
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 05, 2013, 01:22:18 pm
http://svn.linuxmce.org/ is not available

abaton CMS Hosting

This domain / this host was not found!

Possible reasons for this:
The domain does not exist
An incorrect configuration of the DNS
The hosting was stopped by abaton
(eg due to unpaid invoices)
The customer has stopped hosting
Questions? Contact the support abaton .

 
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 05, 2013, 03:50:28 pm
thanks govo,
    glad to see it's not my stupidity  ??? that was giving me an issue and someone else has the same issue.  Also, thanks for showing me how to get into the core to run commands.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: coley on November 05, 2013, 04:17:33 pm
http://svn.linuxmce.org/ is not available

abaton CMS Hosting

This domain / this host was not found!

Possible reasons for this:
The domain does not exist
An incorrect configuration of the DNS
The hosting was stopped by abaton
(eg due to unpaid invoices)
The customer has stopped hosting
Questions? Contact the support abaton .

 
just spotted via IRC;
svn will be back, hari is in the process of moving this due to ongoing attacks.
-Coley.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 05, 2013, 09:24:44 pm
Thanks for the update Coley,

would it be possible for you to zip the android folder  of your system   and put it  on-line some were for us to download, while we wait the change over?


Thanks
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: coley on November 06, 2013, 12:10:37 pm
My svn checkout of the android skins is probably quite old so would most likely not be of any use.

-Coley.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 06, 2013, 10:39:36 pm
Thanks for the reply, I guess we'll have to wait .
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 07, 2013, 04:50:49 pm
I wonder if this applies to the apple app...guess I'll give it a try later tonight.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: posde on November 07, 2013, 05:59:59 pm
The current Apple app is NOT qOrbiter but uses the Proxy_Orbiter like the web orbiter.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: golgoj4 on November 08, 2013, 02:08:50 am
The current Apple app is NOT qOrbiter but uses the Proxy_Orbiter like the web orbiter.

Qt 5.2 beta supposedly has iOs support. who's buying me a MAC?  ;D
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 08, 2013, 02:14:19 am
 :-\ can't get the ios version to work either...I'm getting an IP from the core when connected to my wifi...I can connect to the web orbiter from the Android Note2 and the Ipad2 web browsers.  I must be missing something.  ??? ???
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: posde on November 08, 2013, 12:26:42 pm
Qt 5.2 beta supposedly has iOs support. who's buying me a MAC?  ;D

My kids can give you CET NIGHT access to their mac via Teamviewer ;)
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 08, 2013, 06:44:15 pm
Hi Stash_Ceo
For IPhone app

http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Web_Orbiter


follow the above article !
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 08, 2013, 09:01:34 pm
Govo,
    I was able to setup the web orbiter but unable to connect to it with the IOS App.  from the same ipad, I was able to connect to the web orbiter using safari, just not the app.  I did see that I had to create an "instance ID " which needs to be unique, but there was no way to input that ID into the IOS App. 
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 09, 2013, 04:40:18 pm
Stash_CEO

Just put your  finger at the end of the Ipad hold it and drag up, it will give you options, such as configuration,
the settings for this should be
Core ip 192.168.80.1
port 3461.

also try Turing off the firewall in the lmce-admin see does this help.

if you access on the web browser then  its setup correctly on the core.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 11, 2013, 06:26:50 am
Success.  set the port to the correct number and voila. Ipad is good now lets see if we can get the qOrbiter working
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 11, 2013, 01:16:17 pm
we wont be able to set up qOrbiter until they have finish moving site.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: posde on November 11, 2013, 01:20:25 pm
svn has been moved, so things should be fine again.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 17, 2013, 07:38:38 am
I was able to get the ipads working but not the qorbiters.  I have a galaxy note2/note3 and s3 all not working.  I can't ssh to my box to get the skins...I think once that is done I can use the wget...to get the skins on the core.  Any help is appreciated.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: golgoj4 on November 17, 2013, 06:29:37 pm
I was able to get the ipads working but not the qorbiters.  I have a galaxy note2/note3 and s3 all not working.  I can't ssh to my box to get the skins...I think once that is done I can use the wget...to get the skins on the core.  Any help is appreciated.

Why cant you ssh?

No getting around needing to do these setup steps for mobile android qorbiters atm.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 17, 2013, 11:24:44 pm
using putty, I get access denied error when logging in with my created account.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 18, 2013, 01:21:44 pm
Have to turned off firewall in the admin?

here's a link to the old android version of the iphone orbiter

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/lqyudorf13kh6zc/9flw6Y8O7X

I will try the qrtorbitor today.
Kind regards
Govo
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 18, 2013, 05:15:23 pm
yes I turned off the firewall...still no good.  not sure why I can't ssh to the box...how do I install the older version.

Thanks.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 19, 2013, 11:06:02 am
Hi Stash_CEO

Visit the link  I posted on your android tablet, It will start downloading and then it will install, if gives you a security error, follow the instructions on the tablet to allow  other apps to be installed.

You shouldn't have an issue using putty, can you  confirm  you are connect to the same network as the  decrouter? check you ip address is should be 192.168.80.* (* been 1-129)



Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Dap-P on November 19, 2013, 11:14:21 am
In addition to Govo,

Stash_CEO, can you ping the core? 'ping 192.168.80.1' from any terminal or cmd prompt from the same box as you are trying putty.

Anton
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: golgoj4 on November 19, 2013, 05:21:24 pm
You shouldnt need to turn off the firewall to access any of the orbiters unless you are trying to access them from the outside which I HIGHLY recommend against unless you have a vpn setup.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 19, 2013, 07:14:41 pm
Golgo, I think he was telling me to turn off firewall because I'm having trouble SSH to my core.  I'll try the old qorbiter tonight when I get home
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: polly on November 20, 2013, 09:26:24 am
Qt 5.2 beta supposedly has iOs support. who's buying me a MAC?  ;D

i still owe you a teamviewer session on my Mac .... but prior to that i'll setup Qt 5.2 ... :-)

Cheers,
ochorocho
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 20, 2013, 09:30:35 am
Stash_CEO,
correct, unless you have an additional firewall, like me, my set up is

modem(internet) to firewall(smoothwall)  to dcerouter (firewall off)
dcerouter to switch,
switch to wireless switch,
wireless to all orbiters
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 21, 2013, 04:11:16 pm
On back of this, I  require some help,

I'm trying to update  the webOrbiter to  a new style, I have HA designer but I don't think this is what I need as I'm not creating any objects  just replacing the images, and all the links that are on wiki to show you how to use the HA Designer are broken.

I have gone through the weborbiter.php but I can't seem to find where is building the tables etc.

My new look is something like this http://www.piknclik.org/orbiter/ (http://www.piknclik.org/orbiter/) that I built in php, in order for me to have it as an orbiter skin I have modify some css styles  and replace those images from the basic skin.

So if any one can tell me where I find the correct php file that builds this skin or correct template /css files would be great.

And also if I  created a new folder for my skin, How do I add it, to the database so that I appears on drop down in the orbiter templates.


Kind Regards
Govo
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: posde on November 21, 2013, 04:18:40 pm
The original weborbiter uses the same layout engine as the Orbiter. So you have to utilize HADesigner if you want to manipulate it. If all you want are new images (with the same size and position as the original ones), you should be able to do it without HADesigner. There is thread in the forum about how to do this done by Thom. RayBe is using the instructions to create his own skins. You might want to utilize the search function a bit.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 21, 2013, 04:48:09 pm
well, I was able at one point to get the ipads up and running but for some reason they're not working, my ssh to the core is not working and I'm getting a lil frustrated.  I'm not sure why I've had so many issue but I'm thinking of just starting over from scratch...this install was to get it working so I can get the jist of LMCE but maybe I've caused my own issues...so, maybe a clean install is the best action here. 
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on November 21, 2013, 05:32:57 pm
 Stash_CEO, before you re-install, can  you explain how you have set up your network? and  does your core have to nics ?
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 21, 2013, 09:29:57 pm
2 nics...one internal and one external. on .80.1 and .1.xxx
verizon router>external nic>internal nic>8 port switch>access point for wifi orbiters

I had the ipad orbiters working at one point but may have screwed up the config or something so they say they're trying to load from core.  the Qorbiters have never worked but I think that's because I can't ssh into the core to aptget the skins.  I don't mind reloading everything because honestly this was more of a "how do I get this stuff to work" than an actually running in my live environment...guess I shoul've used Virtual Machine but that may have confused me more...anyway, I do appreciate you guys helping me out...I'm not that "thick" as Thom says, I do have a little IT knowledge.  I'm looking forward to getting all my issues resolved and showing off my smarthome.  Guess we'll have to wait a little longer.

Alan - Stash_CEO
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on November 26, 2013, 05:24:13 am
Update:
I did a reinstall and now my Hybrid's video won't start, I went through the MD setup but vga is black.  anyway, I could finally ssh into the box but when I try to load the skins as directed in the wiki...I get access denied permissions error when trying to make a folder on the core.  Qorbiter doesn't work.  Web orb doesn't work for me either, I get to the login and choose which orbiter but it just is a broken link looking page with HOME BACK REFRESH EXIT LOGOUT.

I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong? ???

on a better note, I got an MD setup although I'm having a problem changing channel on the Fios STB with the USBUIRT.

I have yet to setup the GC-100

1 Synology NAS and 1 Buffalo Terrastaion are fully operational.  thumbing through movies to watch is a pain but atleast I can view and play them.

I have a couple of Foscam IP cams that are waiting to be setup as well. 

Any help to get my orbiters up and running would be appreciated. 

1 Galaxy Note3
1 Galaxy S3
1 Ipad1
1 ipad2
PC with windows orbiter (works fine)
web orbiter

Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on December 04, 2013, 03:40:49 pm
did you sudo -i when ssh into the core.

you have to be in root when creating such folders.

you can change permissions for your user name to  have root access.  (not recommend)

I'm currently updating the admin section, I'm editing the  css style on a demo box, don't like the green drop down menus any more and I have given my admin section a  look  like the new wikki page .

to edit such file  I had to chown govo -R /var/www.   I know this might change some settings but its just a test server.

did you re-create the generic  web orbitor for the ipad? this will also work with the old android app

.



Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Stash_CEO on December 04, 2013, 05:39:54 pm
OK...so, I did a reinstall and it was finicky...I was using an amd mobo and after the Sara wizard setup I'd get a black screen....I could ssh into the box at that time but was getting a black screen...so I tried another reinstall and when I shut it off to turn back on, I got nothing...no post/bios startup screen...nothing...so, I left it for a couple of hours and then all of a sudden my network was back up...Strange?....so with all that going on I setup a seperate network and used an intel core duo box I had and now everything works.  I can ssh into the box but I was unable to create the folders...now I know to Sudo, thanks for that.  so far so good.  I have been able to setup the ipads via weborbiter but haven't tried the qorbiters yet.  So far I've been poking around trying to understand what i'm doing when trying to setup a room (MD, Fios Cable box, Blu-ray DVD player, and Plasma tv) all via USB-UIRT.

I've made major strides in getting this up and running and would like to thank everyone who has contributed to my small successes.

I look forward to the day when I can sit back and control the whole house with my orbiters. 

Once I get the AV part setup, I'm going to start the security phase (IP Cameras and Security systems)...Does anyone have a recommendation on Security panels, I'd like to use Z-wave.
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on February 15, 2014, 10:06:29 pm
Hi Folks

the setupQorbiter.sh is not downloading the skins or files for the qt orbiter. it is however creating the folders

android
skins-common

but inside these directories are empty  and when running the app its missing the splash file

I followed the instructions from the new update wiki page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Android_Orbiter

but as stated above, no files are downloading .

Please advise .
 
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: golgoj4 on February 18, 2014, 02:03:20 am
Hi Folks

the setupQorbiter.sh is not downloading the skins or files for the qt orbiter. it is however creating the folders

android
skins-common

but inside these directories are empty  and when running the app its missing the splash file

I followed the instructions from the new update wiki page http://wiki.linuxmce.org/index.php/Android_Orbiter

but as stated above, no files are downloading .

Please advise .

looking into this.

also, a request. If the original problem has been solved, could we move this over to the testing thread? I can only track so many :)

-golgoj4
thank you for your continued patience and belief in linuxmce
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on February 18, 2014, 12:26:39 pm
Hi golgoj4

Thanks for the reply. [quote ] If the original problem has been solved, could we move this over to the testing thread? I can only track so many[/quote]

How do you do this ?

kind regards
Govo
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: Govo on March 03, 2014, 08:47:20 pm
Has This been addressed ?
Title: Re: Qorbiter Help
Post by: posde on March 04, 2014, 09:32:38 am
Govo,

just post your problems in the original qOrbiter testing thread. That way golgoj4 can more easily track progress.